App-solutely addicted [Thinking out loud]

It’s that time of the week again to break with conventions or structure and follow Amanda’s lead to think out loud. Without further ado: let’s get random!

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Imagine turning off your phone for its daily break. Imagine trying to turn it back on and – nothing happening. And now imagine all of this occuring on a Saturday with no chances of either having that phone fixed or getting a new one. Let’s say those were three interesting and revealing days until buying a new one yesterday. I’d pondered getting an iPhone but.. .I never realized just how expensive they were 8O. More than 800 $??! For now say hi to my new toy phone:

new phone_Samsung

2. Most of you will have watched this video below before. In regards to that the loss of my phone was a blessing. It’s incredible – dare I say: shocking – just how much I depend on my phone. Watch? Notebook? Alarm in the morning? ” Taschenrechner “? That’d be my phone. I’m not even sure my watch’s battery is still working. Most importantly, though, I actually took notice of things and people walking around. No, I didn’t meet my future husband [ watch the video if you haven’t] but it reminded me once more that I can carry my phone in my purse without looking at it every two minutes, too. I can’t risk missing Mr. Right when he does turn up one day, huh?

3. One of the fonts on my new phone is called Chocolate Cookie. Mmmh, cookies. Only I have yet to figure out the reasoning behind this. Can I get Cookies ‘n’ Cream or PB & J next?

4. If you couldn’t tell from the phone talk yet: I may or may not be slightly [read: completely] excited. The major change? Upgrading to the S4 gave me what feels like hundred times as much memory space. Hello, new apps I don’t actually need ;). Now the huge question is: to join or not to join Instagram? Every blend has been telling me I should forever but I’m a little scared to get completely addicted. Thoughts?

5. For now I need to start praticing my phone camera skills. Proof that I have a way to go – and that there’s a way for lazy smoothie makers to get their greens in:

20140702_Smoothie powders

That would be powdered broccoli, hibiscus, kale and spinach. I guess it makes sense keeping in mind fresh kale won’t be available for another three or four mounths over here and spinach isn’t found all around, either. Still… I don’t know.

6. Why in the world I as a non-coffee drinker happen upon all of those coffee links? I don’t know. What I do know is that there is a huge caffeeine-crazy bunch of you out there so here’s that for all coffee snobs: http://www.foodrepublic.com/2013/06/18/13-signs-youre-coffee-snob

7. You know my preference and the one thing coffee will never be able to compete with: wise words from the Yogi.

Giving is the art of life.

Giving is the art of life.

8. … and sharing is caring so I’ll keep sharing my Yogi wisdom with you. Let’s just say I have a nice backlog by now – the life of a tea addict.

9. I just noticed we haven’t talked Disney in a while so who’s your new BFF? If you’re looking for me I’ll be out in the woods with Pocahontas. (:

10. Happy Thursday and to all US readers: happy long weekend!

Happiness-inducing today: A text from a blend I hadn’t heard of in a while.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovinโ€™: Letโ€™s get living

 

 

Which app(s) are your favourites/ can you not live without?

Who’s your Disney best friend?

If you live in the US: What are your plans for 4th of July?

10 thoughts on “App-solutely addicted [Thinking out loud]

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    If you need me, I’ll be chillin’ in the library with Belle, apparently โค

    But YES you need to get Instagram! I go through phases with it, but it's a neat little way to see what people are up to outside of their blogs. And no big plans for this Canadian this weekend. Canada Day was on the 1st, and it's just not fair to have to try and celebrate on a Tuesday. Americans always get the better end of the stick!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Belle – okay, I should have seen that coming for you.
      Celebrating on a Tuesday? I can see how that just doesn’t work. Whenever a public holiday is coming up I’m keeping my fingers crossed it’ll fall on a Friday for a long weekend. In fact, I already checked 3rd of October was one and told my mum I’d be coming home that weekend. Fingers crossed I won’t have to work!

  2. Janessa says:

    I’ll apparently be third-wheeling with you and Pocahontas! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Instagram is most certainly, without a doubt, a huge yes. If you’re worried about becoming addicted, just set apart 5 minutes a few times a day to scroll through. If it gets bad, sign yourself out for a few days – it’s all good in the hood! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Personally, I have zero plans for the 4th. Maybe I’ll go and watch the fireworks at night but anything beyond that will be up to my parents. Imagine me trying to have my own barbecue…yikes.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The more the merrier for a little party in the forest. Let’s hope there’ll be three handsome guys joining in then, too ๐Ÿ˜€ .
      Aaah, I’m not too sure of my self control when it comes to limiting my online time but I’ll definitely mention it if I end up joining the Instagram crowd.

  3. Juli says:

    To Instagram or not to Instagram… that’s the question! Okay my thoughts: You should totally join it. It’s fun and you will get addicted for sure. But it’s a good kind of addiction. Really! There is so much to explore!
    Apparently I need to share my new BFF with Amanda. Luckily there’s enough stuff in the library for the three of us ๐Ÿ™‚
    If giving was the art of life you should call me artist from now on. At the moment I do nothing but giving. Time for some taking now …
    Have a lovely day!

  4. katalysthealth says:

    Powdered broccoli and kale, huh? That’s… interesting ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I vote YES on Instagram!! My Instagram is way different than my blog because its pretty much all fitness, but its so so fun! And addictive. SO maybe you shouldn’t do it lol

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m still on the fence. I was -this- close to downloading it today and then put it off to another day because I have a huge to-do list right now. (: But after that…

  5. Aja says:

    Losing technology can be devastating and exciting because then you get new technology and that’s just so much fun!
    I just discovered an app today for meditation called Breathe. You check in on how you’re feeling and it pulls up some short (like less than 10 minutes) guided meditations to help you through whatever you’re feeling.
    As for my Disney best friend, Lilo is coming to mind. I just feel like we’d totally get along.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      One thing you forgot to mention about new exciting technology, though: it can be confusing, haha. Or at least take some getting used to. Why in the world do the letters have the letters to be arranged in a different order from my old phone?? (:
      The app you mentioned sounds interesting. I’ve never tried meditation before but have only heard good things about it.

  6. Pingback: Let's get living

Leave a Reply

