So many thoughts, so little time.

What a week! I can’t believe we already made it to Thursday but I’m happy about it. Only two more days until I’ll [hopefully] hop on a train to Hamburg for a mum-and-daughter day. It’s a well-known fact traveling – and working – is easier without too much freight so I’m following Amanda’s invitation to unload my brain by Thinking out loud.

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. There are certain topics that keep reappearing in my Thinking out loud posts. One being tea. I’m not a coffee drinker and a very picky tea connoisseur. The only kind of tea I truly enjoy is chai made from spices. No roibush, no fruity flavours, no green tea, … Essentially,  I’m pretty much settled on one tea: Sweet Chili. After my previous favourite was discontinued  I switched to Yogi’s version. April 021

Until now I regularly bought it at a number at different stores. But about two weeks ago I noticed stores didn’t restock. Not cool. In my desperation I looked for other ways to get my hands on it and ordered it online.  Amazon to the rescue.

2. When my mum was around on the weekend we needed to look something up online and I happened to have several tabs open on my laptop [as usual]. One of them was this post that made my mum asking what exactly that was in the first picture.  It hadn’t actually deemed to me on first looks but on a second … I trust in your dirty minds  you to tell what she thought ;).

3. On the note of my mum’s visit: she got the dishwasher set up and running! Even if this makes me look spoiled or lazy I feel relief knowing I won’t have to clean every dish by hand. Kudos to all of you who said they did even owning a dishwasher and preferred it that way. In my defense: I still make an effort to use as few dishes as possible and clean a pot or plate by hand or re-use a cup a second time the next time. Frugal habits I know I’m not alone with.

4. Every time I’ve been uploading another image for the blog lately I’ve become painfully aware just how many there already are and how little space is left. Meaning: I’ll need to clean up a little, no? So does that mean I have to delete old images from way back and then I’m good to go again? And would that mean there will suddenly be blank frames where once pictures were showing up after that? Questions upon questions from non-tech-savvy me.

5. Still, I couldn’t not share a picture of the monster kabocha I mentioned yesterday.  Because in true blog world fashion: pictures or it didn’t happen, right?!

Giant kabocha_Hokkaido

6. If I end up filling all remaining storage space before I find answers to those questions you’ll notice by me recycling pictures in every post. What I ate Wednesday portraiting meals I ate a year ago? It might happen and then I’ll be the one establishing frugal blogging. Or I’ll make good use of others’ images …

7. Like here: Do you remember the powdered greens from a while back?  Brands keep making me speechless time and time anew. Apparently smoothie drinkers are a new particularly interesting target group for German companies.

Smoothie cubes? Dried and pressed smoothie ingredients you apparently dissolve in water? I’m really not sure what to think so I’ll leave the judgement of whether these are genius or garbage up to actual smoothie drinkers. Personally, I’ll stick with tea for now and am off to get a cup of my Sweet Chili amazingness now. Better enjoy it while it still lasts. Plus, blog reading is just that much better when accompanied by tea and chocolate.

8. You know I had to add it: Happy Thursday!

Happiness-inducing today: The kindness of a stranger. Also her not laughing at me in a somewhat embarrassing situation.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

No questions for you. Just chime in with whatever random musings you feel like sharing.

 

11 thoughts on “So many thoughts, so little time.

  1. Ms.J says:

    Eeek don’t do it! Delete old post pictures that is. Me being the clever jack I am – I predicted that by staying “on top” of things with regular clean ups would pay off well in the long run. And I would have been none the wiser if it weren’t for Alison’s life-saving revelation some time back; blank empty souls where photos once were.
    I still struggle to believe you aren’t even close to being head over heels in love with coffee 😉 . But sweet chilli tea does sound deliciously warming..hmm, have you had it alongside Lindt Chilli for a one,two punch of spiciness!?
    Train travels..aaah, one day 🙂 .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      One day… all of your train fantasies will be deeply disappointed. Do I need to remind you of the, ahem, toilet situation 😉 ?
      In fact, I can’t remember the last time I ate a piece of chili chocolate without an accompanying cup of Sweet Chili tea. The stores in your corner of the world don’t happen to carry Yogi tea? I wish you could try it because I’m convinced you’d be sold.
      And the picture situation? Unless you know of a better solution – let me know! – I will inevitably have to make some tough decisions on which pictures to kick out to free space for new ones. I’m afaid it won’t be much longer.

  2. Aja says:

    I hate fruity teas as well. My work has TAZO teas and a lot of people love the orange tea but I hate it. Chai or the occasional green for me please!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s admittedly a little annoying to have little to no tea choices at times – like in a working environment. Peppermint is my usual option when not at home because a) it tastes alright and b) it’s widely available.

  3. Alex @ True Femme says:

    I don’t know what I’d do without a dishwasher. Well I do, I’d wash them by hand haha but when I studied in Europe both times I did not have a dishwasher and it was not fun–especially when my roommates decided that it was a good use of my time to wash their dishes! Anyway, I’m glad you have a dishwasher because it definitely makes life easier. I have a lot of really cheap plates I bought at Ikea so my dishwasher is completely full every time I run it. I have to say though that I love fruity teas and my chai preference is on the sweeter side. I guess it’s because I have a decent size sweet tooth!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Hm … You’re not the first to mention a lack of dishwashers when traveling to Europe. I thought they were pretty common around here. (:
      But yes, I wouldn’t have been too stoked to be without my dishwasher for much longer. It’s a huge time saver at the end of a long day at work. Plus, I always happen to have a lot of dishes, too, resulting in a full dishwasher.
      The Sweet Chili tea actually has a great natural sweetness to it. My sweet tooth is quite pronounceed, too. Maybe that’s why almost every cup of tea is accompanied by some chocolate …

  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I can completely relate on the tea bit! I’m probably not -quite- as picky as you are, as I enjoy a variety of different kinds, but I have one tea that I hold above all others, and that’s one that I have to order online because they don’t sell it here. I’ve been drinking at least one cup a day for -years- though, and I couldn’t imagine going without!

  5. Charlotte says:

    I’ve never heard of Sweet Chili tea- it sounds delicious! I love coffee, personally. I’m horrible though- I always load it up with cream. So yummy 🙂 Have fun with your mom this weekend!

    ps- Yay for getting the dishwasher set up!!

Leave a Reply

