The Perks of Being a Country Bumpkin [Thinking out loud]

Home is where the heart is.

Just one of those cliché sayings you’re rolling your eyes at? I probably did years ago, too. These past days, though, I found this to be so true again and it gave me some sense of relief. Like I mentioned before I’m moving and currently living in between two apartments spending time at my parents’. I was – and, yes, still am – sad to leave the city I spend four years in. Four years of becoming more independent. Four years of good and bad memories. Four years of learning and laughing. Four years of making mistakes and new friends. Leaving the city that holds all of these memories behind is hard. But these past days at my parents’ I – unlike when I’d visited them since moving to said city before – didn’t miss anything. Because right here, in the countryside and with my family is where home still is and always will be. It’s a relief to notice that this is the one home I will never leave behind and be able to resort to anytime. Today’s Thinking out loud is a little hommage to the place I love the most and that will always be my home. Thanks to Amanda for hosting a party where even the most random posts are welcome [I hope ;)].

Thinking-Out-Loud

And while I try not to label myself there’s one I’ll bear forever: I’m a country bumpkin and I like it. Not that my parents were farmers [far from it] or I grew up on a farm – unless you count living in an old farmhouse. Yet I’m still a countryside girl. Because it means home is where …

 

… you can start your day steps from the house with a walk through silence. No cars, no traffic.

August 20th 021

or a silence only disturbed by the mooing of a curious flock of cows that love running along and playing chase when you run along or come closer to beg for food when you walk. Only not that day you’re bringing your camera so here’s a picture when I had already passed them.

Cows

… bikes are the preferred means of transport and cars respect you. Cycling in the city still scarces me. Plus, only in the countryside you can drive through endless fields, forests and get your thoughts sorted out along the ride. Aside from running I find my best ideas and calmth while mindlessly cycling around.

August 20th 016

… your mum grows you vegetables in her garden. The one you’ve been crawling about in when you were still a wee little one but sadly never acctually grew anything in. Mostly because you lack a green thumb.

Kabocha_mum's garden

… raspberries come straight from said garden and don’t require a trip to the store [and paying half a fortune for a small clamshell].

August 20th 014

And home is where you’re enjoying life with the pe0ple you love most. We’re not a perfect family – what is that even? – but every argument is always followed by hugs and reconciliation. It might take some time because all of us are stubborn but isn’t that what we love our familes for? Even if they don’t want to see their pictures on your blog. (:

Autumn walk

Happiness-inducing today: Sewing the first ever pants of my life [pictures to come!]. I might not become a seamstress like my mum but I didn’t do too bad.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Did you grow up in the countryside or the city? While I obviously enjoyed life in the countryside I’m not saying city life was bad. Both have their perks.

Where or what is ‘home’ for you? The place you grew up? The first city or town you lived in on your own? Or … ?

 

15 thoughts on “The Perks of Being a Country Bumpkin [Thinking out loud]

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I grew up in the city, but I would have preferred to grow up in the country. My city has gotten a whole lot bigger over the past handful of years, and it’s honestly too big for me now — too loud, too crowded, too suffocating. I’ll probably end up moving to somewhere more quiet in the next few years because I kind of need that peace in my life. And home to me is the home I grew up in… the home that my parents are now planning on selling as they move into retirement. Waaaaaah!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right, I remember you mentioned that. I’d freak out if my parents announced they wanted to sell the house and move. In fact, I already let them know I wanted to inherit the house at some point so they’d better stay there, haha. How much longer is it until your parents will pack up and leave?
      The peacefulness is one of the biggest differences to life in the city and the one most noticable for me. I sleep eons better when I’m at my parents and feel more relaxed all throughout just because life over there isn’t as rushed.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Absolutely. I was a super cautious child so it took me quite a while but once you get the drift you’ll never unlearn it again. And it’s totally worth learning because cycling is so much fun.

  2. katalysthealth says:

    So glad to hear that you are doing well with your new home. Ive been growing up in 2 different places all my life since my parents have been divorced since I was 2, which means part time I was in the city and half I was in the country. The country is where my heart soars. I cant stand traffic, and buildings, and people. Give me orchards, spiders, lizards and cows any day!! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Living partly in the two areas sounds like a good blend to experience the upsides of both countryside and city life.
      I’m still not at peace with the move but keeping the thoughts out of my head during this last week at my parents. Even if I never grow to like the new place home will forever be at my parents’ house in the countryside.
      Oookay, I’ll admit the spiders and other critters are not part of what I like about countryside life. But the positive aspects make up for them so it’s a fair trade :).

  3. Ms.J says:

    So I’m a country bumpkin!? A relatively new term (to me).. I was always the “farm girl”. Country bumpkin has a nice ring to it though; makes me feel orange and sweet. Eep, okay that’s looking it it from an amusing view 😀 . I actually don’t have any idea of what it’s like to reside permanently in the city, having only morphed into a city slicker on holiday. But then again, our countryside isn’t exactly removed by too many miles from the hustle and bustle. Kind of like the best of both worlds – with shopping centres 15- 25 min. away. We took full advantage of the quiet roads -cycling and outrides on horseback- as younger kids… I think it’s fabulous that you cycle around there even now 🙂 .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Well, I’m a huge fan of that term because of its similarity with a certain food, too 😀 .The German term is ‘Landei’ ´[literally: country egg]. Not quite as cute.
      Living in a city permanently has its perk when it comes to options of going out, shopping and the likes. You and Kat really got the best of both worlds there.
      And yes, cycling is wonderful. Especially when your head is as crammed with thoughts as mine currently was – as you’ll be able to tell from that mail.

      • Ms.J says:

        I literally squealed with excitement when I opened my inbox; to be hearing from you [despite the actual content] is a good feeling. Not to relay my reply out here, but I want to stress that it’s nice to have you sharing your overloaded brain – because I want to hear about it.. without prying like a nosey brat of course.
        Yeegh, country egg!? Bugger that’s a bad one LOL.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The occasional tractor driver or run-away cow [yes!] aside running in the countryside is awesome.
      I’m not sure where you’re located but if you have a garden there are vegetables for every climate really.

  4. Emily says:

    Oh my goodness…I adore this. So, so beautiful.
    As much as I love LA, the city life can be extremely stifling and I would love to have vast, open spaces like this surrounding me.

    xo

Leave a Reply

