WIAW: Spontaneous success and try-hard fails

Last week’s WIAW was about some unusal breakfast creations and while I tried more interesting savoury dishes since I’m back to the -sweeter- side of life food again today. Keeping up the confessions or realizations (?) related to recent kitchen shenanigans. Because isn’t learning a little —more– about the food on other people’s plates rather than just wordless pictures what What I ate Wednesday and Vegan Wednesday are all about?

WIAWbutton_1

Realisation: Cravings for certain ingredients that you don’t end up finding can lead to really good dishes. Okay, to talk a little more comprehensive: I had my mind set on trying either a savoury rhubarb and lentil dish or something featuring green asparagus. Can you guess what I wasn’t able to find in stores? Right. Neither rhubarb nor asparagus. At least no green one and white… no. The result was a dish far from what I’d had in mind: Pineapple Lentil Curry with a side of fluffy wheatberry cauliflower ‘couscous’. I couldn’t really tell you what I was doing while at it. A pinch of this, sprinkle of that, …

 

Pineapple lentil curry 2

And oh, I still have wheatberries?! Let’s see what I can use them for …  Wow, was this ever delicious. Whatever my initial lunch idea[s] might have been: this was a more than just acceptable replacement. Lentils are one of those foods I tend to forget about, then rediscover and be crazy about them for a while. It’s safe to say the latter is the case right now.
If you’re interested in sweet and spicy combinations this is the dish for you. The only downside to my freestyle cooking is that I either forget to take measurements and notes at all or manage to loose them in the process. There’s a reason why I’m no full-time food blogger…

Lentil pineapple curry

Next up is another recipe trial gone wrong. Or rather semi-fail because differently from last week’s cookies this marbled brownie cake isn’t an all-out fail. It tasted delicious pre-baking but simply turned down the unfortunate route of not entirely meeting my expectations [that you know are high – especially after trying these] after I pulled it out of the oven. Given they still tasted good I could technically post the recipe but I don’t want to unless I’m completely convinced. These are more like your healthy feel-good-about eating snack rather than the hands-and-face-covered-in-chocolate decadent brownies.

 

Marbled cashew brownies

With the second recipe fail in a short time span I wondered why they happened. Others would probably shrug their shoulders and go on with life [and okay, yes, I did, too] but that’s not the kind of person I am. Overthinking tendencies, remember? Yes. I always try to figure out the . To let you in on a secret: I expected the granola clusters to fail and the brownies to be great. Looking at the different approaches I had it only seemed logical. The granola? Mixing ingredients without rhyme or reason and hoping for the best – all while being about to dash to an appoinment. The brownies? Planned in advance, wanting to achieve a certain nutritional profile, carved out time for recipe experimentation.

 

Brownie cake

Can you spot the obvious difference? My overplanning habits got the best of me again. No matter how much I’d like it to be the other way around I have to admit recipe creation strives on spontaneity. Plus, as much as I want to create recipes that are suitable for everyone – vegan, gluten-free, refined sugar-free – sometimes you just can’t do it all. First and foremost, all of us – and yes, I’m just assuming everybody feels this way 😉 – should create recipes we personally enjoy. And when it comes to brownies trying to stick with a certain label [read: no refined sugar meaning no chocolate chips] is just not me. In fact, when brownies are concerned leaving out actual chocolate is – as a blend of mine agreed – a crime. Did I just admit I commited a brownie crime? Well, I’m going to call these brownie cake which totally makes a difference – and me less of a sinner ;).

 

Ice cream with Jenni

Because I needed to cheer myself up after the fail… Who am I kidding?! Ice cream doesn’t need an explanation. I finally got to try an ice cream store around the corner of my apartment with a friend on Monday evening – the perfect after work treat. We got scoops of After Eight [Mint Chocolate flavour for any of you who don’t know these popular chocolates], pistachio and dark chocolate. It wasn’t just any ice cream but vegan rice milk-based one. Germany is slowly catching up on that end. Needless to say I already have plans of going back. Because sometimes the best way of avoiding recipe fails is leaving things to the professionals. (:

Speaking of professionals: thanks to Jenn and Cara for the professional [food] party planning on their parts. Happy Wednesday to everyone!

Happiness inducing today: Finding out I’ll have Friday off this week.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Are you a planner or spontaneous when it comes to recipe development?

Did you have any recent recipe fails you want to share to make me feel better 😉 ?

What are some of the fanciest or most unique ice cream flavours you’ve had so far?

 

 

16 thoughts on “WIAW: Spontaneous success and try-hard fails

  1. Ms.J says:

    Eep, a brownie crime!! In broad daylight too tsk, tsk. You are a brave one to admit to it haha. The marbled effect is so pretty though…
    I had a semi-fail when baking up a trusted batch of chocolate chip banana muffins recently: Like with you – regarding the wheatberries – “what else can I throw chickpea flour into”! After I had allowed them to cool, I realized they were terrificaly underbaked; all runny in the centre. I shoved them in the microwave and managed to save them – ending up with rather delicious, fudgy brownie-like muffins!
    Its almost painful for an overthinker to realize that – in most areas of life – less planning, order and thought reaps the best benefits hey?
    Mmm those ice-cream flavors are right up my alley..I’m a huge fan of Ferrero, Snickers and salted caramel with chocolate.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Fudgy fails? These sound pretty good to me. As long as a baked good has chocolate chips you can hardly go wrong.
      And salted caramel chocolate ice cream? You’re the second person lately mentioning salted caramel ice cream to me and it’s a pity I have yet to spot that flavour over here. Where’s my ice cream maker when I need it??

  2. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    Oh girl recipe fails only make us better chefs in the long-term! Those brownies look great but like you, I need the chocolate! I’ve never seen rice milk ice cream but I’ve been eyeing some coconut milk-based ice cream- must try soon! If we’re talking fancy flavours, I have a weakness for chocolate chip cookie dough…otherwise I am just as content with plain ol vanilla :-)!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Hearing that from you makes me feel so much better right now. Thanks, Khushboo!
      For me it’s the other way round: I’ve yet to find coconut milk ice cream. As well as a – vegan or not – chocolate chip cookie dough one but I can totally see how good that has to be. Because which dessert would not be good with cookie dough added?!

  3. Chelsea says:

    I am usually a recipe planner, but I have become really (painfully) spontaneous as of late – which has allowed for some new discoveries – both in the MAKE AGAIN and the NEVER AGAIN categories 🙂
    On a plus note – your brownies look amazing 🙂
    Happy Wednesday!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Isn’t it funny how it’s often either of those extremes instead of simply ‘okay but don’t absolutely need to have it again’?! And thanks, I was glad they at least turned out good in the appearance category, too. (:

  4. katalysthealth says:

    Oh my goodness that ice cream. Not going to lie, pistachio is my favorite. Ive never tried any sort of dairy free ice cream [besides the low fat and froyo stuff] because I’m simply too worried it won’t be as good as dairy!! I’d love to try some coconut milk ice cream some time though!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Pistachio used to be one of those flavours I used to overlook in favour of ‘fancier’ ones but I’ve been proven wrong lately. It was really good. Don’t fear the dairy-free ice cream. There are obviously huge differences and over here the store-bought varities are all soy and seriously lacking. But I’ve read rave reviews about the various vegan kinds of ice cream you can find over there. Give it a try! (:

  5. Cara says:

    Did I just read ‘brownie crime’?
    I better concentrate on your ice cream photo – how did I just manage not to get me some this year!

Leave a Reply

