Me, factually [Spill it, Sunday – ‘The Five Facts’ edition]

They say there’s a time and place for everything. If you’ve been reading for a while you know I agree link-ups make blogging schedules easier. But a) I have a little more serious post planned for Thursday and b) Arman isn’t settling on a specific day with the randomness of Spill it Sundays – despite the name making you assume elsewise. So spilling it on Tuesday it is. For once I’ll play along with the rules and not add a sixth fact to every category.

Spill-it-Sunday-option-2-1

 

Five facts about….your family!

1. We’re three children and three times three years apart. My brother is [28 going on] 29 later this year, my sister is 26 and I’m the 23-year-old Nesthäkchen or laat lammetjie as I now know thanks to this girl. Being the youngest had its advantages and disadvantages.

2. Which just brought me to the sponatenous conclusion that we were born in a period of nine years which is coincidentially the age difference between my parents, too. Yes, it’s little things like that making me smile.

3. My family is living in an old farm house in the countryside and I never wished for growing up in a city a single time. Country bumpkin and proud of it.

Walk

4. Both my mum and dad grew up in areas were certain dialects are spoken but raised us children to speak standard/ High German.

5. All of us enjoy cycling so much we usually packed our bikes wherever we traveld and even went on several cycling-only holidays.

Winter sun

Five facts about…your childhood!

1. For the first years of my life I shared a room with my brother and sister. Fun times. Only not when they had loft beds and you were the one sleeping on a ground level matress.

2. Luckily, I was the one getting that [biggest of all] children’s rooms once my siblings moved to other rooms of the house. It all evens out in the long term.

3. I was clearly a girly girl growing up: my best friend and I would spend hours playing Barbie. Usually with her Barbies because she had about three times as many as me.

4. I used to ride horses for many years. In fact, my mum had two horses of her own but nowadays she’s the only one still riding.

5. My favourite TV show was Ocean Girl – an Australian one about a girl swimming with a whale. It was the reason I drew nothing but humpback whales for a while.

 

 

Five facts about…you + school!

1. From 1st to 13th grade I went to three different schools: elementary school, middle school [only grades 5 and six] and then grammar school. This is rather unusual as it’s nowadays the norm over here to switch from elementary directly to grammar or any other kind of secondary school. My year was one of the last to still visit middle school.

2. My brother once did my maths homework for me because I thought it was too difficult – in second grade. Since then I’ve come to maybe not like numbers but be okay with handling them to an extent 😀 . I’ve always been better with words.

Letter

3. That being said you won’t be surprised my favourite subjects were languages. English was my first choice examination subject for the Abitur [final exams in grade 13].

4. While I got along with most of my teachers some had rather eccentric personalities. One I liked and who furthered my wish to travel the world was my 9th grade English teacher who had just come back from Australia where he’d worked for years. Actually, he has settled on the Gold Coast now and invited me to visit him and his wife should I ever make my way over there. Tempting.

5. My least favourite subjects: history and PE. Don’t ask.

 

 

Five facts about...you + travel! – Side note: This coincides pretty well with my recent travel ramblings, huh?

1. The most embarrassing fact first: I’ve yet to travel anywhere outside of Europe. I know. I’m not proud of it but I keep telling myself I’m still young so there’s time left to see the world – and I will.

2. So far I’ve been to England, France [multiple times], Greece, Ireland and Spain.

Leaving the safe harbour to get to know new sights and places.

3. Whenever I travel it’s most likely by public transport – or more specifically: trains. I don’t own a car so unless I’m with my parents or somebody else owning a car you’ll find me on trains – huge bags or suitcases in tow for all the books and food I need.

4. Environmental aspects aside I really enjoy flying but haven’t gotten a chance to do it too often yet. Just the thought of the plane taking up speed in the manoeuvring area makes me want to board one again soon.

5. This might be a stretch but I can’t talk about traveling without saying it: I’m really awesome at packing. That is if you consider taking half of your wardrobe and bookshelf with you on even a short trip good packing light.

