[Un]typically me

Today’s not your average Wednesday. Not because it’s What I ate Wednesday [not a surprise anymore] but because it’s the 100th Vegan Wednesday. For any of you who haven’t noticed me linking up with this weekly foodie event yet: think of it as the German little sister [brother?] of Jenn’s link-up. Even if you’re neither vegan – because we areed it doesn’t matter – nor German the pictures on the boards alone are a great source of meal inspiration. Either way: Happy birthday, Vegan Wednesday! And now onto the food:

WIAWbutton_1

You might already know it but I really like spotting patterns in the meals I’m showing you on What I ate Wednesday.  The last days with their ongoing heat had me strain from my usual fare quite a bit. Starting at breakfast already. I’m usually not a cold oatmeal person – unless having to pack breakfast –  or in fact not even usually an oatmeal person. Bran is my favourite form of oats but sticking with Arman’s recipe for Tiramisu Oatmeal Pudding I went with rolled. Or -rolled-  with rolled?! If you know me the mention of Tiramisu should catch ýou by surprise if you’ve been reading for a while already. Coffee?! Yes, coffee.

Breakfast and more 009

Much to my own surprise I actually found I needed to add the whole amount of instant coffee listed after I’d started with 1/2 a teaspoon. The recipe turned out delicious though I think since the cocoa powder I use is a ‘darker’ kind – the best! – mine ooks a lot darker than Arman’s. Also, I modified the recipe using chia seeds instead of the egg and thickened soy yogurt instead of cream cheese for the frosting.  For whichever reason I felt extra productive the morning I ate this … Could it possibly have been the coffee?? So yes, I liked it but if you’re like me you’ll want to double the topping  [or simply not eat half of it before actually using it on the oatmeal]. I might have actually been pondering the purchase of a tin of instant coffee – for oats and baking purposes only. Who am I???

Speltberry salad_apricot chili dressing II

Another untypical meal was salad for lunch. Not the salad salad kind, though. A huge bowl based on leafy greens doesn’t attract me even in the current heat. What does are substantial salads like this packed with chewy speltberries,  chickpeas, sauteed cabbage and covered in a fruity dressing with a little kick … chili. Maybe it was running out of one of my favourite chocolates and longing for the spiciness? We know that makes me do strange things.  As if eating salad for lunch wasn’t untypical enough for me already for once I actually didn’t mind eating a dish cold after I finished shooting the pictures. The recipe will be up on Friday.

Speltberry salad_apricot chili dressing

Now onto the sweet part of today’s post: No celebratory cake for the 100th Vegan Wednesday on my part but how about something that’s much more typically me to celebrate? Ice cream. More specifically: the new vegan Choco Cookie Dough flavour by DasEis.

June 009

Finding vegan ice cream flavours aside from vanilla, strawberry and chocolate is hard enough already in Germany [can I get some sympathy from you lucky guys overseas please?!]. The more special – and challenging – part about this particular ice cream for me: a stellar ingredient list [only real and organic ingredients like oats, agave and almond butter plus it’s soy-free] and no nutrition label. Meaning no chance to worry about eating a certain number of calories simply because I didn’t know them. And because I didn’t have to share with anybody I ate it straight from the tub. The benefits of being single.

June 011

For any German readers: To be honest I found this a nice change from the usual sorbets but a little too sweet and the chocolate taste not intense enough for my liking. While this ice cream isn’t bad I likely won’t buy it again looking at the hefty price tag. If you’re curious, though, it’s currently on offer at denns. Just because it wasn’t for me doesn’t mean others won’t enjoy it.

Happiness-inducing today: Unplugging for a few hours.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Name one food-related thing/ habit that’s typically or untypically you!

Oatmeal, oat bran, steel-cut, … – tell me your favourite form of oats!

Because the question of favourite ice cream flavour is impossible to answer: What is the most unique ice cream flavour you’ve eaten so far?

