The Two Thumbs Up Edition [Thinking out loud]

If you didn’t notice with my many past Thursday posts – or posts on this blog in general, really – I like me a good theme to align even the most random of thoughts or meals. Today’s Thinking out loud with Amanda is no different which makes me happy – easily pleased?! Even happier when the above-mentioned theme are happenings from the past week that deserved two thumbs up.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. If you read yesterday’s post on how I’m channeling Beyoncé when it comes to others’ recipes you’ll probably know what I used these for:

Cini Minis_Cookie Crisp_cereal

Two thumbs up for single household-friendly boxes of cereal. I usually get bored by cereal easily so buying a family-sized box of any kind is not an option. Needless to say I didn’t hesitate a second when there was a special offer of these smaller boxes of first Cookie Crisp and then Cinnamon Toast Crunch [isn’t Cini Minis adorable, too, though??]. Enough to both include it in yesterday’s recipe and for quick childhood-reminiscent snacks now.

2. The possible downside to the small boxes is the lack of any toys – and you know which specific one I’ve been pining for. Two thumbs up for hilarious riddles on the back of the packages. Can you spot the culprit [translated hints below]?

Cereal_back of the package

Hints: 1. The mouth is wide open. – 2. He’s not cross-eyed. – 3. He’s showing his teeth. – 4. The tongue isn’t visible. – 5. He doesn’t have braces.

3. I’ll be on the road – or rather: in trains – all day tomorrow again. From what I gathered in intense studies of blogs 😉 traveling by train isn’t actually all that usual overseas. Why exactly? Ever since moving out from my parents’ trains have become an even more important means of traveling than before. While I’m not keen on boarding a train already again tomorrow there were some perks on my last endeavour.

4. Two thumbs up for local trains with phone-charging opportunities. In a spur of the moment decidion I’d thrown my charger into my bag though I knew I’d only be traveling by regional trains that aren’t known for their luxurious “Ausstattung”. Is it sad that it made me happy to see this? Further proof of how dependent on my phone I am.

5. Unfortunately, this was not available on my commute back because…  two thumbs down for the scare I got when finding the [at least intended] last train I changed to on my way back unscheduledly was ended way before my final destination. A delay in the afternoon is annoying already but one at 7.30 PM meaning you won’t get home before 10 PM is … yes. Especially if you ate almost all of your snacks already. More bars the next time.

6. It’s been a while since I went all out posting flower pictures like in the early days of my blog. Two thumbs up for flowers in my favourite colour. However, I have no green thumb at all so keep your fingers crossed for these beauties.

Flowers_by Barbara

 

What better way to end a post then on the topic of flowers?! Just agree with me here.

Happy Thursday!

 

Happiness inducing today: A positive reminder that first impressions of others can be deceiving.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Tell me whatever comes to your mind!

Who solved the cereal riddle?

 

22 thoughts on “The Two Thumbs Up Edition [Thinking out loud]

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I do believe I solved the riddle. At the very least, staring at the little crunchies made me crave cereal in a BIG way. Thank goodness sleep is like a time machine to breakfast 😀 And I get all sorts of panicky when my phone batteries hit the red, which has been happening a lot lately now that my phone is getting all old and useless. I blame Instagram… and Twitter… and Candy Crush 😆

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Would you believe Cinnamon Toast Crunch is lethal [as in: might contain traces of peanuts] over here?? It’s apparently not in Canada so two thumbs up for that. (:
      I swear that even if I use my phone sparingly its battery discharges way faster when I’m out and about. As opposed to when I’m close to home and playing around with it all day. And I’m not even using Instragram, Twitter or Candy Crush. Though I still want to try the latter.

  2. Nichole Josey says:

    Ever since my sophomore year in high school I have always carried a phone charger in my purse because far too often during my freshman year my phone would die on me and I’d be in search of something to charge it. It’s crazy how often that charger comes in handy! Beautiful flowers:))

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually, throwing the charger into my bag was a spur-of-the-moment decision and I wasn’t even expecting to get a chance to use it. Because I knew I’d only travel with regional trains that are usually far from stellar in terms of equipment. Lucky day!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, it’s good to know everybody feels it. In fact, I even texted a friend I was chatting with I’d sign off for that moment when my train was suddenly delayed. Emergency situation!

  3. swissfitchick says:

    Low battery on the phone is the WORST!! It really freaks me out. And yes, it is mostly when I REALLY need it! Scary.
    I love travelling in trains. After all, the Swiss train system is probably one of the best, if I may say so myself.
    Pack those bars for tomorrow’s journey girl!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I knooow. I’ve heard only good about the Swiss train system. Deutsche Bahn, however? Well, I figure you’ll have heard some stories before?!
      One of these days I’ll invest in a second battery for my phone because yes, I rely on it that much, haha.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s ridiculous, isn’t it? Sometimes I’m trying to imagine what would happen if the whole world was without phones again for a day. A lot more communicative for sure.

  4. katalysthealth says:

    Great, now I want cereal. Thanks for that 😉
    Its really awesome that they offer places for you to charge your phone on the train. I use mine for music since I HATE silence [seriously, I’m always listening to something!] and so the battery dies quickly. Thank goodness I always have access to an outlet though!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Sorry I’m not sorry. I had to go and get another handful of Cinnamon Toast Crunch after posting, too. And then more every time I replied to comments scrolling past the pictures. Meaning I might get up again after finishing this ;).
      The phone chargers are not a regular on trains. Most actually won’t have any so I was even luckier to find one last time. Fingers crossed for tomorrow!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Every post should end with flowers, no?! Haha, okay, maybe not every but with summer upon us I can’t say I’ll hold back on taking [and probably sharing] one and a million pictures of them.

  5. Pingback: Let's get living

Leave a Reply

