Granola

Dishing up the details

Sometimes a picture truly says more than a thousand words. At other times, however, there’s more to a picture than it could possibly tell. Because I know you came for the food I’ll stop talking in riddles and get to the point: For today’s What I ate Wednesday I’ll not only show you recent meals and snacks but some more about the stories behind them. Here’s to the what I ate  [the dish] and its whereabouts or little itty bits hidden in the photos [the details].

WIAWbutton_1

The dish: A typical workday lunch of quick vegetable chili.

Legume_chili

The details:  This one had both chickpeas and kidney beans, corn, zucchini, broccoli and my favourite spices [cumin seeds and cayenne pepper among others]. Did I ever mention I kind of liked chili? Yes, I guessed so. However, this chili didn’t quite like me back. No we’re not looking at the beans here. Rather, it’s an unsuspecting ingredient that’s making rare appearances in my diet: bell pepper. Ironically, it’s at the same time what took this chili from average to awesome for me. Because of this I’ve decided that half a pepper distributed in between two servings won’t cause me any pain. Did I mention I’m stubborn? My stomach should know better than to rebel.

The dish: Pumpkin Spinach Tortilla Lasagna.

Pumpkin tortilla lasagna

The details: Never let its unassuming appearance fool you.  Now I could probably talk about how tortillas had become the new polenta in my life. But what you actually need to know is that the vegan cheese sauce in this dish is unreal. If the lasagna itself wasn’t delicious, too, I’d probably just keep making huge batches of the sauce and eat it all day. By the spoonful.

Pumpkin tortilla lasagna 2

And you will want to, too. But I feel I can’t share two tortilla bake recipe in consecutive weeks and maybe I’ll decide the next dish is worthy sharing, too. Decisions, decisions.

The dish: Pistachio Vanilla granola.

Pistachio Granola

The details: not just any but my first homemade granola without following a recipe. I’ve tried other bloggers’ recipes before but never my own. Actually, what I went for was not granola but exclusively granola clusters. I don’t know about you but I’m all about the big clusters in granola. The reason why my mum threatened me she wouldn’t buy granola again when I was younger. Do you think it might have had anyhing at all to do with the fact she had to eat the leftover crumbles…??!

Granola

But I digress. Back to this granola. It’s not overly sweet, has a buttery taste from coconut oil and crunch from added crispy grains. Simple but delicious. On top of that the process of making it held a life lesson for me. Just so much: Learn from my mistakes and don’t try to simultaneously bake granola, get some laundry done and pack your bag when you need to leave for a work appointment in 35 minutes. At least I scented of freshly baked granola when I arrived there just in time…?!

Speaking of work: I’m writing this post on Tuesday night so I’d better call it quits now and get some beauty sleep in to look fresh and relaxed for Jenn’s mid-week party tomorrow/ today.

Happiness inducing today: An new magazine my boss handed me assuming it might be of interest – and it was.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Your turn: Tell me about one dish you at this week so far and the details a picture wouldn’t tell!

Have you ever made your own granola? Let me know any favourite recipes!

 

31 thoughts on “Dishing up the details

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    The other night I had dinner late, and I just threw it together in 5 seconds with stuff in my fridge and pantry and holy hot damn was it GOOD!!! Spaghetti Squash, Spinach, Canned Mackerel, and Olive Oil – That’s it! AND YUMMMMM!!!!

  2. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    Ohh congrats on your first batch of granola- I love the look and sound of it…I am a big of clusters too. That’s too funny that your mom threatened to not buy it for you anymore hah! A picture of the chickpea burger I ate on Monday night wouldn’t reveal that it was actually made a week ago…thank goodness for meal prep ;)!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      She still doesn’t buy it anymore on the regular and if – once in a blue moon – she does it’ll come with the warning finger pointed at me. Some things never change…
      And way to go on the meal prep there – I’m always impressed when somebody mentions it. Plus a chickpea burger or anything containing them is never wrong.

  3. Nichole says:

    That lasagna sounds (and looks) delectable! And congratulations on the granola!! That’s exciting that you made it on your own and without a recipe! :))

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you, Nichole! I was keeping my finger crossed the whole time, too. Because I might be winging recipes for savoury dishes all of the time but anything sweet is a whole different issue. There’s so much that could possibly go wrong. Luckily not this time. (:

  4. Ms.J says:

    So is it ok if I invite myself over for lasagna?..butternutty, spinachy, cheesy – yesss! Getting clued up on the deets proved highly entertaining; smelling off freshly baked vanilla(!) granola could only do good things for your image 😉 .
    Keep up the granola love and I reckon you will be igniting my curiosity enough to have my try it out. Funny that I haven’t had granola yet I’ve made my first granola bar yesterday!
    The details behind the cereal I’m eating for breakfast: having awoken up to the sad state of being out of oatmeal :p !

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Butternutty? None of that in there but I was actually going to try subbing it once I run out of my current not-sure-of-the-kind squash. Either way feel free to come over for a lasagna lunch followed by a granola baking session. (:
      Running out of oatmeal is #2 on my worst case scenario at breakfast time. Only topped by being out of oat bran [and yes this is a not-so-hidden hint for you to try this ;)].

  5. swissfitchick says:

    YES to the big chunks of granola 🙂 I know we’re twins there. I never buy it, but if I find it at my Mom’s place, you’d be sure I am all over the package picking out the big ones.
    Your homemade version looks so good. Send some over please? But only if it doesn’t crumble up on the way 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Let me know as soon as you get notice of Deutsche Post introducing the first guaranteed non-crumbling granola shipping packages and a batch will be on your way! (: Seriously, though, why in the world is the crumble to cluster rate in storebought versions so off?! I should start a business of selling clusters-only cereal once I’ve perfected a few different recipes.

      • swissfitchick says:

        A few years back I bought Crunchy Nut Bites in Germany! Which was actually a pack FULL of the big chunks. Sadly enough, they were filled with sugar like so many of the granolas or crunch Müesli out there.

  6. anoushedance says:

    I am just like you with the granola clusters!! I always always always picked them out! But my weirdness didn’t stop there..it was then adapted to how I eat nuts: Only the whole ones, not the broken ones! Isn’t it funny how people have particular habits!

  7. Emily says:

    Okay…we’re literally the same person.
    Pistachio & Vanilla are two of my favorite flavors in the universe and I’m the exact same way with eating the granola clusters. Give me all the cluststers, please. (:

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Companies need to produce cluster-only cereal. And sell larger packages of red pepper flakes because I’m all out again… Cumin is my true water when it comes to spices, though.

Leave a Reply

