You are not what you eat.

It’s time to think out loud again! But before I get into the post I mentioned before already I want to wish a happy birthday to this amazing blend all the way over in South Africa! Enjoy your day, girl! And now I hope Amanda won’t mind me foregoing the usual light-hearted cereal and puzzle talk for a topic that’s been on my mind for a while already.

Thinking-Out-Loud

 

Sometimes you intend to write a completely different post and then life suggests another. Life in this case being a friend asking if I wrote a vegan blog to connect with other vegans. Which I denied. Neither do I consider myself writing a vegan/ any kind of special diet blog. Nor do I want to connect with vegans only. My intentions with blogging are to share my thoughts, opinions, recipes every now and then but mainly: to get in touch with alike minds. And that’s not limited to a certain diet or type of exercise. In fact, I might disagree with the way you eat but won’t bother making a fuss about it if think you’re a sweet person in general, a witty writer or deep thinker bringing up interesting topics.

Nobody in my close family or circle of friends is vegan or even vegetarian. And that is okay. I’m not choosing my ‘real life’ friends according to their diet or running pace. In fact, none of them are runners and would probably shake their head at the mention of chia seeds or HIIT. And that’s okay, too. We still have such a lot to discuss, talk or laugh about.

Why would I choose my blogging friends with different criteria than those in real life? By now I have blends that eat vegan, vegetarian, paleo or just don’t follow any label at all. Blends that run, lift weights, do yoga, crossfit or walk. Do I like any of them better than others? Heck no. All of us are such a lot more than the food we put into our mouths or our workout achievements. In fact, I love the diversity presented in the blog world. Just like in ‘real’ life there are all kinds of different people. In different jobs. From different countries. People I might not as easily get in contact with in daily life but now get a chance to connect with every day – it’s amazing.

Tolerance_II

Tolerance is the biggest human virtue.

 

My life doesn’t revolve solely around reading, thinking or talking about food or exercise – and I assume [or hope] yours doesn’t, either. As somebody interested in healthy living and cooking I do enjoy gushing about a million ways to eat almond butter. I get excited when I find new products in unexpected places. Getting running advice from seasoned half-marathoners is great, too. But that’s not all I want to read or chat about.

Maybe you consider sugar the devil while I won’t part ways with chocolate anytime soon.

Maybe you think vegan food was boring while I would never consider paleo.

Maybe you run 60 miles a week while I currently run all of 0 and consider walks my exercise.

And yet we can still be friends. As long as you don’t talk about how your diet is so much healthier than somebody else’s or how all of us should work out hours every day. If that’s your blog’s sole focus I might not be the most loyal reader. If you share random tidbits about yourself, the great book you just finished, share your experiences with and advice on the struggles faced as a twenty-something or voice your opinion on current happenings in the world? I’ll be back regularly.

 

How What I ate Wednesday posts and mentions of food or recovery fit in there? Easy. Like I said it’s not solely about the food we eat. However, I think we can all agree food is an important and delicious part of our lives. Personally, I find WIAW to be a great way to discover new blogs and connect with other people – far beyond food-related topics. And when it comes to my recovery I could probably talk about it a lot more but that’d seem redundant. If I throw in a thought on my journey it’s when I either struggle and know others will have some advice or when I have overcome a fear [food] and want others battling an ED to see it’s possible, too. Because that’s what has been helping me personally on other blogs, too.

Amy [link to Long Drive Journey] wrote a great post about when healthy borders on obsession and I agree wholeheartedly with it. I don’t want to read about your food only but about your hobbies, job, family,  what’s on your mind, … In short: about YOU.

No questions today but your opinion on the topic.

 

Happiness inducing today: Lots of sunshine after heavy rainfalls.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

40 thoughts on “You are not what you eat.

  1. Amy @ Long Drive Journey says:

    Amen, girl! I love this. There’s no way I’d only want to be friends with people who eat the same as I do! In the grand scheme of things, there is SO much more to life than that! Thank you so much for the shoutout!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Life would be really boring if we were surrounding us with very similar people only. It’s the diversity of nationalities [yes to blogging connecting people all over the world!], opinions, hobbies and so much else that makes things interesting.

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I try to have a balance in my blog… So much so, a lot of people don’t know how I eat at all and I am okay with that. I don’t make my blog about me, I make it about everyone WHO COMES to my blog. Yes, my most recent one mentioned my birthday but really I wanted to give a gift to my readers and share a delicious recipe – that I ADORE. If people don’t like it, well whatever, we all have different taste buds! 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s what makes your blog. It might not as personal as some others but you have a unique writing style, don’t take yourself too serious and always provide some factual information in a non-snoozefest inducing way.
      On the topic of food, I’d still be curious to see a WIAW post on your blog one day. You can’t just be eating tasty balls all day – or maybe you can 😉 ???

      • GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

        OH I can… And I do! HA HA HA HA! 😉 Maybe one day, if I get enough requests, I will do a WIAW – however, I only eat twice a day and I have a feeling people might lash out – but I do what I do because it works for ME 🙂

  3. Ms.J says:

    I’m with you on looking beyond a persons diet and exercise habits in establishing a friendship – blog world or otherwise. Its rather petty to allow another’s choice of food to get in the way of enjoyable chats isn’t it!? I find my blog as an outlet in celebrating “food” (no longer something to fear or deny myself) among every other thing I am inclined – or hesitant – to discuss. I think even when a blogger is talking daily eats; their personality shines through their words, and that is what either captures a reader..or not.
    What I find thought-provoking: I thoroughly enjoy getting a glimpse into others lives through blogs; yet when it comes to sharing from myself? I’ll opt to stick to emails for the most part 😉 .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “Even when a blogger is talking daily eats; their personality shines through” <- this. That’s why I consider What I ate Wednesday a great way of taking a glimpse into new blogs and intuitively decide if I’ll be back another day or not.
      We’re on the same board when it comes to sharing a lot of personal information. I like it when others do but never know how much I should or want to give away about myself without oversharing.

