Spilling the birthday beans

Posting twice again today in celebration of Australia’s special holiday:  The Queen’s birthday Arman Day. The host of spilling the beans – or just: Spill it Sunday – is another year older and demanding birthday facts and confessions. It’s been a while since I last joined so here we go!

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1
1. When is your birthday?
The reason why I can’t snark at winter: January 29th.

2. What would your ideal ‘day’ look like?

For whichever reason I find it hard to describe the ‘perfect’ day because aren’t the best birthday those were you make no huge plans and are surprised by how amazing they turn out? Okay, to answer the question: getting enough sleep, eating all of my favourite foods and being with my favourite people.

Root vegetables_2

3. When was your most memorable birthday?

That time I invited everybody from my class in school and we played SingStar all night. Does anybody even remember that? It’s been ages  – my 16th birthday if memory serves me correctly – but it was a blast.

4. When was your worst birthday?

I’ll cheat and won’t go with the worst but the strangest celebration ever. It’s been ages and I have no idea why my parents agreed but I was one of those children who had the idea celebrating their birthday at the Golden Arches had to be incredibly special. If you envied kids who celebrated there while all your parents allowed you was grabbing a Happy Meal: you didn’t miss out on anything. Unless touring a McDonald’s store and receiving an inflatable dragon that had lost pretty much all of its air by the time you went home sounds intriguing to you.

In case you’re wondering: no, the scary clown luckily didn’t make an appearance.

5. What is the best birthday present you have ever received?
Hard to pick. Generally, though, they weren’t the most expensive but those coming from heart: dresses and skirts my sister respectively mum had sewn themselve. Like this one:

Polkadots

Or the Waldorf doll my mum made herself and gave me when I was a wee little one. It’s those gifts that hold special value and a million memories. Knowing the time and effort these gifts required made them as special as they were.

6. What is the worst birthday present you have ever received?

Let’s just say one of my grandmas didn’t really have the best idea of age-appropriate gifts. The bright pink plastic make-up set and [intensely smelling] soap in shape of a sun I got when I was about 15? Well, very considerate but it was… Unusual. And never in use.

7. What is a health related gift on your wish list?

Not wanting to sound too cheesy but one I can only give myself: full recovery. Working on that one. In terms of gifts that money can buy: a treadmill. Not because I enjoyed running on them so much but – winter birthday, remember? – running outside isn’t always that well possible.

8. What is a food related gift on your wish list?
A spiralizer. The [blog] world is giving me constant nudges to get one. These pear noodle parfaits? All kinds of vegetables noodles in this book? Actually, I might ask for one for Christmas.

9. What is your birthday cake of choice?
Ice cream cake. Which I’ve actually never had but – again inspired by the blog world – need on my next birthday. Because ice cream is the better cake.

Childhood throwback, however: Kalter Hund. It’s a no-bake cake made from shortbread sandwiched with a thick chocolate frosting. If this one had ever been missed on any of my birthdays I’d have throw a fit so my mum knew better. Thinking about it Kalter Hund is totally deserving of a healthy makeover…

 

Happiness inducing today: Good news from a friend I hadn’t talked to in a while.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

When was your most memorable birthday?

Did you ever celebrate at McDonald’s or were invited at a friends’s birthday there? It’s safe to say that my own future children will not be allowed to celebrate there. Ever.

 

7 thoughts on “Spilling the birthday beans

  1. ranchcookie says:

    I was totally invited to a McDonald’s party and there was a play place but then again those are so small it only keeps you occupied for so long haha

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually, I don’t think there was a playing area at all when I celebrated. We got to tour the store instead after eating. Today I wonder why that would have been interesting for kids but I’d be curious to do it again – more thoroughly – as a journalist these days, haha.

  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    Oh man, I had the damn Mcdonalds birthday party as a kid….I cringe thinking it was so high notch!

    I’m glad to hear your health related one is a work in progress- progressing UP. I’ve had an ice cream cake before- Ironically, it’s the one my sister used to always request as a child!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right?! I have no idea why eating at a fast food place was considered cool. Mmmh, wearing ‘eau de frites’ all night afterwards, haha.
      I’m totally getting on that ice cream cake next time. Is it January yet???

  3. Nichole Josey says:

    This was awesome! I really enjoyed reading it all. My 16th birthday was a pretty special one too! It was the only real big birthday bash I ever had. I’m also glad to hear the McDonald’s clown didn’t make an appearance, had it been me and he did I would of freaked out.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      There’s something to that ‘sweet sixteen’ thing after all it seems. Mine was the only big party I’ve had so far, too. Worth repeating, though.
      And yes, I was glad that deceitful clown wasn’t in tow at my party. I don’t trust that guy…

Leave a Reply

