WIAW: On the road again

… or actually: on the -train- again. The previously mentioned weekend meet-up with my mum didn’t happen but we got a chance on Saturday. Given I left at 8 AM and didn’t return until 9.45 PM packing food and eating out was inevitable.  So for today’s What I ate Wednesday and Vegan Wednesday what a day of traveling with food looks like for me

A lack of kabocha has my deviate from  my usual favourite and back on the oatmeal train [pun not intended] for breakfast again. Rolled oats cooked with water, soy milk,  peanut flour, zucchini and – necessary – salt. Topped with popped amaranth and coconut flour ‘crumbles’. I missed the almond butter. I’m not above using empty soy yogurt containers as oatmeal carriages. In fact, I consider it perfectly reasonable recycling. Only they are big enough for my servings. Oats in a jar are no option because nut butters come in glass jars over here and I don’t feel like lugging one of those around. Hello, weight lifting.

Oats_for the train

Snacks included two cinnamon chickpea protein bars. Slightly smushed after waiting in my handbag so you’ll get the pretty picture. While my favourite way to eat these is cold straight from the fridge they are delicious even Unpictured snacks were apples, a cookie, … I always crave fruit even more than on regular days when traveling. Maybe it’s drinking less – in an effort to avoid using the toilet on the train. If you’ve ever been on a train you’ll know why …

Protein Bars 1

After some – successful (!) – shoe shopping my stomach and mind were calling for a proper sit-down meal. When in Hamburg we usually like to seek out one of our favourite smaller restaurants in the Schanzenviertel. But with a limited time window and shopping downtown we went for another go-to closer by. Cha cha is one of my favourite chain restaurants – only topped by Dolores. I ordered Thai fried rice with vegetables,  sesame soy sauce and cashews. The serving was very generous [the picture doesn’t do it justice] so I didn’t manage to finish it. Especially because my mum needed some help with her dish … Only not really but that’s what she gets for eating out with me.

Eating out_cha cha_September 2014

My Mum got their Yellow Curry Noodles with Pineapple and Seitan. The pasta wasn’t vegan but I ate around it picking out the best part: obviously the coconut milk-drenched seitan. Luckily for both of us, our dishes weren’t overly spicy like some food at Cha Cha can be. Remind me to finally prepare seitan at home because this was good.

Eating out_cha cha_September 2014_2

Dinner was an eat-all-the-food affair – I returned home ready to chew my arm off. Kabocha – found in Hamburg and yes; I buy and travel with heavy squash if I spot the elusive variety. Living in no-mans-country no-[kabocha] squash-country isn’t easy.
Steamed as usual and with the added coconut oil this was all I could have asked for after a long day of traveling. I’ve yet to come to a final result on its added satiating powers but it’s delicious either way.

Breakfast_kabocha

Happiness-inducing today: The chatterbug but very kind and helpful owner of the small health food store in the town I work.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What do typical days on the road/ train look like for you food-wise?

How do you transport oats [to work or when traveling]?

13 thoughts on “WIAW: On the road again

  1. Ashley says:

    Both yours and your mom’s lunches look really tasty! There’s nothing quite like a really good curry or fried rice dish, especially in the cooler months. And it sounds like a good way to end a shopping trip — that’s something I really miss doing with my mom now that I live 10+ hours away.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      More than ten hours? I’ve never lived that far away from my family permanently and can only imagine how hard it has to be.
      Funnily enough, Saturday was that likely must have been the last really warm day we got. So the curry’s warming powers weren’t needed yet but I agree they’re fantastic for the colder times. Either way, it was great fuel for the other half of shopping.

  2. Ms.J says:

    Nothing makes me quite so hungry as shopping (clothes or shoes) .”Cha Cha” is such a cute restaurant name! It helps that the food is delicious as well..I think I’d go there -just- for the name 😉 .
    I don’t recall ever transporting oatmeal.. I’d go with in a nut butter jar if I do.
    Lugging a kabocha squash along for the train ride home – true squash love.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Confession: this wasn’t the furthest my squash obsession has made me go so far …
      I’m convinced you’d enjoy Cha cha not just for its name but the food, too. Especially when you eat meat the choice is even larger.
      And carrying around oats in nut butter jars is not an option for me. They weigh somewhere around ~ 1/2 an lb – empty!

Leave a Reply

