If I’m being honest …

If I’m being honest it’s way too late already again now that I’m finishing this post so I’ll keep the intro short and sweet as usual on Thursdays. More words left to think out loud? Clearly what I’d intended. Thanks to Amanda for hosting – and to my neighbour for letting me use her WLAN while I’m technically still without internet.

Thinking-Out-Loud

 

If I’m being honest …

… part of the reason why I’ve missed my cooking motiviation is the lack of a dishwasher. Or actually that’s not quite correct. Ironically, the dishwasher from my old apartment moved in with me. It’s mine – bought used from the previous tenants – so I clearly wasn’t going to leave it behind. #firstworldproblems? If I used hashtags: absolutely. But hey, both a water and time saver it has a lot of undeniable benefits. Too bad: now that I finally wouldn’t have to correct anybody’s wrong ways of loading the dishwasher I don’t have a dishwasher to use anymore. The short story about the why is that setting it up in my new kitchen requires some rebuilding and serious technical knowledge I don’t have.

Speaking of cooking: If I’m being honest …

… using [fresh] garlic has been off limits for me since starting my job. Feel free to laugh but I don’t want to be known as Miss Garlic Breath. It’s a pity because I really like garlic. Miss Overly Cautious? Maybe I am …

Garlic

… I’m easily excited at times. Very easily. Here’s the deal: I know many people get their first car shortly after passing their drivers’ test. Me? I just got my very first own car after 6+ years of having my license. And – you guessed it – am majorly excited. My parents bought a new car a while back and I was lucky to get their ‘old’ one. Wait until I see the gas bills adding up at the end of the month …

September 2nd 001

[Unlike others, though, I haven’t named my car [yet]. Should I? Suggestions πŸ˜‰ ?]

… and if I’m being honest: I felt weird when taking that picture hoping no neighbours had seen me. I have a feeling bloggers are an even more rare species in my new city than the previous one.

… after quite some drama about getting my internet and landline set up [naming just the key points: a router that mysteriously dis- and reappeared [but in the wrong place], a totally non-work compatible installation date,Β  hanging in line for a total of over an hour when trying to reach my internet provider]: all of that made me consider saying screw it and going back to life without internet. For approximately one second. Because if I’m being honest …

… I can’t imagine life without internet. Sad but true. Like I said: for a time? yes. Forever? Are you kidding?

If I’m being honest …

… cutesy may or may not have played a role when I picked up this:

September 2nd 006

In my defence I did need new cotton buds either way. But owls made my decision easier and anything that helps my indecisiveness can only be seen as a bonus.

If I’m being honest …

… I just ran out of thoughts for today so all that’s left to say is: We’re this close to the weekend! Time to start making plans if you haven’t yet. Mine will clearly include sleeping in.

 

Happiness-inducing today: Meeting a few more really nice colleagues that had been on holiday still on my first day.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Share some random thoughts with me!

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “If I’m being honest …

  1. Ms.J says:

    If I’m being honest… As much as I adore Mini Coopers and would like to own -a purple- one; I am not even remotely interested in driving. Yes, I’m 19 and have only attempted to drive once in my life. And almost shot straight into our house. Eep.
    I hope you get all the little technicalities sorted soon..it sounds a tad frustrating. Oh yes – the internet. A break is good for us; for good however? Gahhh!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Don’t let anybody insist you had to have a license or an interest to drive at a specific age. I know several ‘late blommers’ – interestingly enough mostly guys. If it wasn’t for living in the countryside and needing a car to get around at times I’m sure my parents wouldn’t have minded me postponing getting my license back then. I hardly drove the past four years of living in a big city. So keep dreaming about Mini Coopers like I dream about Adam Levine without ever getting serious πŸ˜‰ . Not that I’d mind …

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Confession: I have a dishwasher and I can’t even remember the last time I turned it on… It just kind of seems like more of a hassle than it’s worth when I use the same dishes over and over again and it’s only me living here. Takes me FOREVER to fill the darn thing up enough to run a load, and it just ends up being easier to wash a dish or two throughout the day. Oh, and I don’t use my microwave either πŸ˜›

  3. katalysthealth says:

    ummmm yes, you most definitely SHOULD name your car. Your going to abuse it and ride it all day long, you may as well have a nice name for it, right? πŸ˜‰
    And I totally don’t even use my dishwasher. It leaks like crazy, so its just too much of a hassle. Plus, I would have to run that thing at least 2x a day with how many dishes I go through on a day to day basis lol

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Haha, maybe I’m afraid I’ll get too attached to it once it’s named? And even more cautious when driving it. But I’ll happily take name suggestions. (:
      Use your dishwasher! Especially when using lots of dishes – that’s the case for me usually, too. It takes some serious planning for me to use as few dishes as possible over the course of each day now. Different plates for breakfast and dinner? Not happening.

  4. Charlotte says:

    Yep, I don’t have a dishwasher. I have to admit it really curtailed cooking for a while, but now i’ve gotten used to it. I didn’t have a dishwasher when I lived in Italy nor France, so in my moments of greatest frustration I remind myself how European I’m living, and it makes me feel better πŸ™‚

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      In case we can’t get it set up in my kitchen I’m really keeping my fingers crossed I’ll get used to it, too. My family always had a dishwasher and so far the longest I’ve been without one was while living with a friend for four weeks. I know it’s ‘high level’ complaining but noticing how much less I enjoy cooking has been putting a damper on my mood.

  5. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    Is it weird that even though I have a dish washer, I don’t use it. I feel like my hand scrubbing cleans my pots, pans, dishes, etc so much better than my dish washer! I am so weird, I know, LOL! But I have lived in my place maybe, I don’t know 3 years? And I have used my dish washer – like 4 times! HA HA AH!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Yes, it is πŸ˜‰ . Honestly, though, don’t you ever get tired of doing the dishes by hand all day every day? I do it at times but after a day at work the last thing I want is to come home to piles of dirty dishes waiting for me. I’d much rather watch Dirty Dancing instead [couldn’t help noticing the similarity ;)] .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right?! Carrying around a tooth brush and actually using it on the toilet at work would be pretty awkward. Until I figure out a solution garlic and I will have a weekend-only relationship.

  6. Pingback: Let's get living

Leave a Reply

