It’s all [edama]me to me

Yesterday was all about me and spilling the beans. Today’s What I ate Wednday is about edamame – the one and only bean of the day. Tomorrow’s Thinking out loud will be about me and you and no beans – it’s a post dear to me so I hope you’ll chime in. But one day at a time so here’s to another volume of What I ate Wednesday and Vegan Wednesday partying.

WIAWbutton_1

Obsessions. We all have them. Those foods you [re]discover and then can’t get enough of anymore. By now you likely know I have a soft spot for a certain legume. But that actually applies to most beans. You name it – I’ll tell you my favourite ways to eat it.* The star of this post came back into the spotlight unexpectedly. My freezer might just be a shoe box-sized compartment of my fridge but it’s still surprisingly good at swallowing foods in its back. That’s where I found a half pound-bag of edamame lurking and how it all got started.

Edamame_potatoes

*unless the variety’s not available which is the downside of living in Germany.

First up was the inclusion in my go-to kind of meal: a stew. More specifically an edamame and carrot stew in a curry-infused tomato [soy] yogurt sauce. Alongside roasted potatoes which I finally (!) tried after seeing them in Amanda’s WIAW posts several times before. So simple, so good. Did I mention the dipping action going on?!

Edamame_dip

But today’s about edamame. The best part of this magical bean is – as opposed to other legumes – its slightly higher fat content. Read: it’s even creamier and more delicious. Following a recipe from a cookbook – yes, it happens once in a while though you know my usual source of recipes –  I tried Appetite for Reduction‘s Edamame Pesto. Actually, this was one of my savoury breakfasts and involved Slim Pasta which I’d gotten for review a while back. After my previous trials with shirataki pasta I was skeptical what to expect. Each package contains 200 g [7 oz] of pasta and is supposed to serve two yet I expected to need the whole bag to get satisfied given the low carb content compared to my standard breakfast.

Slim pasta_shirataki2

Which surprisingly was not the case and that’s to say something from somebody who usually needs huge servings. My verdict?  It’s better than regular shirataki yet the texture is definitely chewier than ‘normal’ pasta. The positives are that – made from konjak flour – it’s suitable for many diets like gluten-free, low carb or vegan. However, the price is rather steep so on a budget it’d be more of an occasional treat than a regular. Mock pasta with mock pesto? For breakfast. Sounds strange but good to me. If you’re curious about the pesto recipe: there you go! It’s not your average pesto but really good nonetheless.

Disclaimer: Slim Pasta sent me a bag of their product free of charge. However, I was not compensated for this post. All opinions expressed are my own.

Slim Pasta_shirataki

Edamame, however, is clearly in my budget. I’ve been snacking on it like it’s going out of style. Or at least like it won’t be available for long anymore. Which might very well be true because it’s very hard to find over here. I’d better fuel the addiction while I still can. Plus I’ve been eyeing a certain salad recipe… Can you guess what’s on my shopping list for today?

 
Ending on a sweet note once more: ice cream. Free ice cream. My boss generously paid for this when our team met up a while ago and I somehow never posted it but found the picture on my phone again today. It actually was a little challenge because despite the heat on that day I was the only one craving ice cream. Usually reason enough for me to pass on it, too, as it feels weird to be the only one eating. Long story short: I got my ice cream, others saw it and joined in sponatenously and those who didn’t missed out. Big time. Mango sorbet made solely from organic mangoes and agave? Win.

DasEis_Mango ice cream

 

Happiness inducing today: Chatting with a neighbour I had yet to really talk to for long while he let me use his printer after mine refused to work. Double happiness?!

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What’s your favourite way to prepare edamame?

Do you have any current food obsessions?

Does anybody want to teach me phone photography? I’m clearly well off not using Instagram…

 

13 thoughts on “It’s all [edama]me to me

  1. Nichole says:

    I’ve only had edamame like once or twice but I really enjoyed it when I had it! I’ll have to check out that salad recipe, I’m always looking for a tasty one to try! Mhmmmm mango sorbet!

  2. Ms.J says:

    My town is even more “full of beans” – than Germany – by not stocking up on endamame..ever. I knowww! And don’t talk about the struggle at acquiring chickpeas; only at selected stores – most probably at a pretty steep price to boot. Bummer.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That should be criminal! I wouldn’t be able to get edamame in the countryside, either, but chickpeas should be well available in stores everywhere in the world. Maybe we need to start a chickpea petition??

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Falls es bei Dir einen denn’s-Biomarkt in der Nähe gibt, könnest Du dort Glück haben. Die haben seit kurzer Zeit zumindest zwei vegane Sorten von ‘DasEis’ im Sortiment: Cookie Dough [klang besser als es mir schmeckte] und dieses Mango-Sorbet im großen Becher.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Everything tastes better when free. I wish edamame was more widely available so I wouldn’t constantly have to fear running out because yes, it’s a wonderful little bean.

  3. caileejoy says:

    Your blog is so cute!! Love the balloons… so festive and fun!! …and my recent food obsession?! Sugar free ice cream… I LOVE sweets and find that if I can eat them daily, I actually eat much less than when I follow restrictive diets. Also, I LOVE bread… after being gluten free for over a year, I love a good (small) hunk of bread. All things in moderation, right?!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s so true. Daily treats keep me from overeating – for the most part. I won’t pretend there weren’t those family get-togethers around Christmas or birthdays but generally, a few pieces of chocolate and some ice cream are enough. And yes to bread or moderation in general. Life’s too short to not enjoy what we like.

  4. Cara says:

    How did you manage to get your hands on edamame? I literally visited every single Asia food store around and did not find one single edamame bean by now….

Leave a Reply

