The [In]visible Blogger

If I had to answer why I follow the blogs I do I’d have to say – regardless of whether they’re chewing beef jerky or scrambling tofu, lifting heavy or logging miles – they’re all written by people I can see. That doesn’t make sense? Grab a cup of tea or coffee and let me elaborate … out loud.

Thinking-Out-Loud

Ever since before I started my own blog I followed that one blogger. [okay, I obviously followed many bloggers but bear with me here]. She was around my age, striked me as a super creative mostly vegetarian chef and shared her struggles with food, too. In short, she was relatable and many of the recipes I tried from her blog were amazing. Needless to say I followed her almost religiously hardly missing any of her posts because I didn’t just learn about new foods or ways of preparation but bits and pieces about her, too. With her recipes and advice she was a role model and helped me in recovery.

Tea

Fast forward to today I probably check her blog once in a blue moon. Why? She has changed – not neccesarily a bad thing and it happens for all of us at certain points in life – but unfortunately her blog has, too. Aside from the fact she did a 180° turn in her diet [from veg to paleo], all of her recipes are now calling for hard-to-find and/or expensive ingredients and I can’t relate with her as a person anymore, either. But one of the major let-downs for me was that I don’t see her anymore. No random facts, no childhood memories or mentions of personal quirks.

Where's the blogger

Just to stress that this has nothing to do with her dietary decisions: Take another blogger I’d only been reading if I noticed a post of hers at the top of my reader while she was vegan. Ever since she made the switch and became more relaxed about her diet I’ve also found her as a person more interesting and relatable.

The question that naturally came to my mind while thinking about this was if I am visible enough.  I know you can’t technically see me because I don’t post pictures of myself on the blog.  But I’m hoping that by sharing parts of my story, my thoughts and opinions you’re getting a glimpse on the girl behind the blog. I could never do the a-post-a-day style of blogging and telling you everything I did or ate in a single day. Simply because that’s not me.  I also stopped weekend reviews because – unless something particularly significant or fun happened – I admittedly hardly knew what to write. Does that make me less visible? I hope not.

I clearly know whom I got my preference for bright colours from :).

Because yes, while I realize I just talked a lot about visible and invisible bloggers I’m not sure how well I score here, either. It’s a tricky thing to know – or actually, we can’t ever know – what exactly readers want to know about ourselves unless they’re saying it. And also how much we’re willing to share. What I like to know about other bloggers are their stories. Finding out about the people who matter to them. Impacting experiences they make. What makes them happy. What makes them sad. Their studies or jobs [blogging is the best way to find out about a completely different field!].  For me, the most difficult part about becoming more personal and at that more visible is that I don’t consider my day-to-day life an action film but more of oh, hey, welcome to the daily grind. Jawning is a good way to power your brain up with some oxygen – but I wouldn’t want to be the one to evocate this natural reaction in you if you know what I mean. (:

Now that I’ve gotten all of that randomness off my brain: let’s chat! Tell me whatever you want to spill on the topic – questions for inspiration below!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Puppies again. Melt-my-heart-adorable.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

Bloggers: how are you making yourself visible on the blog?

Non-bloggers: what keeps you following along? What do you want to find out about any blogger? Their daily life?

 

 

 

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “The [In]visible Blogger

  1. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com says:

    Great Post Miss Polkadot!
    Yes – your story, your thoughts and opinions definitely help us “see” you!

    • anaesrout01 says:

      I agree. I love reading about what’s going on in your life, Miss Polkadot. And your “happiness-inducing” blurbs are great. I can find myself relating to them, and lastly, I love sharing my thoughts concerning your last little things-to-think-on focal points at the end. …did that make sense? Anyhow, you’re awesome, Miss Polkadot. It’s good to have buddies here on WP. 😀

      Have a good day! ❤

      • Miss Polkadot says:

        Thanks, girl! You’re so sweet to consider me a friend and I’m glad you’re enjoying the happiness. Also, yes I noticed you were very happy to share bits and pieces about yourself focussed on my questions.

  2. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    I know which blog you’re talking about and I’m saddened by the change to. Not only can I not relate to the recipes any more but I also lost that connection I felt I had to her writing initially. It’s a shame since I really enjoyed her blog and recipes! Now, like you, I only check it every once in a while….

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s sad when we lose that connection with a blogger we’ve ‘known’ for so long. But just like with all people in life I think we need to accept it – blogging holds valuable lessons for life in general – or hope they’ll change again …
      Reply

  3. Ms.J says:

    Its near impossible to sum up my thoughts on this in one comment! I love that you’ve brought it up – such an interesting topic. At the risk of sounding like a broken record: I honestly feel that a blogger should share as much as they themselves are content with..whether that be daily life snippets or deep heart-rendering thoughts and everything in between. Because there is an audience for every kind of blog right!? And as readers we have the choice to be drawn in or not..if we aren’t interested that doesn’t mean that the next human wouldn’t be – which is the lovely thing about it I believe 🙂 . Often I find myself checking up on blogs I do not really relate to, solely because I’m need of a certain bloggers writing or humour..or I simply want to see how they’re doing. So yeah, I’d say you share as much as you want Miss P; you’ve got your distinctive “voice” which is what I’m always coming for by the way 😉 .

