Currently… June

Hello, hello and happy Monday!

Given I can’t deny the fact it’s already June any longer: why not chat a little about currents? It’s also been forever since I joined Katie’s Monday celebration and with some marvelous things in my life despite some hullabaloo I’m focussing on the happy happenings.

MiMM_new

 

Current book: It’s another month of two- [or even three-] timing it because there are too many books and too little time. Generally, I’ve really been into non-fiction lately and after Malcolm Gladwell’s ‘Blink!’ [read it!] as recommended by Beth I’m now reading the German author Hans-Ulrich Grimm’s ‘Die Suppe lügt’ [‘The soup lies’]. Grimm is uncovering the [dirty] truths of the international food industry and the foods we eat. I wasn’t sure there’d be much I hadn’t heard of yet but trust me: there’s a lot more. Even just a few chapters in I already know this will be foundation for an extra blog post.

Current Music:  Stolen Dance – Milky Chance

If you’re German you might roll your eyes at this one but I’ve been recommending it to people overseas left and right so if that characteristic applies to you, too: Listen to it – and thank me later.

 

Current Guilty Pleasure: Giving unsolicited nutrition advice to my roommate. Not of the kind you might guess, though. Here’s the deal: my roommate is actually one of the best examples of intuitive eating I’ve seen so far and not caring about health claims and labels. However, she feels the constant need to apologize for and explain her eating habits thereby shunning her never-ending fondness of carbs. Really, this girl would never give up on her [white] pasta, potatoes or rice – it’s awesome. Maybe my current changing attitude towards food [see current triumph] is partly thanks to her? So I’ve been doing my best letting her know she’s perfectly fine and stopping the carb worries in track. Is that even a guilty pleasure???

Current Nail Color: Essie’s Madison Ave-hue.

Essie_Madison Ave-hue
It’s my latest by Essie and I’m really fond of this shade. Actually, it was my mum’s Easter gift to me. I saw it, needed it [obviously], bought it – and let her know she wanted to gift it to me. That’s what she gets for not buying me any Easter eggs.

 

Current Drink:  Bringing out mass mounts of the bubbly [read: mineral water]. Keeping it classy over here.

Water_glass

The colder months see my intake dimple but as soon as it gets warm I’m in.for more regular arm workouts carrying 1.5 litre-bottles to my apartment. I may or may not have ‘borrowed’ one of my roommate’s bottles recently because I didn’t feel like dragging those extra weights along when I returned from the store. At least I asked?!

Current Food:
Strawberries. Is anybody else particular about where they get theirs? Having Friday off for once last week I had the only chance to attend my favourite Farmers’ Market. While there are what seems to be like 293848 stalls offering the sweet berries I had my heart set on one without even trying a berry beforehand. And I was so so right.

Strawberries
Buckwheat honey. Another Farmers’ Market find and a first for me. After Amanda had been raving about it forever and I’d searched high and low in every store around I finally scored a jar. Unfortunately, the beekeeper I got it from told me it was a rare one and almost extinct over here. Say it isn’t so because it’s awesome and unlike any other honey I’ve tried before.

Last days of May 033

Current Wish List: Could time please stop flying by at lighting speed?! That’s all I can say for now. More on that to come once I have things sorted out a little more.

Current Needs: Another domicile – in the US. Or just a ticket to Blend. Does anybody still have room left in their suitcases?

Current Triumphs: Continuously getting better in my intuitive eating process and feeling freer when it comes to spontaneously cooking without needing to calculate all nutrients beforehand. More on that in upcoming WIAWs.

Current Bane of My Existence: Fruit flies and (!) ants. Nasty little beasts and one of the few downsides of warmer weather.

As if they looked that cute. On another note: does anybody remember the movie?

Current Blessing: Blends. Yes, it’s a repeat offender but some people deserve every extra mention.

Current Excitement:Warmer weather. No matter how often I ramble about German weather I’m not giving up hopes on summer yet. Because my roommate is a lying liar who lies.

And that would be a summer roll[-up] of my currents. Hmm, rolls … Sushi anyone ;)? It’s clearly time for me to go to bed.

Enjoy your Monday!

Happiness inducing today: A really delicious impromtu lunch reminiscent of an old favourite I haven’t had in forever.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

Tell me your current

a) book

b) food

c) triumph

d) wish list.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Currently… June

  1. Ms.J says:

    Hahaa the procedure of Mum gifting the nail polish – fabulous 🙂 .
    Is it not just inspiring to be around an intuitive eater?..I’ve found it tremendously helpful in my case. I’m happy you’re doing splendidly with intuitive eating; utterly freeing isn’t it? Oh and rather envious of your strawberry “intuition” 😉 .
    Argh flies are definitely annoying..but my personal insect hate: cockroaches, yeeks *shudder*.
    Current triumph: slowly but surely believing how “worth it” I am.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      She had no choice then buying it for me because withholding chocolate on Easter is an obvious crime she had to make up for. (:
      Cockroaches?! Oookay… I feel I might postpone my visit to your place until I muster up the courage to face them. I’ve never seen one in real life before but even pictures make me shudder.

      • Ms.J says:

        Never seen one 😯 !? So I take it – German roaches don’t exist?? You don’t want to know about the time I was forced to evacuate my room; until the monster cockroach – that moved in unwelcomed – was eliminated that is. I kid you not.

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m pretty sure that having my mom around me was one of the things that helped me the most in entering away from disordered eating habits. Not only for her support, but becusee of how good of an example she was when it came to intuitive eating. Food really is simple when you get down to it. And moms are the he best… Especially when they buy cute nail polish 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It really is with my roommate. As odd as this sounds I feel it wasn’t even a conscious process at first but seeing how freely she scooped up granola, pasta and potatoes in one meal – and not the whole grain or sweet potato variety – helped me easen up on the carb fear, too.
      “Food really is simple when you get down to it.” <- Yes!

Leave a Reply