 

 

Five facts about…your eating style!

1. The long known fact first: I’m a vegetarian eating mostly vegan and have been since 2013. Wait… has it really been 11 years already?! Funny to think it has when two years in my mum still thought I was just going through “a phase”. Just like the phase when you used to think tattoo chokers were trendy – only I’m still not eating meat anymore and don’t plan to while those horrid necklaces have long made their way into the trash.

2. Not a single day passes by without me eating almond butter. Unless I run out but I make an effort not to let that happen. In fact, I’m due for a stock-up today.

Almond butter 006

3. Get ready for a shocking confession: I don’t like any of the typical condiments. Ketchup, mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar, … – I don’t like them. Yes, I was the odd child growing up who’d eat her French fries plain and get Chicken Nuggets without any kind of dip at McDonald’s. Actually, I think you were required to pick a dip so I got sweet & sour sauce but never used it.

4. I’m not one to say no to free food. As long as it’s vegetarian/ vegan and doesn’t contain any nasty ingredients I’ll take a bite or grab a handful.

Lindt_Chili

5. Looking at that Lindt picture: I have a slight obsession with that company’s chocolate. I blame my grandma for instilling this because she’d mail me a bar of Lindor – the red one to be specific – for every single birthday during my childhood. Way to raise a picky chocolate eater.

 

Happiness inducing today: Wise and confirming words from a Blend.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

It’s your turn: Tell me at least one fact about you from every category!

17 thoughts on “Me, factually [Spill it, Sunday – ‘The Five Facts’ edition]

  1. Ms.J says:

    Hmm, I’m thinking we should have this hate-history syndrome that plagues laat lammetjies looked into..seeing as I kinda did not love it either 😉 .
    Its fabulous that your Mum still rides! Every single soul in my household spent an allotted time in the saddle..right now however? 5 horses and only my brother riding and competing. I can’t lie I love having the stables full though 🙂 .
    So..you and Lindt go wayyy back. I’m a teeny bit jealous.
    Jumping jimminy crickets! You hate ketchup!?..yessss I’m not alone 😀 . I tried to love it, I did – but who am I kidding; it has a puke-inducing effect on me.
    Oh and I am -pleasantly- astonished that you’ve stuck with the 5 fact rule (given that it is my favorite number) taking your penchant for even numbers into consideration.

  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    You mentioned Australia so many times here- love it. I actually never really liked condiments growing up- but now is another story. A bicycle only holiday sounds absolutely fantastic, and a great idea for a holiday + activity in one!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, yes, unconsciously at first, really. That teacher was seriously one of the best I ever had and therefor a no-brainer to include in those school life facts. And well, you already knew Ocean Girl was a huge hit for me.
      Our cycling holidays were amazing. While at times we wished my parents had been more appt to travel the world with us these kind of holidays were great family bonding time.

  3. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    Ah! So much weird math going on in your family! My siblings and I are all about 1.5 years apart – my mom popped us out. Actually my bro and I are “Irish Twins” – Cause my mom couldn’t keep her pants on! LMFAO

  4. Farrah says:

    I don’t think I could live in a city either. I grew up in the suburbs and spent the last two years in a super-rural area, which I much prefer to having hundreds of people everywhere. The air’s a lot cleaner and it’s so much prettier out in the country! :]

    I miss riding horses! I’m hoping that someday (wherever I end up), I’ll have the opportunity to do that semi-regularly.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’ll admit living on my own I prefer the city because solitude in the countryside is very lonely. But being the planner-ahead that I am I know that once I feel like settling with husband, children, pets and all that it’s back to the cozy comfort of the beautiful countryside for me. (:
      Fingers crossed for your dream of horses. They are amazing and it was a great part of my childhood riding them.

  5. Juli says:

    I love this post! It’s nice to learn so many new things about you!
    I should totally invite you over for organizing my packing. My husband and I fight over packing EVERYY SINGLE TIME!
    I remember those aweful tattoo chokers. I really thought I’d look cool and hip with those. Massive fail 😉

Leave a Reply

