September seaside 095

WIAW: Going back to classics

Raise your hand if you feel writing a witty intro on Wednesdays is particularly hard. Okay, maybe it isn’t usually but I’ve been feeling under the weather today so I just decided you’d agree if we got the food talk started right away. It’s What I ate Wednesday and the theme emerging this time became clear as I sorted through the pictures: we’re talking classics today. Some typically German classics, some old favourites/ personal classics. That’s what happens when you move with a lot of food still on hand …

WIAWbutton_1

It’s back! My cooking motivation returned this past weekend. Oh did I miss it. Its return was likely fuelled by my mum visiting me and helping me continue at least partly with the mumables. She brought along the most immense kabocha I’ve had this year so far [more than 8 lbs – and at that making my kitchen scale go into error state]. Not just that but some of her freshly harvested snap beans, too. Green ones are obviously a classic but how about some purple ones in the mix?

September seaside 099

Pretty, no? I’ll let you in on a secret, though: they loose their beautiful colour almost immediately when cooked so the effect vanishes quickly. While brainstorming the ‘best’ way to use the rare home-grown beans I snacked on an old favourite. That’s the marvelous part of moving with a lot of food: you’re forced to use up what you have and end up rediscovering some goodies you bought way back. Like these double-roasted salted chickpeas.

Roasted chickpeas

In an effort to savour the precious produce I set out to veganize a German classic that I’m sure those stopping by from Vegan Wednesday will know: Birnen,  Bohnen und Speck.  Only it was far from the original not just in the fact it was devoid of any animal products. I also turned what’s traditionally a sauté with a side of boiled potatoes into a casserole. Never mind that I don’t remember the last time I had the real version: this was absolutely delicious.  Hearty, salty and comforting. If you’re curious about the details: there you go.

Birnen, Bohnen und Speck

Work has me back in my old soup lady patterns. Plans of more involved workday meals will have to wait until I figure out a good meal planning schedule that works for me. Rather than panicking at the lack of produce and ideas on Sunday.  All that in mind I think I did well on Sunday with this Parsnip Pumpkin Stew I prepped ahead of time for Monday and Tuesday lunches. A stick-to-your ribs vegan dish filled with vitamins and fibre. I ate it with a slice of seedy bread that met my criteria.

Parsnip Pumpkin Soup

A sweet ending was brought into existence by my sister. Or more specifically the fact that she lives close to an IKEA store and took a trip there solely to pick up the cutest popsicle molds ever for me. Too late for popsicles? Never. Even if a whole bowl of ice cream can seem a little too much [in terms of freeze-inducing properties] a little popsicle never hurt anybody.

September seaside 095

These are the simplest ever in that all I did was freeze the contents of an Alpro Soya dark chocolate dessert pot. Trust me: you want to try this! The pudding freezes to a not-at-all hard but velvety texture. If you don’t have popsicle molds: just shake the pudding cup and pop it into the freezer for a few hours. And then come back to thank me for the genius idea 😉 . Until then: enjoy your Wednesday!

Happiness-inducing today: Starting a promising new b0ok

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What’s your favourite dish using green beans?

Do you prefer ice cream or popsicles?  What are your favourite flavours?

19 thoughts on “WIAW: Going back to classics

  1. anaesrout01 says:

    I have never made this, myself, but I LOVE green bean casserole…like, the kind your family would make during Thanksgiving/Christmas time!!! So good!! 😀

    Also, as far as ice cream goes, I like mocha-almond fudge or mint choco-chip (on ocasion). When I was younger, I went for Otter Pops, and my favorite ones were the blue ones!! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Green bean casserole? What does it contain? We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving over here and I actually can’t remember my family ever had a green bean casserole. The times we do eat them on Christmas they’re just boiled and served alongside our mains.
      Also: Otter pops? I haven’t heard of these before, either.

  2. Ms.J says:

    Jeez, a monster kabocha squash must help a ton in making things “feel like home”.
    I am on a major chickpea kick..and yes you do come to mind when I consume some them in some form. I can’t for the life of me imagine why is that though 😉 !
    Popsicles just sound too cold for my brain to handle, but with Alpro dark chocolate pudding as the contents of choice? Yeah that changes everything. Do me a favour: try the chocolate pudding as a dip for your squash. Life changing 🙂 . Even more so with a spoon of nut butter thrown into the mix.

  3. Juli says:

    Oh my gosh YOU ARE GENIUS!!!! I am so going to get my hands on this pudding TODAY and freeze it ASAP! HEAR ME SHOUTING!!! And then maybe caramel, too. My husband is more the caramel kinda guy. haha you made my day 😀

  4. katalysthealth says:

    Not going to lie, theres a lot of interesting food on here that I’ve never even thought of trying. This is why I love following bloggers from other countries! Those beans first of all are gorgeous, but it does make me sad that they lose that color when cooked! Ive only ever seen the normal plain old green beans [which are tasty, but only green!].
    And yesssss to that popsicle. Looks so fudgy!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It really is a pity they don’t keep their colour. My mum didn’t tell me and you should have seen my face when I realized what blenders they were. So no need to shell out extra money should you happen upon them on a Farmers’ Market one day.
      The popsicle, however, is definitely no blender. It’s fudgy at its best.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      95? I can’t remember the last time it got quite that hot. Our max of around 86 this summer was more than I could bear already, haha.
      I think actually stews are not fall-/winter-exclusive but all-year foods. Or they should be.

  5. Pingback: Let's get living

Leave a Reply