  4. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    Love this post, girl! I wouldn’t even think to pick my friends based on their dietary preferences. We are also so unique so how can I expect anyone else to eat completely the way I do. While I don’t think my way of eating is the best, I do think it is the best FOR ME as of now…and that will keep changing as I evolve as a person! However I am not going to lie- I do tend to get on well with people who appreciate food the way I do…whether that be vegan, raw, junk or whatever else kind of food!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Agreed. And that’s what I like about the bloggers I follow: whichever diet they eat what matters is that they have a positive outlook on food and enjoy what’s on their plate rather than eating just to stick to a certain macro ‘budget’. If that’s a meaty burger, raw chia pudding or decadent double chocolate ice cream.If it’s the latter I’ll ask if they’ll share, haha.

  5. swissfitchick says:

    yes!! I LOVE to read about my blends lifes – if they eat vegan cheese daily or not. Many people ask me what my blog is about and I always have a hard time specify a topic. If someone doesn’t want to be my friend cause I talk too much about myself – then be it.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I like you because my dad approves of your food choices. Kidding. 😉
      It’s odd, isn’t it? I’m aghast each time anew when somebody asks what my blog is about. Me? Sounds too self-impressed and like I was talking about every time I went to the toilet. Food? Like I said that’s not my sole focus and wouldn’t be enough for me. So what is it, really? A life blog?!

  6. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    To be honest, when reading blogs, I hardly pay attention to food or fitness these days… I read for the person behind the subject, so I’m right there with you on never choosing friendships based on eating habits. That’s like basing relationships on looks — it’ll never last because those kind of things are too flimsy and constantly shifting.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Same here. Sometimes I feel I should show a little more interest if somebody posts their detailed weekly fitness routine and meal plan. But usually I’ll skim the post to see if there are any personal tidbits, current happenings or opinions hiding. If not I’ll be back another day.

  7. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    Love this post, Miss! I am totally with you. I love blogs that give you some insight into the person’s life, thoughts, hopes, dreams, and more! Food and fitness are fun, but there is so much more to a person than just those two aspects!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      So true. It’s not like we grew up picking friends based on their diets or the sports they played. But when we share similar dreams in life and can laugh about the same things that’s a good start.

  8. Tiff says:

    I like food posts and read HLBs for healthy meal inspiration. I don’t need any additional influence to eat decadent cookies. 😉 Sorry Betty Crocker. I don’t care if it’s vegan/paleo/GF/etc, just so long as it tastes good!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, yes. Those dessert-only food blogs are not in my daily feed because I know I’ll meet my sugar quota easily without their incentive already.
      “I don’t care if it’s vegan/paleo/GF/etc, just so long as it tastes good!” <- Fully agreed.

  9. caileejoy @ http://hellohealthyeating.com says:

    This is great!! I agree! I used to be gluten free, dairy free, sugar free, vegan, low carb, everything!! I’ve tried it all… and can honestly say that what works for me is eating whatever I want in moderation. Otherwise I get way too stressed, obsessive, and end up over-eating/pigging out… that being said, some people can eat any of those ways and thrive! Everyone is different and accepting that our diets can be different too is so important!! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Moderation in your own life and tolerance towards others’ choices – that’s the perfect approach. I’m glad you found what makes you feel good and don’t compare to others. I used to feel guilty some of those diets didn’t work for me while others thrived on them but in the end we’re all so very different there’ll really never be a once size fits all – and that’s okay.

  10. Ellie says:

    I feel like people always feel like I’m judging them when they find out I’m vegan. However then I explain that I have been vegan for a while and did not disassociate myself with them before now, so why would I ever do that? Yes, I have my ethical convictions in regard to the treatment of animals, but when I see someone, I see them, not their choice of food. Just my preference.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I hear you on that, Ellie. That’s why I don’t even tell people I’m vegetarian or even largely vegan before they inevitably find out when we’re eating together. For some reason many people feel the need to defend their choice to eat meat when they find out others don’t even though those don’t comment on it. Luckily it’s been a while since somebody asked if I felt like I was a better person for being vegetarian. Hm, no?! It’s up to them to decide if they like me or not – independent from my dietary choices.

  11. alex@vegginout says:

    I love this post!!! None of my “real life” friends and none of my close family eat vegetarian or vegan, and none share my same food obsession. I do enjoy being able to connect with other foodies via blogging who love similar foods/share similar food obsessions, but really I don’t care what/how other bloggers or people in general eat or exercise. In fact, it’s more interesting meeting people who are completely different! I wouldn’t choose to be someone’s friends based on how they eat because if I did, I would miss out on knowing some pretty awesome people 🙂

  12. Ashley says:

    I love this, and it’s such a great reminder for me! I like blogging about my food because I don’t really share it in my real life — no one I know is vegan or vegetarian and I feel weird with some of my health foods and even sharing that I don’t eat animal products which is why the blog world is such a good place to connect with others, even those who don’t eat exactly the same as me. We all have some passion for eating well, and I’m often inspired by those who eat differently. For example, I don’t agree with paleo eating completely, but I love trying out grain free recipes! It’s just great to take what we can from others and not worry about what they think about how or what we eat.

  13. Emily says:

    This is so, so true. Blogging should just be an extension of the people we are in real life– a place for us to share the things we love and relate with others on a variety of topics. But it’s also a place to discover people with different lifestyles and embrace their unique passions.

    Thanks for another amazing reminder.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

