With a little help from mum [Mum-ables]

If you’re like me you grew up never or hardly ever  – in my case: that one exception when we traveled to England in 2000 – eating the once popular Lunchables. Is anybody else surprised those still exist?? Just me? They apparently got an upgrade because my box looked somewhat like this – and was yet more proof some things seem [way] more exciting than they are. More often than not it was mum-ables for me growing up: school lunches packed by my mum. Sandwiches on local whole-wheat bread with cheese or deli meats, some fruit, the occasional chocolate croissant and water or juice in my Emil bottle. Oh, the memories … but I digress.

The mum-ables for today’s What I ate Wednesday and Vegan Wednesday are different from that: meals my mum [and her well-stocked freezer] enabled me to create. Ergo: mum-ables. Unfortunately most of the meals prepared by my mum for a belated birthday feast on Saturday escaped my camera. But every one the dishes and snacks in today’s post came – in one way or the other  – about thanks to my mum. And her garden and fridge but you’ll see what I mean.

wiawloveyourveggies_andyourmum

Breakfast with a little help by my mum means … kabocha again. But not any. We’re talking homegrown kabocha from my mum’s huge vegetable garden. No matter how good – and aside from the very bad ones I’ve found – some of the squash at stores it nothing beats homegrown. It’s about ten dozen times creamier with that coveted ‘dry’ texture. Not clearly visible in the picture but I’m not patient when it comes to eating so you’ll have to trust my word on that one here.

Kabocha_breakfast

As a fun fact the very first kabocha I ate actually was an accident. Or in the growing state at least. About five years ago my mum attempted to grow pumpkin for the first time. Just for me because the remainder of the family doesn’t care much for it. Since I’d only know Red Kuri squash until then that was our choice from the seed catalogue. But when the first little pumpkins started to grow they were … green. I’d only heard of kabocha on Katie’s blog before but actually didn’t make the connection in the first place. Fast forward to today I couldn’t be happier the people at the gardening shop mailed us the ‘wrong’ seeds.

Dad's birthday

From left to right: Peperonata – Whole Grain Couscous Salad – dried apricots soaked in apple juice

This up there would be the only pictures I got of everything my mum prepared on Saturday.  She made sure to keep the spread centered around vegetarian or even vegan dishes with only some meat on the side. The dried apricots actually were meant to go in a cream cheese dip my mum had planned to make but didn’t end up. So I’ve been snacking on them for the past few days whenever a craving for something sweet hit. And when I wasn’t raiding the snack cabinets or the garden for a sweet and savoury snack. Tomatoes from my mum’s garden are proof that sometimes it’s hard to tell if they are a fruit or vegetable. Sweet like candy. Almost.

tomatoes_Mamas Garten

“It’s difficult to think anything but pleasant thoughts while eating a homegrown tomato.” – Lewis Grizzard

Another lunch was inspired by digging deep in the freezer. You will not ask me for the age of this gem right here: Gardein Chick’n Scallopini. I know it but ignorance is bliss and given I ate it earlier today [Tuesday] and went stomach ache-free afterwards I’ll proclaim having an iron stomach once again. Plus, it was delicious though I’ll admit the very meat-like texture is a tad weird still.

August 116

… and went into a dish that is falling into the ‘looks disgusting and tastes amazing’ category. The base was made up of easy creamed spinach [an onion sautéd in coconut oil, frozen chopped spinach, almond milk, nutmeg, salt + pepper plus garden-fresh tomato and some chickpeas], topped with one of the Gardein chick’n breast sautéd in coconut oil, some mushrooms and topped with kabocha puree. Yes, I realize it looks nasty but if you’ve ever blended kabocha you know the nice green makes-Hulk-jealous shade it turns out to be. Looks aside: File this in the ‘I could eat this over and over again’ category.

Kabocha_creamed spinach_Gardein

Dessert also courtesy of my mum’s immense freezer [not even a close comparison with the shoe-box-sized freezer compartment of my fridge]: lemon sorbet. Not homemade but she keeps it there for spontaneous visits by guests or for me to eat when the remainder of the family dines on tiramisu made from scratch. And I’m not lying: while this sorbet was nice it’s dishes like my mum’s homemade tiramisu that make it hard for me to stick with not eating eggs. As a vegan dessert option, though, this sorbet is good enough in a pinch.

Lemon sorbet_ice

Plans for the next days or at latest the weekend include homemade ice cream because I’m finally reunited with my ice cream maker. We’ll see how that goes but if you know any good vegan recipes let me know! Our preferences are of the rich and creamy non-fruit kind.

Until then: Happy eating and happy Wednesday!

 

Happiness-inducing today: The summer sunshine reappearing after heavy rain.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

When at your parents’ place are there any foods you’re always making good use of? Assuming most of us are living on their own and only visit their parents on occasion.

Do you grow any fruit or vegetables in your garden? I wish I had one. Then again, I didn’t inherit my mum’s green thumb so I figure I’m better off without one.

Do you know any great vegan tiramisu recipes? I’ve only ever once followed one that was a far cry from the original so I’ve been discouraged since.

18 thoughts on “With a little help from mum [Mum-ables]

  1. anaesrout01 says:

    Your happiness-inducing fact for today makes me think of how I felt yesterday when I walked out of the apartment and saw the bright sunshine! It made me super-happy, because for the past week it was nothing but rain!! Have a great Tuesday! 😀

  2. Ms.J says:

    Love the adjustment to the WIAW logo! So cute.
    I guess I should take a cue from you and quit giving my Mum’s veggie plot the stank eye [for soaking up outrageous amounts of money – it’s Mum’s “baby”]… It is delivering – slowly but surely – after all; spinach, coriander, chillies, among other herby things.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh! Why didn’t I/ we think about this earlier?? Ask your mum to grow kabocha for you – problem solved! The expert – my mum – said she assumed the climate over there would be perfect for those squashes.

      • Ms.J says:

        Wha!? Ohmygoose, I’m going to have to seriously propose that to Mum. Oooh I can imagine her surprise at my sudden “interest” in her garden! Your Mum’s a gem 🙂 .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I told her you were impressed and she shrugged it off asking if growing your own squash wasn’t a regular in the blog world. (:
      So go do it! Or, well, find yourself a garden first, haha.

  3. Cat says:

    Well I’m ‘temporarily’ living back at home with my parents so this doesn’t really count, but I do love utilizing my mum’s veg and herb garden! Oh and btw Lunchables? I can’t believe they still exist either! Not entirely sure how they can be classified as food… I did love them as a kid though!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right … Were they even food? In hindsight I’m glad my mum disapproved and made only that one exception. I don’t even remember it but know I was very disappointed.
      Making use of mums’ gardens is the best. Especially in summer with everything in full bloom.

  4. Emily says:

    AH! Gardein! I didn’t know you had access to it over there.
    Their products are actually the only faux-meats I can tolerate. The rest taste…weird. Although, even with theirs I can’t handle the faux “burgers”– they’re too similar to the real thing. Bleh.

    If you ever come across their crispy chick’n tenders, snatch them up! So delicious!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I wish Gardein was available over here. Rather, we can only find it at Veganz which is far from where I live. Maybe a good thing because a single bag costs as much as eating out …
      And yes, it’s a little scarily authentic, isn’t it?? When I tried the first bite of the chick’n I wasn’t sure I liked it for being that close to the real thing.

Leave a Reply

