Have you seen my cooking mojo?

In case you’ve visited my blog before you know I’ve been in the process of moving for the past weeks. Yes, it took that long. Now that it’s done but there’s one important question surfacing on this food-centered day: Where did my cooking mojo move?

WIAWbutton_1

It’s What I ate Wednesday and at that Vegan Wednesday again – the perfect day to get new meal inspiration and motivation to get active in the kitchen again. Which I desperately need. If you remember my recent  lack of cooking motivation at my parents’: it has yet to fully subside. Not for the same reasons anymore. Maybe just an inevitable part of moving and getting settled in a new place? I hope it doesn’t last much longer because I miss cooking and coming up with recipes. Here’s what I’ve been eating despite the lack of motivaton.

Almond butter and cashews straight from the jar and bag have been go-tos when hunger hits even more often than usual lately. Especially after dark – flash in pictures makes me cringe like any other person but I [obviously] had to document my meals.

Almond butter_cashews

Apparently in between packing up all food, dishes, tools – in short: my whole kitchen – and only slowly getting around to set up my new apartment I stashed away my cooking mojo, too. The first ever savoury dish prepared in my new kitchen featured a new-to-me grain: Israeli couscous. The ping-pong balls of the grain world? Agreed.  It’s super hard to find over here so I won’t be able to stock up once I finish the bag. Nevertheless,  I’ll be making good use of it while it’s around. Like in this curried couscous with Brokkoli,  tomatoes and chickpeas. Post-picture covered in a quick vegan cheesy sauce to satisfy a craving for nutritional yeast. I never knew I’d miss it so much.

Israeli couscous_first meal in new apartment

And because I said this was the first actual meal I prepared: snacks turning into meals were the name of the game for the first days in my new place. We might not have an even closely comparable choice of hummus over in the US – think about five brands and two or three different flavours in total – but this one is really good. A trio of hummus featuring curry, sundried tomato and olive flavours. Written down in order of preference because is there any other way? Also:  Where has curried hummus been all of my life before?? I’ll be making a batch as soon as I get my Vitamix set up – feel free to hold me accountable here!

Hummus trio

What to do if you don’t feel like cooking [I technically do] doing the dishes?  Eat out. Easier said than done when a) in a rural area with few options and b) looking for vegan dishes. We had to search for quite a while but in the rnd actually found one “gutbürgerlich” Restaurant having specifically labelled vegan dishes. Only two but oh well. Tofu with … it was meant to come with bread but I asked them to hold the carbs. Kidding. Not anymore. Instead, I ordered potatoes. Because I like them more and I’m picky about the kind of bread I like.

Eating out

The dish wasn’t incredibly creative and a little too greasy for my palate. But finding a vegan dish in the most unexpected of all places lets you overlook those details. Plus, I got my first taste of salsola, a sea vegetable. That’d be the green grass-like bits you can see in the dish. The vegetable grows on the side patches of salt fields hence its salty taste. I’m hoping to get my hands on a bunch at a market at some point and get busy in the kitchen.

Happy Wednesday and – for those who still feel the groove: happy cooking!

Happiness-inducing today: The smile of the old lady living in my apartment building when I walked around introducing myself as the new renter.

Stay in touch!

What do moving day eats look like for you? I remember seeing others prep food beforehand but forgot about it myself before the kitchen was packed up. Next time!

Have you tried Israeli couscous before?

How often do you eat out? I’d go more often but vegetarian – and much less vegan options are still a rarity on menus over here. Unless you live in a larger city.

11 thoughts on “Have you seen my cooking mojo?

  1. anaesrout01 says:

    Hey friend!

    I try not to eat out a lot, but that’s tough for me (bad budgeter, here). When I do eat out though, I try to stay healthy (Subway, sushi, Thai food…). My weakness is the deli at our grocery store which has some damn good Chinese food! (Stupid chow mein…)

    And I have tried Israeli couscous! It’s kind of a weird texture, I guess. It’s like…it makes me think of tapioca. I didn’t hate it, but I can’t say I’ll be eating it again in the near future, you know?

    Have a good day!

  2. Ms.J says:

    Ah cashew nuts are crack. I’ve been addicted most recently…ever since I realized I could munch away without fear of loosening a wire (thanks to its gloriously velvety texture).
    The best way to get -well- settled is through the food; glad that you’ve been scoping about. Although vegan Resturants in a rural area does sound challenging. I’m intrigued to know more about the place..we’ll get to it in my reply right!?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Isn’t couscous in any form and shape amazing?? I used to be obsessed with it years ago, then went through phases with other grains but am back on it now. And yes, try Israeli couscous. I’ve heard Trader Joe’s offers it?!

Leave a Reply

