Don’t let your [blog’s] size define you.

How is it Thursday already?! Time for some good old Thinking out loud again I figure. Here’s to hoping Amanda won’t mind me once more not pouring a potpourri of mixed thoughts into today’s post but sharing some thoughts I had following up last week’s post.

Thinking-Out-Loud

About that last post: I will say it was one I wasn’t sure about posting. Yes,  it was a topic on my mind and one that mattered to me.  But would it for others? The comments you left and thoughts you expressed made me glad I did and I enjoyed reading every single one. The overthinking and hesitation is a remainder of my early blogging days when I hardly had any readers yet – normal, obviously – and at times considered giving up again. The reason I didn’t is probably that a) I know I should first and foremost write for myself [honestly,  though, who is fully content with that?] and  b) if a post of yours makes just one other person relate to it, think, laugh or get hungry you can consider your blogging duty fulfilled and yourself successful.

SourceTake it with a grain of salt.

It’s easy to get discouraged not only as a new blogger but even if you’ve been around for a while yet don’t have dozens of comments on every post or the most followers ever.  But here’s some perspective: Personally, I read a huge number of blogs – not daily but if I like one I will stop by regularly.  Among the many great posts I’ve come across by now there were some that not only got me thinking in the moment I read them but get stuck in my mind and will have me come back to them. If you’ve seen my good good links before you’ll know these aren’t solely ‘big’ bloggers’ posts.  Just today I came across a great post that changed the way I saw a topic on a not [yet] as well-known blog. And recipes from smaller blogs I tried have turned out just as delicious as those from more popular sources.

It’s not about how many followers you have and not even about the number of comments you – or I as a smaller blogger myself,  really – get. In fact, what matters more to me is reading other people’s stories or hear their thoughts on a topic. Quality over quantity. All that said: yes, I need to remind myself of this,  too, at times.  But I feel when I’m passionate about a topic just writing it out feels great.   The moral of the story: Don’t make yourself smaller than you are. There’s always somebody who will get more comments on their posts 

Your post might just find somebody in need of the advice you’re offering. The random fun story that happened to you could possibly cheer somebody in a funk up. And that ‘almost too simple to call it a recipe’ no-bake cookie you posted?  Somebody else probably just had a craving for something sweet but didn’t feel like turning on the oven or buying a dozen special ingredients.  If you enjoy yourself blogging others will be interested in reading.

On a last note if you do plan on becoming a big and popular blogger: they all started small, too, so never loose hope. And many more experienced/ big bloggers will happily give you advice on how to grow your own little space in the wide web. Don’t give up your plans of blog world domination just yet 😉 .

Happiness inducing today: The two most adorable chihuahuas a man walked alongside my apartment. Too sad that for once it wasn’t me scared of big dogs but the little ones too afraid of me.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

No questions today. Just whichever thoughts you have regarding the topic.

15 thoughts on “Don’t let your [blog’s] size define you.

  1. Ms.J says:

    A potpourri of mixed thoughts; what an aptly wonderful description of the regular randomness! That aside, I thoroughly enjoy whichever way you choose to roll. Errh now I’m thinking about rolled oats – bummer. I derive the same satisfaction at just getting my thoughts out there..regardless on who will read it. At the same time though, I do hope that whatever I happen to be rambling about resonates with someone. Or like you said; serves as a cheerer-upper or sense of ease in not being alone. Yes really, comments are the cherry on top of an already spectacular cake..I myself at times do not comment because I’m just not feeling it; while experiencing a silent thrill after reading a well-written post 😀 .
    Oh and I need to add: it was rather exciting to see you branch out from your beloved mango sorbet yesterday 😉 ..despite the flavor not doing it for you!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, you’d be so proud of me for having Peanut Caramel ice cream today and really enjoying it.
      I like how you notice even the smallest details – I just had to use the term potpourri once it’d gotten into my mind – in every post. (:
      Let me assure you that I’ve been able to relate to many of your ramblings. Take this as a demand for you to keep posting ;).

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    It’s so true that you never know who your post might touch, especially since they may not necessarily leave a comment letting you know… But blogging really is a difficult realm to become successful in, and even when success does come, it takes a long time and a lot of hard work. I think being passionate about what you’re doing is key in times like those, because that and grit are the only things that’ll get you through when you start questioning what the point is in what you’re doing. But you’re right that everyone has to start somewhere 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Seeing my stats and likes in comparison to the lack of comments is a little weird at times. Then again I’m guilty of reading but not commenting, too. If I really enjoyed a post, though, I will share it in my Sunday link posts.
      Success in blogging clearly isn’t easy and there will always be more successful people. Having fun and finding new friends in a good start already.

  3. Jen @ Bagels to Broccoli says:

    Thank you so much for this! This was amazing timing for me; I’ve been blogging regularly and really putting quite a bit of work into it for the last four months or so and have been a bit discouraged seeing that I only have a (very) small number of followers and minimal amounts of comments on my posts. I appreciate your encouraging us to keep things in perspective when it comes to blogging – all good things take time, effort, and dare I say it…luck, sometimes.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Luck most definitely plays a role in blogging succcess. It doesn’t always seem ‘fair’. Like when a more well-known blogger gets more comments on – let’s say – a post about their groceries while a less popular one who writes about a thought-provoking issue gets just one or two. Then again it’s similar in real life at times, too.
      But, yes, you’re not defined by your blog and if you enjoy writing and interacting with however many others that’s what matters. On that note: Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts!

  4. Georgie Morley says:

    Great post! There’s so many great reasons to blog, but being “blog famous” shouldn’t be the goal, but the outcome of a bigger goal: to touch people and help yourself. I love reading your blog, glad we virtually connected. -Georgie

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      So true. If any people – and I’m hoping nobody goes about it that way – start blogging with the intention of becoming famous they just don’t understand what it’s about. In my very subjective opinion. Following up on what you said it’s connecting with others that has been the greatest ‘success’ for me. I’m glad we did, too.

  5. katalysthealth says:

    This is actually something I’ve been really battling lately. I used to have a lot more views and comments on my posts and then POOF! They just dropped dramatically. At first I wondered if I had done something wrong but then I remembered why I started my blog in the 1st place. Its my little corner of the net, where I can put myself out there and be a part of a community. Who cares about the comments and page views? And hey, if I can influence or help even ONE person, that’s more than enough for me.

  6. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    This is a great post and one that I’m sure many bloggers can identify with to some extent. I think it’s important to get back to your roots every now and then and remind yourself why you started to blog. Personally blogging is a hobby for me which is why I don’t let stats get to me..nor have I turned it into something I “need” to do.

Leave a Reply

