WIAW: It’s the season for…

Seasons… Who exactly decided that Germany clearly has [to deal with] them and people overseas [or at least in the US] don’t? Case in point: Why in the world do people have to post awesome kale recipes right now? Making me long for winter as the season where I’ll be able to get my hands on it again. Okay, I’m not really longing for winter because as hard as staying cool during the heat is at times I’d still rather take that than chilly temperatures. Plus, let’s not forget about summer’s swoon-worthy bounty. Jenn would be proud of how much I’ve been following this [old but good] What I ate Wednesday motto. Kale or not summer is the season for many wonderful things, too …

wiawloveyourveggiesmonthbutton2

It’s [probably not] the season for… stews

With a lot of produce at hand but no idea what to have for lunch – choices, oh choices – I scoured the internet. I browsed an Austrian blog I’d found via Vegan Wednesday and had long meant to cook recipes from – how not with vegan Strawberry Tiramisu being one of them?! Actually,  I had my heart set on lasagna but that’s not the best craving when your [overflowing] pantry is lacking lasagna noodles. Instead, stew it was. Petra’s Arabian bean stew was just what I wanted [lasagna aside]: quick to prepare,  including both vegetables and legumes and delicious.  I used some butternut squash, cabbage, cauliflower and mushrooms.I used some butternut squash, cabbage, cauliflower and mushrooms. Served with a side of polenta [that’s in the pot in the background]. So while stews are technically autumn and winter dishes using [mostly] seasonal vegetables made up for it.

Petzig_Arabischer Bohneneintopf

It’s the season for… all the berries!

Snacks lately have been lots of berries – and how could they not? It was actually the popularity of them all over the blog world that made me give raspberries another chance. Not like I didn’t enjoy them but previously I wouldn’t have minded their absence from my plate too much. Now? Give me all the raspberries – seeds stuck between teeth? who cares, really? – while I can still find them.

July 23rd 019

Yesterday I employed a trick I just picked up from Chelsea: bring my own box. I generally shop with tote bags to avoid plastic but hadn’t thought of skipping the clamshells berries come in at the market. Luckily, the vendor didn’t give me any strange looks for this though I assume none of his other customers brought their own containers. Another bonus was that as he poured the berries into my box there were a few moldy ones at the bottom and he replaced them with a few others.  Win-win!

Raspberries_box

It’s the season for… vegetable-packed versions of classics

Not the prettiest of dishes but SO good and satisfying was this easy-peasy [lame pun fully intended] vegan Gnocchi ‘n’ cheese.  I’ve probably mentioned it before but as a German I don’t feel authorized to judge any vegan Mac ‘n’ cheese for authenticity. What I -do- know,  though, is that this vegetable-packed version was downright delicious. Peas seem like such a classic childhood add-in and I’ve grown quite fond of them lately. I’m sure my mum wished I liked them as much when I was younger. And can we take a short moment to talk about -how- good gnocchi are? I picked up a package of vegan pumpkin gnocchi [for any German readers: by Pasta Nuova] at the health food store on a whim. They are perfect.  Doughy, satisfying little dumplings. And the sauce is [not-so now that I’m telling you] secretly filled with vegetables. My mum should be really proud now. Actually, I feel I need to ask her if she played the ‘hidden veggies’ game at lunch when my siblings and I were little…

Pumpkin-cheesy gnocchi

If you’re looking for another way to up your vegetable intake [I am at times, too] or just want some uncheesy cheesiness look out for the recipe on Friday.

It’s [always] the season for Yogi wisdom

Ending not on a sweet but wise note – yes, the Yogi has been talking to me again. Interpret this in whichever way and if you feel like share in the comments what it means for you in your current situation.

Patience will pay off_Yogi wisdom

Patience pays off.

Either way: Happy Wednesday!

Happiness-inducing today: Sharing my sister’s excitement about a mini vacation she’s taking.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What’s your favourite mac ‘n’ cheese recipe – vegan or not?

Is there any dish you’ve been eating over and over again lately?

How do you avoid plastic or other packaging when shopping? Share your tricks!

15 thoughts on “WIAW: It’s the season for…

  1. Ms.J says:

    Strawberry tiramisu? Hmph, I feel almost cheated in being unaware of it’s existance.
    Produce pumped stews fits into any season in my opinion – playing around with the choice of add-ins – as you have displayed. Of course I am all about the warm and hearty [with the odd smoothie thrown in] these days, even with our mild winter. Uhm yeah..this is the same human who was squealing with excitement at the prospect of the chill arriving. Seriously though, I do love SA’s winter – most of the time 😉 .
    Its not the day for Yogi wisdom for me; the brain feels like fudge for some reason..actually I know -exactly- why: late nights and early rising in a few whirlwind days of celebrating catches up to one.

  2. swissfitchick says:

    Yes to all the berries!! I am not a huge fan of raspberries, but I am obsessed with blueberries. And CHERRIES! Wait. Are cherries berries? I have no clue. But I love them.
    AND I was cooking my eggy oats with oatbran lately thanks to your recommendation. I love it!

  3. Juli says:

    Oh yes, raspberries are wonderful and I like you eat them as if there was no tomorrow. In the case of ripe raspberries this is even a possibility. The idea of bringing your own tupperware is genius. I hate to have produced so much waste after a grocery shopping trip.
    You sparked a severe gnocchi craving here 😉 I am looking forward to the veggie recipe!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Goodness, yes, raspberries are finicky little ones. Those shown in the second picture were on their last legs the day after I bought them already. And Chelsea’s tip of bringing own boxes is seriously awesome.

  4. anaesrout01 says:

    I love all those things; stews, veggies, berries & tea. I need to brew myself some tea when I get off work, come to think of it. I also need to eat up that kale I have in the fridge…

Leave a Reply

