Currently… August

Even with an as-of-yet non-existent blogging schedule it’s that time of the month again. Wait, not that time. You know what I mean: it’s August already [insert comment on how fast time is flying by] so why not give an update on current life happenings?

Current book: Too many and none. I keep piling up books from the library and attempting to read all of them yet not being completely drawn in by any of them. Right now I found one that is acceptable for a quick mindless summer novel. A sweet nothing [in a good way] in written form if you will.

Sweet like sugary frosting as you’d guess from the title already: How to Eat a Cupcake is the story of two women who used to be best friends as children – Julia, the careless child of rich parents and Annie, their housekeeper’s daugther – but broke apart due to happenings in their teenage years. The story is how they meet again and – despite their anger – decide to open up a café together which involves quite some drama [men, secrets, vandalism, …]. It is told interchangeably from Julia’s and Annie’s perspective which is a way of writing I enjoy.

Current drink: Alpro Coconut drink.

July 23rd 024

I used to only drink calorie-free everything but how much fun is that in the long run?  At first try this seemed way too sweet for me despite containing no added sugar. Now, however, I’m completely smitten with it and will pour myself a cup several times a day. Creamy, sweet, refreshing. I wish I liked it less because a) it’s a bit expensive for going through a litre in three days and b) I soon won’t be able to get it anymore [see current procrastination].

Current food[s]: Not new ones but rediscoveries have been the motto for me  all around lately.

Hazelnut butter.

Picture dump_July 032

There are no words. Or maybe: hand me a spoon, please. I’d been putting off purchasing a new jar for months because it’s ridiculously expensive.  So when I noticed it was on offer at the health food store I had to pick it up. That was only days ago and half the jar is gone already.

Raspberries. Their season might be over soon so I need to make sure to get my fair share in while I still can. Or hope for my mum’s to grow soon so I’ll be able to scope up a nice lot when I’m at my parents’s soon. She grows ‘late’ raspberries which ripen around the end of August or even a little later. Meaning that by combining the store-bought variety and hers I get to lengthen the season. Win!

July 23rd 016

Peas: It’s no secret I like legumes but peas are one of those unsuspecting ones I tend to forget about. Childhood memories with every pea I eat because they made frequent appearances on my plate when I was a little one. But now I’m quite fond of them as you might have noticed in the cheesy vegan gnocchi recipe.

Current nail colour: Essie’s Madison Ave-hue was on my nails a lot again recently. I’m about to change colours again, though.

Currently_nails

Current blessing: The weather. It’s been perfect these past days: sunny but not too hot. Today actually being the exception because Germany is currently drowing. It’s pouring buckets.

Current needs: Somebody to help me pack or Mary Poppins’ witchcraft to shrink all my belongings and make packing easier. When in the world did I gather all those kitchen gadgets, clothes and food 😀 ??

Current procrastination: packing. I had yet to mention it on the blog but I’m about to move in a little over a week. Right now the sadness of leaving the city and beautiful apartment I’ve grown to feel home in during the last four years is overwhelming and putting a damper on my mood. It doesn’t help that my new place will be in the middle of nowhere with hardly anything around and I’m not sure about the job itself, either. There’s a lot going on in my mind right now but I’m still ttrying to figure it our myself. Trying to stay positive but it’s not easy.

Current bane of my existence: Fruit flies. Vegetarian or not: I respect many creatures but fruit flies are none of those.

Current wish list: Not having to move. Okay, as this one’s out of question: Family time. Aside from sporadic meet-ups with my mum I haven’t been with my family for longer since I moved back into my apartment in February. I’ll likely spent the time in between moving and starting my new job at my parents’ place in the countryside.

Current link: Lifehack. Procrastination? Maybe. A lucky bag of awesome advice? Absolutely.

I hope your Monday started in a marvelous fashion and the week will follow suit there for all of you!

Happiness inducing today: A chat with a random stranger [more on that in a future post!].

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

Any packing tips? How do you decide what to throw away and what to keep [also memory-wise]?

What’s your current

  • book
  • food
  • nail colour
  • wish list
  • blessing?
7 thoughts on “Currently… August

  1. Ms.J says:

    “How to eat a cupcake” does sound interesting; I too enjoy getting into the minds of both main characters.
    Hazelnut butter? As if I needed anymore enticement to lure me to Germany, hah. It’s like the situation with Macadamia and white Almond butter on my end of the world – cannot turn it down when the price is lowered even slightly. Hmm, a trip that I’m not excited for would have me procrastinating the packing as well…mustering up the most cheerful of vibes to send your way Miss P.
    Current food would be: smoothies. I’ve just had thee ol’ braces tightened, so not the most happiest in the mouth right now.
    Current blessing: a positive frame of mind. I don’t know how long it will last, but I’m eagerly soaking in the contentment that comes with it.

  2. Kaitlin says:

    Oh I totally want to check out that book! Love those types. As for currents

    book – cuckoo’s calling
    food – just ate cherries but loving carrots and almond butter (odd I know)
    nail colour – plain 😦 need to change this before summer colors are out (socially haha)
    wish list – a run in central park and a good pair of boots for fall
    blessing? – to have everyone feel confident in themselves and less self-doubt. Does that count? 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