  4. Laura says:

    This was an amazing post! I only follow bloggers who I can see their true, genuine self behind the blog–whether I actually know who they are or not. I can tell when bloggers are trying to put on an act, or blogging for their own blog promotion. I don’t want that. I want to see real people blogging about real things and living their real (unique) lives. You do this wonderfully, whether we know who you are or not 😉

  5. Marfigs says:

    This topic is something I constantly think about, because I can never understand the huge popularity of some bloggers who write 1-line paragraphs inbetween admittedly luscious pictures and recipes of food and then they get reactions like “you’re so shiny/vibrant!” – I’m like, where’s the personality? For some people, less is obviously more.

    On the other hand, I fear that I myself am *too* visible, or display too much of my life on “paper” – every recipe I make has a reason, though, and I don’t feel it would be honest to just put down a recipe without explaining that story, or sharing reactions to the food. Problem is I end up with an essay I’m sure not everyone has the patience to read!

    Anyway, your personality does shine through on the blog! It’s what makes it a treat to follow 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Please never stop sharing the stories along with your recipes. There are blogs I solely check for a recipes but yours is one of those I take my time reading because the stories behind it are just as good as the food. Now if only we could hang out, chat and eat all of that deliciousness together. I can just give back the last compliment you made.
      I agree there are some ‘big’ bloggers who appear too shallow or inapproachable. Maybe it just comes with an increase of blogging responsibilites: more comments, feeling more vulnerable and open to a broader public. At that it’s probably lucky we [still – who knows what the future brings? (: ] get to figure out the whole blogging game on a smaller scale?!

      • Marfigs says:

        Thank you for that awesome comment, and sorry for my late reply! 😀 The best part of “human” blogs is the idea that you would actually want to meet that person – not only to eat their food but just to hang out. I hadn’t thought about the responsibilities aspect – what with book deals, classes, and all that jazz I guess there isn’t really time for all established bloggers to go wild. Small scale is pretty nifty because it at least gives one the space to improve skills and try out wacky things without anxiety – I can imagine blogging can also start to feel like a job (and is for some!) and that might drain the soul out of it as well.

  6. Irina says:

    First of all, I’m so happy to read that you don’t judge others by their eating habits. Don’t worry, I never ever thought you did in the slightest but it’s still nice to read that 🙂 Not everyone is like you! Now on to the topic at hand. Personally, I follow a variety of blogs – food, cooking/baking, vegan, fashion, lifestyle, etc. – and I read them with different thoughts in mind. For example, I don’t expect a food or fashion blogger to share intimate details about her life. On the other hand, if a HLB or lifestyle blogger from whom I’ve come to expect honesty and life details suddenly shifts her direction, I will probably stop reading. Anyway, I love your blog and raw honesty…photos or no photos!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks, Irina! Honestly, how lonely, superficial and unsympathetic as a person would I be if I judged others for their diets? Clothes or money don’t make people and neither does what’s on their plates. Unless it comes along with a change of mindset as has sadly been the case with one of the examples above. But I see that with every diet: there are always people who get all preachy and others who just eat the way they eat – be that vegan, vegetarian, paleo, keto [though I have no idea what that is, actually], …

      While I don’t necessarily expect food bloggers to share full-on details about their lives I am more likely to follow if they randomly add a few personal snippets and bits. Really not much and it doesn’t have to be intimate but just to know they’re [interested in] more than just food is great.

  7. Juli says:

    I like the topics you’re addressing lately! It’s clever and interesting. What makes me see you – besides what you show or rather don’t – is how personally you approach all this. I never even realized that you don’t show yourself in pictures until you mentioned it in one post maybe a year back. Because you as a person are very relateable. I like your relaxed attitude and that you don’t preach. I hate when people do this.
    When I started blogging I had some struggles with finding my voice and I experimented a bit until I felt comfortable. Now I write as I speak. You’ll probably find out 😉 And that’s the only way I really feel comfortable because it’s the only way to feel really like me.

  8. Emma @em-poweredwellness says:

    I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, too, so it was great to read your (much more eloquent) thoughts. While I’ve followed the more personal blogs for a long time, I’m new to writing my own blog and it’s been hard for me to write more personal things–share about my struggles, my habits and ideas–in my blog. I don’t know whether it’s just that it will take a while for me to get comfortable with the idea of sharing about myself and my life for all of the internet to see, or if I just need to take the plunge and get all personal now to get that hesitation over with. How do you transition from lighthearted stuff or information to the personal or more sensitive topics?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      From my own experience I can confirm your assumption that it takes time to get more comfortable. It took me a long time to write more personal posts and it’s only been these past months I’ve stopped going back and forth forever in between publishing a post or not. Give yourself some time and trust in the process. Good luck and I’ll make sure to stop by!

