Cozy comfort food and Christmas cookies

Look who’s back with the second What I ate Wednesday and Vegan Wednesday in a row? That’s not usual for me anymore these days and I won’t make any promises of keeping up the [good] habit every week.  This time, however,  I was rolling with it for the fact I was rolling dough that turned into a share-worthy outcome on the weekend and have been eating some delicious lunches as well. Actually, we’re not just talking about the second consecutive WIAW but also the second time I tried a few new recipes from other bloggers.

wiaw fall into good habits button

 

I might like my apartment but the lighting situation is breaking my blogger heart. It’s not like I was sitting in darkness – even if the food pictures make it seem like that – but somehow there’s no space to apptly position my food -and- get a good picture. Either way, this Cauliflower Potato Kale Casserole is too good not to mention it. By now it’s pretty much unneccessary to say I tinkered the recipe to my liking.  Out went the leeks I didn’t have on hand, in went mushrooms and – surprise! – chickpeas.  I also subbed the vegan butter for coconut oil and oooh my. I never want to eat mashed potatoes without this again. Best ever vegan mash I’ve eaten so far. Try it – you can thank me later ! And we also cannot forget about the crispy fried shallots. I’m pretty sure I made some inappropriate noises while eating this.

Cauliflower Potato Kale Casserole_vegan_theveganpact

Following up one casserolw with another? Boring. How about a little guessing game? After finally ringing in the Christmas bakery fun for this season last week I went with another relaxing – yes, I find it to be oddly relaxing – little baking action this weekend. Any guess on what these delicious plump little dough balls became?? Scrolling down doesn’t count but you might want to take a look into a certain recent post

Cookie dough ball_Christmas

Participating in Elf for Health this year it was our challenge to meal prep for the week.  I’ve already been doing that to some extent since moving here but made the extra effort to try some new meals.  And cook a different grain to last me for the week. I’m pretty obsessed with it after its first appearance in my life in months so fingers crossed I’ll actually have some left later in the week. .. Wondering about that mysterious grain?  Short grain brown rice! Probably not exciting to you but it clearly was for me after it took a considerable amount of searching. Believe it or not but unlike where I lived before it’s super hard to find here. I layered it casserole-style with my rendition of Hannah’s vegan hash .

Brown rice_casserole_vegan hash

Marmorkipferl. Like every country Germany has its specific Christmas cookie classics and Vanillekipferl are high on top of that list. While my grandma and mum have been making these every year I’d never tried my hand at them before.  If you saw my recent good good links you’ll probably  [or not if you don’t speak German] remember the recipe for vegan Marmorkipferl on the list. As much as I like classics I’m a fan of new adaptions. Especially if it includes getting to eat chocolatey dough they’re looking even prettier than the original.

Kipferl_Marmorkipferl_Christmas cookies

If you haven’t been baking any cookies this season yet I highly recommend starting. Kneading the dough [it’s called baking therapy for a reason], singing along the Christmas music playing [a neccessity] and spreading the love/cookies are part of what really makes this season. What are you waiting for?!

Happiness-inducing today: Getting a compliment for my outfit at work – new boots included – and feeling good. Despite the cold. I.can’t. stand.it.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

Christmas cookies: Do you stick with the classics or look for new ideas every year?

Share the link of  your favourite seasonal cookie recipe in the comments – vegan preferred but no must!

9 thoughts on “Cozy comfort food and Christmas cookies

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    My family is VERY ROUTINE so we tend to stick with the same ol- same ol foods/dishes every year, however this year XMAS is going to be weird because its just going to me and my parents… And then I am off to Australia and New Zealand… So I will be missing my siblings! I bet we will all just eat at the counter because my parents, they know I don’t care that much, ha ha!

  2. swissfitchick says:

    The cold is a nightmare. I HATE it. Thouth xmas music and baking sounds wonderful – if I only could be a stay at home woman! I think I’d eat the Marmorkipferl non baked. These dough balls look to die for.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      If it’s between you and me I actually ate more dough than actual cookie. So the dough picture is the true What I ate one …
      I wish we could go through winter without temperatures ever dropping below zero. So.damn.cold.

Leave a Reply

