Breakfast parfait 051

Baby, it’s hot outside!

Say it with me: heatwave. Unusual [for our hemisphere at least] and sudden heatwave. In other words: Summer has arrived in full force in Germany. We’re not just talking a few more hours of sunshine but sweat-buckets-and- temperatures for days not even cooling down at night. Now that I’m finishing up this post it’s actually about 30°C outside and I’m not-so-secretly wishing for a fan or air conditioning. Can’t always get what you want, right? What we can all get, though, is some inspiration for new hot weather eats from all around the world thanks to Jenn and Vegan Wednesday! Let’s talk about how I’ve been [more or less successfully] beating the heat with food these days.

WIAWbutton_1

Needless to say with these temperatures even my go-to hot oat bran had to step aside for new breakfasts. I’m still in the trial of deciding if savoury or sweet works better for me. Or maybe it’s a tie after all? Who knows?! Either way, the purchase of 3.3 lbs of potatoes – lunatic? No. Simply a necessity if you want to get starchy ones over here. Thanks for nothing, German grocery stores – had me ponder new ways to use them. Breakfast potatoes? Why not. And because I’d long wanted to use a certain casserole dish again and had been meaning to try veganizing frittata that’s what I went for.

Breakfast potato frittata

After I spotted black beans [a rare find over here] it was pretty much a signed deal a to include them along with the potatoes, onion, bell pepper and corn. It turned out to be a surprisingly quick and delicious meal both hot and – fellow bloggers know the downside of taking pictures of your food – cold. And honestly: in 99 % of the cases I’ll reheat a dish after I’ve taken pictures? This time? Thanks, but no thanks. Thinking about it now I should have probably made another frittata for the next morning in advance right then and there.

June 041

But little did I know the following morning would be even hotter so turning on the oven once more for a repeat was no option. Instead, I chose to try a blog world favourite: the breakfast parfait. With no granola on hand I went for a base of cooked and slightly cooled oatmeal – and then got creative.

Breakfast parfait 012

If you’re indecisive like me the oats will have cooled down by the time you finally settle on a flavour combination 😉 : Vegan Neapolitan Oatmeal Parfait. Admittedly, I was skeptical of the whole cold oatmeal aspect but this turned out to be a nice break from my usual stand-by and refreshing on a hot day. Crunchy, sweet, chocolatey and fruity plus how pretty is the layered effect?! The recipe will be up on Friday – just in time for the weekend. Because unless you’re better organized than me the whole act of preparing the individual layers is a little too much work for a weekday.

Breakfast parfait 051

Speaking of cold oats it might have been a gal used to the heat convincing me here. After I saw Arman’s recipe for White Chocolate Macadamia Oatmeal Pudding I had to try it immediately. And by immediately I mean ignoring both the fact that a) leaving it in the fridge for a few others only was cheating on the overnight part and b) subbing pistachios for the macadamias I didn’t have at hand and vegan white chocolate meant drifting from the original inspiration even further. I can safely say pistachios and white chocolate made a winning combination in this snack, too, though.

Pistachio white chocolate oatmeal pudding

Given I worked at Subway for a while it’s still a requirement to try Arman’s version some day [soon?] though it’s no secret I can’t follow recipes to a T. Actually, too bad I don’t work at Subway anymore. Because every time I had the best task ever of ‘baking’ cookies [read: dropping frozen cookie dough on sheets] I made sure none the chocolate and nuts at the bottom of the bag got to waste. Qualitly control. Obviously.

Speaking of quality testing I think I need to practice some with a certain something in my freezer… Enjoy your Wednesday and stay cool!

 

Happiness inducing today: Finding the mango I’d bought a while ago to be perfectly ripe and juicy – the best.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

Do your regular meals change once it gets warmer?

What have you been eating to beat the heat?

Cold oatmeal: yes or no? And what are your favourite versions of it: Parfait, overnight oats, oats in a jar, others??

 

10 thoughts on “Baby, it’s hot outside!

  1. ranchcookie says:

    My meals have been changing too 🙂 From hearty hot foods to cold potatoes and precooked meats so they are cold too haha, I prefer to avoid the whole sweating while I eat process 🙂

  2. Ms.J says:

    Stay cool?! No worries there, I’m freezing. Figures – winter would peak over here as summer hits there. I can never do hot oatmeal though! Its got to be allowed to cool to at least room temperature..but then I’m always having it alongside a steaming mug of coffee.
    Black beans are scarce around these parts too, but my oh my, your frittata looks delicious..funny that my [sweet loving] mouth is actually watering for that. Back to the weather; I have lost all memory of what a “heatwave” feels like..even when there’s sunshine – its icy cold.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, I’m not sure where exactly in your country you’re located but I have an inkling your winters are still warmer than ours.
      Hey, you could always have frittata for lunch so it’s not too surprising it draws you in. No matter how big of a sweet tooth I have I always always need my savoury meals to balance it out.

  3. Heather @ PrettyHealthyMostoftheTime says:

    I actually can’t stop making Arman’s White Chocolate oats! I actually make them in the am then have them for an afternoon snack – cold oats beat warm in this summer heat! The weather definitely changes what I eat. Like, there is no way I could eat soup right now. I’m lying, I could totally go for some tomato basil right now 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s just what I did when I tried the recipe: cooked the oats in the morning, had them a few hours later as a snack. Impatience makes inventive. (:
      I’m the same when it comes to soup: no matter how hot it is I’ll still bring some kind of it to work. Mostly because I can’t imagine a salad – though much more heat-appropriate – to tide me over.

  4. Sabrina @ Nutritiously Sweet says:

    That parfait sounds pretty darn awesome! With the heat upon us… all I want is smoothies, yogurt and frozen berries! The last thing I want in a hot meal unless its super later at night for dinner or super early in the a/m and its still a little chilly!

Leave a Reply