  9. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Great post, lady. It’s a tricky thing to balance as a blogger, and something I feel like I’m constantly trying to figure out myself. I follow a variety of different blogs for a variety of different reasons,and while I value honesty and openness, I also value the overall voice and content of a blog. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with withholding personal details, but it’s always nice to hear what a blogger thinks and feels about certain things. I dunno… it’s a tough call. At the end of the day, different approaches appeal to different people, and there’ll always be a different audience for each one.

  10. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    Ha, well… It’s hard NOT to see my over on my blog, BAHHH HA H AH AHAH ! Whether or not that’s a good or bad thing, well, hey, if people think it’s a bad thing – then they don’t have to come and visit!

    I visit you/your blog because you’re quirky, just like me and I LOVE IT! 🙂

  11. Charlotte @ Commitness to Fitness says:

    Ohh I LOVE this! Such a great topic as I think its something all bloggers try to balance. Some go all the way out there, others hold back. For me I feel like I’m on the “holding back” end of the spectrum in that i dont have instagram or twitter.. rather than daily recaps, i just try to focus on the quirks, lessons, universal issues that i’m going through that i hope ppl can relate to and find the humor in. Your blog has a visible blogger because your posts are always so honest and thought-provoking and relatable, and i always feel like i could write a whole post in the comments! Ps- even though we only see your outfits- i always love what you’re wearing!

  12. brokencookiesdontcount says:

    It’s funny how peoples blogs change. I think it’s a fact of all our lives that they have to change in some ways…free time changes, you can’t blog as often, life issues happen. That’s natural and that’s happened to me. But I think I’m the say person and portray my self as such as I did when I first started. I’m vegetarian (not vegan) but I do notice how many people who were vegetarian or vegan when I started reading their blogs have changed to non-vegetarian eating. I don’t hold it against them in any way, I just find it funny. I do it for health reasons and plan on sticking with it. I really enjoyed your post. Thanks!

  13. katalysthealth says:

    This post has soooooo much truth to it girl. There are plenty of blogs that Ive stopped following, most of them the “bigger” blogs because when they did get big, their style completely changed. I’m not about surface stuff, if I wanted that I would read a magazine. I like to know struggles and laugh along with their joys and be a part of their accomplishment. That to me should be what blogging is about.

  14. Ellie says:

    In the blogging world I’ve also noticed many changes in blogs I started reading years ago. Some have had children, others have defined their blog to an exclusive topic or brand rather than their life or some only blog once a month now. An important part of change your blogging image is realizing that you will relate more to a certain crowd and less to another. Just because someone doesn’t follow you anymore doesn’t mean you’ve ruined their life…it just means you have different interests. That’s totally ok!

  15. Cat says:

    SO interesting – it’s a thought that’s crossed my mind a lot in the past – especially my early blogging days. It took me ages to get the guts to show my sweaty red-haired self on the blog! As much as I feel it helps me to identify with the blogger when I see them, I don’t think it’s 100% necessary. Yourself, and a few others I follow, do keep themselves less visible technically, but because of how open you are and how well you write, I do feel like I can ‘see’ you – sometimes better than the ones who show pics of themselves but are more closed in their writing!

    In my books? If it’s real, it’s good 😉

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Pictures or not I liked reading your blog for the person that shone through your writing style before already. The pictures are the added visual layer. (:
      “If it’s real, it’s good” <- 100% agreed. Two dozen pictures in every post don't help if authenticity is missing. Thanks for chiming in, Cat!

  16. The Cookie ChRUNicles says:

    I agree with you – I have stopped following/lost interest in certain bloggers who suddenly spot posting about themselves or at least giving the little snippets of insight into their lives. I understand we can’t share everything but it’s nice to get to know the person we are reading each day.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right. I don’t expect people to get all naked – metaphorically spoken – and open up about all intimate details of their lives. Like you said it’s nice to find out random bits and pieces about the people we’re following.

  17. songgirl says:

    This is something I struggle with as a blogger, especially when sharing yourself means sharing the side thats not all cheery and stoked on everything. Personally I don’t think my life is very exciting either, and I’m a total introvert, but I love the idea of someone reading my blog and feeling a kinship without ever meeting in person. At the same time (at this point) I don’t even feel like that many people read what I write, there’s about one comment a week…It would definitely be amazing and inspiring to have more of a dialog with readers-but maybe it’s because I’m not sharing enough, I don’t know :S

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m not sure how long you’ve been blogging – the link when I clicked on your name didn’t work?! – but don’t be too hard on yourself or give up just yet. When I started I was writing mostly for myself for a long time. If you like what you do it’ll show in your posts and readers will stop by – and stay. (:

Leave a Reply

