Everything free and fabulous [Thinking out loud]

Can you smell the weekend yet? It’s so close already and at least over here it scents decidedly of sunscreen and ice cream. For now, though, my business is still taking place in a thankfully cool office. And because thinking out loud is better kept out of there I’m sharing what’s been on my mind here. Writing it all down a theme emerged. Free everything – books, chocolate and most importantly: thoughts in free flow. Here we go!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Even though it’s my usual beverage of choice when I’m not in the mood for tea I never fully appreciate water as much as on hot days. Always sparkling water for me – still doesn’t do it. Many of my friends have told me how hard it was for them to reach the recommended amounts. I’d rather need to scale back. Running to the toilet all of the time? Not the best habit at work but I’ll confess I like the excuse to get up and move at least a little.

2. Is it just me or does time pass by significant faster as soon as you leave the office? Given I usually have 2935839 things on my to-do list for after work and only get a fraction done I’m convinced it does. Even leaving the office ‘early’ – read: 30 minutes earlier than usual – doesn’t help much. Now where do I apply for that job blending home office and actual office attendance. That’s because I know home office 100% of the time does not work for me. Cue procrastination when in close proximity of a kitchen.  Snack time is basically all day then.

3. Random note in this potpourri of randomness: I generated *this random number by mindlessly hitting the keys. Only to notice that produced an uneven number. That’s obviously not happening here so I changed the last number from a 9 to a 4. Much better, admit it.

4. Speaking of reading: I’ve been reapping the benefits of libraries and especially living close to a rather large one again lately. The amount of money I saved by taking piles of books home and only keeping the good ones makes me oddly happy. Free books? Yes, please. Libraries are a blessing and fingers crossed they’ll exist forever even in the digital age. Now go and pick up a book from your library to keep it in business – every book counts! (:

5. Roomates – a bane or blessing? It’s not easy to say but lately I’ve felt a tendency towards the former. Granted, bane is probably too harsh. Sometimes I feel like I’m the grown up when it comes to the roommate and me [mind you she’s 30!]. Cleaning up after her when she has cooked? Maybe it was a sign this book practically jumped at me on my last trip to the library. I picked it up just for fun but now I might need to take a closer look for some life-changing roommate hacks… Care for an update ;)?! And did I mention it’s by an American author and available in English, too? Given the price I don’t think I can expect much from it, though. But hey, it was free after all.

May 21st 037

6. Continuing on with last week’s coffee theme – just because it keeps following me around: Signs you’re a coffee addict. Thinking about it [out loud], though,  #1 and #4 perfectly describe my relationship with chocolate. And if #11 is what you coffee fiends feel like without your daily cup of joe then I feel your pain chocolate-wise, too. We’re all united in our essential daily needs in some way. A sign stores know I’m always in need of chocolate? Free Lindt. Who cares this isn’t my favourite flavour? It’s Lindt!

Free Lindt_May 2014

7. This is awesome. If you’re having a fluffy day, are self-conscious or need a mood brightener for another reason: read/ do it. Actually, scratch that: just read it in anyway. And then come back and tell me your result and thank me for pointing it out ;).

8. I recently noticed I have yet to share the blogger birthday calendar with all of you. Any ideas on how to work this out best are appreciated. Also, if you’re a blogger [not discriminating any non-bloggers but it’d be hard to figure out a way to send congrats your way easily 🙂 ] and want to be included leave a comment with your birth date.

Keep your need for random thoughts fuelled over at Amanda’s. Happy Thursday!

Happiness inducing today: I won’t ever tire of this: sunshine. Sunshine. Sunshine.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Let your thoughts flow freely and tell me whatever comes to your mind!

13 thoughts on “Everything free and fabulous [Thinking out loud]

  1. Nichole says:

    For me just in general time is flying by so much faster then it used to.. It a least it seems like it is. Sometimes I just wish there was a pause button. – my birthday is July 30th!

  2. Ms.J says:

    I swear – the moment I get stuck in with a serious matter of work; I need to run to the bathroom. A combination of a office break needed and lots of H20 I’d say 😉 .
    You are not going to believe this: my favorite number is 5. I know hah!
    Oh I love getting books from my library!..I’ve actually stopped buying books for awhile now.
    Wha? Free Lindt 😯 !? Only in another country..
    Squeeee, the birthday calendar! Hmmm, so do you have it all written down or is it a computerized one?

  3. Juli@1000lovelythings says:

    At work I feel that I am always either on my way to fill up my water bottle, getting me a cup of coffee or dealing with the aftermath. Lucky you your office is cool. Mine it totally hot all the time. But luckily home office is an option for me. So for your question, if you feel the need to blend home office and office days you should apply at a university. No aircon but the possibility to work from everywhere 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Working at a university, you say?! Hm… now how to apply my degree to any university jobs for that perfect blend of office and home office time?? I’m not sure they’d be looking for journalists, haha.

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    You know what’s sad? I can’t even remember the last time I went into a library 😦 I basically grew up in one, but that somehow tapered off as I got older… which I’m blaming on the fact that I just got sick of having to wait for all the books I wanted to read. Besides… I kind of love buying them and having a huge collection. Now I just need a library 😀

  5. Little Miss Fit says:

    Ugh I TOTALLY know what you mean. I love the idea of being able to work from home, but I just know I would lose all motivation to get things done. There are way way too many things that can be of a distraction at home. I think I could probably pound out the morning pretty well, but come afternoon my mind would be everywhere else haha.

    And I am 10000% with you on the library thing. I absolutely love the library…it’s literally right around the corner from my apartment. It’s awesome!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right?! It seems perfect in theory but even on those few days I got to work from home so far it turned out to just not be for me. People working in home offices regularly – and productively! – deserve more respect. It’s not ‘hey, I can stay in PJs all day’ fun.
      Libraries, yes. They’re a blessing and I could spend hours and hours in there.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It is worrisome and I’m keeping my fingers and toes crossed they will exist for ages still. Forever, actually. Mine has DVDs as well but only few in actual presence so you need to know what you want to watch and order online. I usually don’t know and prefer browsing their selection in hopes of finding a good one.

Leave a Reply

