Celebrating [blogger birthdays], cereal and contemplation

While many of you celebrated a long Memorial Day weekend we’re getting a day off over here today – minus a [hopefully] short work event smack dab in the middle of the day for me. Meaning there’s even more to celebration in addition to Thinking out loud with Amanda. Onto that for now!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. So… We’ve talked about the birthday calendar idea several times before and again last week. Call the newspapers [and while you’re at it: ask them for a job for me (: ] because I proudly present you the first birthday calendar printable:

As you can tell, though, there’s still a lot of blank space and the other months are looking even more sad – hence why I won’t post them yet. Read: Spread the news and let me know all blogger birthdays you know so the blog world gets to celebrate somebody every day of the year!

2. Yesterday brought further proof it really doesn’t take much to make me happy at times. Like this gem that turned out to be a lifesaver and let me sigh in relief when I remembered I’d packed it into my bag for work.

Just a few_May 004

Okay, maybe I’m slightly exaggerating but have you ever been stuck in a situation with, ahem, leftovers stuck in your teeth? Awesome. Only not. Picking at my teeth with my fingers even in a bathroom isn’t my first choice:  floss to the rescue!  I vote every office stocks it in their rest rooms. But in the end I know I’d better make sure to keep some in my bag every day.

3. On the issue of stocking up: Have you ever seen those people at the supermarkets looking like they were preparing for apocalypse or at least a flood? It’s a national holiday for us today and when I was at the store to quickly pick up one (!) item yesterday I saw people buying enough food to last for days. I mean, really? We’re talking about a single day of closed stores.

 

4. After reading this article I felt a serious inkling to get Google Glasses. Yes, I know they look odd. In fact, I’ve seen them ‘live’ before and made fun of them. But that was before I knew they essentially offered the thought recorder I’ve been dreaming of for ages now. Only I’m not sure I really want Google to not only track my web activities but my thoughts, too. Maybe the old-fashioned pen to paper option is still best. Some things are just too good to be true trustworthy.

5. Apparently the German weather gods are evil-spirited this year and when it rains it pours. Looks lke the weather gods made it a point to remedy every sunny day we get with an appt downpour to ‘make up for’ all the sunshine.

Recipe experimentation_May 076

It seem like we didn’t deserve a real summer over here this year – or at least according to my roommate who is convinced the fact we had a fairly mild winter means we won’t get a proper summer this year. Did I mention I don’t believe my roommate? Like, ever?!

6. Just for Amanda: Proof that aside from everything we lack – Sephora stores and proper cereal amongst others – we do toys in cereal boxes are still an occasional sight over here. And not just any but the much coveted colour-changing cereal spoons! Now who wants to buy a box so I can get my magic spoon?

Spoons_cereal

And that’s a [calendar/ weather ramble/ cereal] wrap so all that’s left to say now is: Happy Thursday and happy Ascension Day to those celebrating!

 

Happiness inducing today: Chatting with my mum on the phone.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

No questions for today just whatever comes to your mind.

Oh, and: Tell me your birth date if you haven’t as well as those of other bloggers you know!

 

15 thoughts on “Celebrating [blogger birthdays], cereal and contemplation

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    That blogger birthday calendar is awesome! Especially because there are SO many bloggers to keep track of, that it can get easy to accidentally overlook someone. Eep. And I feel ya on the rain… It’s been gloomy and wet here for the past week, which I actually can’t complain about TOO much since it means that it’ll wash away a lot of the grit that was leftover from winter… but some sun would be nice for sure!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      For the first days I’ve been telling myself the flowers, trees and other plants needed the rain, too. But with the downpours we got I’m pretty sure they’re covered for a while now – sun can’t come back soon enough!
      And yes, my own -slight- forgetfulness may or may not have been one of the reasons I thought of the calendar in the first place.

  2. Ms.J says:

    Squeeeee! The famed blogger birthday calendar..fantabulous 😀 !
    On the topic of rain; the feeling of getting drenched in a downpour – oof, so uncomfortable. Oh that’s actually quite a logical perspective your roomie is taking into consideration regarding the seasons..we could be in for a frosty winter then 😉 . But hey, we don’t get snow..can you believe it?
    I came across the google glass invention in a magazine recently. You’re bang on there; its good to have abit of control regarding the mental contents inside ones brain 😉 .

  3. Anoushé says:

    Oh that blogger birthday calendar is such a sweet idea 🙂 Yes, weather in Munich sucked BIG TIME too! That’s why I am so so happy to have tomorrow off and I came back home to Zurich yesterday! yay for sunshine at home.. now if only I could convince myself to go for a run outside.. and leave the house to actually enjoy the sun! So hard to actually enjoy the weather when you are more happy to be home 🙂 Oh and my mom is one of those apocalypse shoppers, but mainly because she is too hungry and buys 20 packs of blueberries and eats half until she checks out.. yup that happened 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, the comment about your mum and the blueberries made me smile. That could actually happen for me, too, one of those days. Or at least in the way that I eat half of the berries I buy at the Farmers’ Market on my walk home already. (:

  4. Emily says:

    I looove the blogger birthday calendar!

    And I seriously want one of those color-changing spoons. haha. The treat inside the cereal box was one of the best things ever when I was a child!

    xo

  5. Heather @ PrettyHealthyMostoftheTime says:

    Color changing spoons! I was a weird kid who always ate my cereal dry. I loved those stupid spoons so much that I would pour WATER on my cereal haha!

    The floss is a must. I got Invisalign (clear retainer-like braces) about 5 weeks ago so I have to brush my teeth every time I eat. It sounded like a pain at first but I love it! It makes me wonder why I never carried floss around before?

    p.s. love the calendar – so sweet of you!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Now that’s serious dedication to spoons, haha. Talking about them really makes me want to figure out a way to get one of those again – without buying cereal.
      I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to keep floss at hand but it’s a lifesaver after pretty much every meal. Eating lots of fruit and vegetables has its slight downsides.
      Let me know your birthday so I can include you in the calendar. (:

  6. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    This is so random but YES. I was in Germany over the Christmas period (although I think you guys had 4 days off in a row- Christmas and the day after and then the day after that was a Sunday!) and the Lidl the night before- MAYHEM

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Welcome to German normalcy before Christmas, Easter, Union Day… oh, well, every time there’s even just a single day of closed stores ahead. Only brave ones dare to go shopping then.

Leave a Reply