22 thoughts on “[Un]typically me

  1. anaesrout01 says:

    One food-related thing that’s un-typically me? Umm…oh gosh! Avocado. (Though, I still won’t eat it raw. Gotta have it in a salad or in guacamole.) Another thing was spam; loved it as a kid, thought I hated it as I got older, but found out I still loved it. Lastly, I think the other un-typical thing was Nutella. I thought I’d hate it, but it’s great. I love hazelnut-flavored coffee, and I like chocolate, so it’s the perfect mix (am I right?).

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’d have worried if you’d said you didn’t like Nutella [aside from it being a little too sweet] because yes, chocolate-hazelnut anything is good in my book. In fact, if we had flavoured coffee over here and there was one of those I could see myself actually drinking it.
      On an unrelated note: Spam still makes me giggle every time I read it because I know what it means food-wise yet still have to think of junk mail first.

  2. dpageteach00 says:

    I absolutely love oats. All of them! I like to mix them up in mason jars of overnight oats:)

    I have not really had any weird I e cream flavors! I do love jimmies on my soft serve, which is a jersey thing (they are sprinkles. I like rainbow !)

    Hmmm everything is untypical for me as of late…. I recently dropped my vegan status!! I’m exploring my love of burgers currently!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s so cute sprinkles are called jimmies over there. Which reminds me I should pick up a package again sometime soon.
      Even though I’m a vegetarian I think it’s great you’re honoring your cravings. Keep surprising yourself with your current untypical-ness! (:

  3. Marfigs says:

    Your salad looks delish! I’m also terribly jealous of the vegan ice-cream – we don’t have any of that in our city, but there is some apparently in the Cape, so I know that if ever I travel to visit friends I’ll probably waddle back home after gorging myself on actual restaurant vegan food!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Knowing where you’re coming from in terms of ice cream ‘deprivation’ I wouldn’t blame you one bit. In fact, I hope you get to visit your friends soon – and explore vegan food heaven.

  4. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    OMG I need that vegan ice cream in my life- looks so divine! I think the most unique flavored ice cream I’ve eaten would be red bean..and it really wasn’t good at all! Something untypical of my current diet is that I am just not feeling oatmeal at all…which is all too strange! I’ve been getting my oat fix in the form of waffles or flatbread lately.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Red bean sounds really… interesting. No, honestly, I mean it. Not even too surprising among all the bean-based desserts in blog land but I can imagine it was a little too strange. Maybe not sweet enough? I remember I used a LOT of sugar when serving a white bean-based pie to my family years ago.

  5. Ms.J says:

    You beat me to the Tiramisu Oatmeal pudding! At least you enjoy coffee in SOME form; I would have started to worry otherwise. Dark cocoa powder? Yesss. Whether it is in oatmeal or ice cream – intense chocolate flavor is the way to go.
    As a fellow salad unlover (to count as a meal) I’ll say your interesting spin sounds delicious!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      How is it even possible I was faster than you there?? (:
      Well, I’m not entirely sure you could say I fully enjoy coffee. I sweetened it very generously and have to admit I just can’t get over that bitter-sour (??) aftertaste.
      Actually, I thought of you when I stated what I didn’t like about the ice cream. Because I remember you being shocked at the fact my favourite ice cream flavour is not chocolate.

  6. swissfitchick says:

    I want that breakfast now!! Even if it is vegan 🙂 It looks super delicious and yes, the topping – always double.
    The ICe Cream looks pretty delish too – pity that my teeth hate Ice Cream, so it’s off my list 😦

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      If that’s any less scary – because vegan isn’t normal as both of us and my dad know 😉 – you could always try Arman’s non-vegan original. With twice the topping.
      It makes a little sad your teeth keep you from enjoying ice cream. Not fair.

  7. Cara says:

    Hm. I have seen DasEis quite often during the last weeks and am still keen on trying it, even though I am usually not too crazy about ice cream. As this brand is produced over here, it pops up in nearly every store. Maybe this will give me the chance to try a smaller amount…
    Thank you for your wonderful post! Happy 100th vegan wednesday 🙂

Leave a Reply

