Sweet and cheesy. Cheesy. And sweet. [WIAW]

Alternative title: The three cheese edition. Cheese has been back in action lately. While I didn’t eat all of them in the same day there are three kinds of cheese in three meals today.  I’m writing the intro after finishing the remaining post – typical – so as I’ll get wordy enough below I’ll keep it short and sweet [not cheesy] here. It’s What I ate Wednesday so let’s talk food!

WIAW

Sweet and cheesy [cream cheese at breakfast]

There’s a new sweet breakfast favourite in town. Pretty much the day after he posted it – but still sneakily including it in my good good links  – I tried Arman’s Cinnamon Roll Oatmeal Pudding.  Unlike what the name suggests it’s prepared with oat branmy favourite. Not following Arman’s suggestion I’ve been eating this hot because that way it reminds me of the cinnamon-topped semolina pudding of my childhood. I -did- follow the original idea of using cream cheese for the topping instead of my vegan substitute this time, though. Wow. I never new how much I’d missed cream cheese before plus it perfectly complemented the hot cinnamon oat bran here.  Unfortunately, breakfast is the hardest to photograph meal for me. No high expectations here especially if you know my preferred way of eating it.

Cinnamon Roll Oat Bran

Something about not being hungry when I wake up but then suddenly feeling very much so once the scent of whatever I prepare fills the room. Trust me: you wouldn’t want to spend another minute waiting to eat if you smelled this. Not only does this scent heavenly – who doesn’t like cinnamon?! – but it also wins in the taste department. Granted, I’ve never had a Cinnamon Bun yet I can say it Maybe I should come up with a more elaborate rating system for recipes I tried?! Polkadots instead of stars to keep it unique? Kidding. Until then: two thumbs up.

Cheesy [Romadur at lunch]
Cheese and I have been on-off since I reintroduced it into my diet. Most lunches are still vegan but lately I’ve found myself craving cheese and after playing it down for a while caved. To stink spice things up I branched out of my safe and known – admittedly even pre-vegetarian very limited – cheese territory and bought a new-to-me kind.

Romadur_Cauliflower

Romadur is a more aromatic – some might say ‘stinky’– cheese typical in a certain area of Germany. Yesterday I threw together some favourites for an easy casserole using it. Caramelized onions, cauliflower, speltberries,  peas and fresh parsley topped with the Romadur. Hit the spot. A newfound cheese favourite and I’m tempted to go back to the fridge for another slice as a snack once I finish this sentence post. Hey, I need to get my calcium in after all.

Sweet [cottage cheese]

A sweet snack I actually tried weeks ago already for the first time was Amanda’s Cookies ‘n’ Cream Cheesecake Dip. In three words: Try it now! I’m usually not a fan of actual baked cheesecake and don’t think I ever was but I do like all kinds of dips. Most of that time they’re of the savoury variety so it was a welcome change to go the sweet route here. Especially since it’s summer and while eating plain fruit is delicious already pairing it with ‘cheesecake’ takes snack time up a notch.

July 2nd 029

Thumbs up for this recipe, too. Okay, don’t let the picture below fool you. I actually ate most of the dip straight up with a spoon. Another win for not having to share. A little more detailed: the combination of Greek yogurt and blended cottage cheese makes for a creamy, slightly tangy base which – once sweetened – is a perfect blank sheet for further flavor experimentation. But what more than Cookies & Cream could you want? So good. The perfect use for the mini Oreos I’d bought a while back an,  noticed I didn’t enjoy much on their own.

Oreo cheesecake dip

Talking about all of that cheese I’m hungy again so I’ll track down a snack and then settle for some What I ate Wednesday reading over at Jenn’sprocrastination at its finest. I’ll see you again tomorrow for Thinking out loud. Until then:

Happy Wednesday and happy [cheese] eating!

Happiness-inducing today: Talking to my grandma – even if just on the phone – in the morning.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Do you eat ‘dessert for breakfast’-type oats? If yes: what are your favourites?

Have you ever eaten fruit with some kind of [sweet] dip – aside from peanut butter? Let me know any good recipes.

What are your favourite kinds of cheese? 

7 thoughts on “Sweet and cheesy. Cheesy. And sweet. [WIAW]

  1. dpageteach00 says:

    Oh I love this post. All of my favorite things!

    I love my oats. My favorite so far are apple cinnamon with pb. Mmmmm gooey goodness

    I love fruit with yogurt dip. Apple or peach with cottage cheese.

    I love Swiss for sandwiches , feta for salads and one lets and cottage cheese with apples!!!!!

    Can’t wait to try Armans recipe!!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Try Arman’s recipe! I’d intended to force myself to change breakfast up today but then went for it the probably fourth day in a row. So good.
      I actually think I’ve never had Swiss cheese. Maybe cheese from Switzland, haha, but not the one called cheese. Or what kind is it???

  2. Ms.J says:

    On the rare ocassion I don’t feel hungry in the AM – the act of preparing breakfast [even when we aren’t talking cinnamon bun scents] is enough to stir up the apetite…so yes, I was murmuring in agreement to your statement. A polkadotting rating system sounds fabulous actually – you should look into that. Also, cinnamon rolls…gaahhh they are gorgoeus. On my last trip to the Mother City I downed a chocolate Cinnabon for supper one day 🙂 .You know I’m on the dessertish breakfast train; apple pie oatmeal is a firm favourite. Not to partake in false advertising: it isn’t “apple pie”..I simply enjoy calling it that 😀 .
    Oh gosh, aromatic is a nice term to place on “stinky” cheeses haha. Smell can be a huge turn off for me when it comes to dairy; Cheddar proclaims top spot.
    The cookies and cream cheesecake dip!?! Another firm nudge to get on it already. As an ex oreo-monster I -for some reason- cannot enjoy them on their lonesome these days either..but in that, yes!

  3. swissfitchick says:

    Oh cheese…..my love. Gruyere and Parmesan. Horribly enough, Parmesan isn’t Swiss, but I just love it SO much!
    I definitely need to try Amanda’s Cheesecake Dip. You probably know it already, but I am in love with Magerquark – mixed with raw cacao and stevia, or even better honey. SO decadent.

  4. katalysthealth says:

    mmm cheese…..one of my favorite foods in the world 🙂
    And seriously greek yogurt + cottage cheese = the thickest, most amazing smoothies in the world. Or ice cream as I like to make it!

  5. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I honestly don’t know if I could ever pick a favourite cheese. I adore cream cheese, especially if it’s paired with something sweet like jam. But then there’s parmesan, which adds amazing flavour to anything. And ohhhh the creaminess of havarti. Yup. I wouldn’t enjoy a life without cheese. Heck, even a simple mozza is great on pizza or nachos.

Leave a Reply

