Good good links #69

Denial. Cra-zy-ness. I know I’m repeating myself but I cannot believe it’s the third of Advent already 😯 . I’ll admit part of it might have to do with the fact that I still haven’t gotten into the Christmas spirit yet. Cookie baking, scented candles, an [untraditional] Advent calendarthis one, by the way – and regular doses of Michael Bublé playing when I’m home. It’s actually making me a little sad. Christmas time used to be so special when I grew up – and now? I’m at a loss with myself so if you have any instant-Christmas-mood ideas let me know!

Enough of that, though, because what’s not sad is the huge amount of great links I happened upon once again. Light a candle, brew a cup of tea [or coffee] and enjoy some reading material. Happy Sunday!

Good good links

 

Good good [food for thought]

What Not to Say This Holiday Season. via Better with Sprinkles

Beware the [even well-meant] comments on appearance or weight – you never know somebody’s inner workings. Plus, there’s so much more to love about a person than their looks.

 Abusing Link-Up Parties via The Big Man’s World

We all want to grow our readership. But linking up any of your posts to whichever link-up – relevant or not – isn’t the way to go.

A Hobby Should be Fun not a Source of Stress via Day with KT

If you read my post from earlier this week you’ll know why I whole-heartedly agree with this.

 

Good good [advice and inspiration]

Pay it forward challenge via Today’s the best day

A serious oldie post but the idea behind it is timeless. Paying it forward always pays off for both sides: in happiness.

7 Things Happy, Healthy People Do Every Morning via Marc and Angel Hack Life

The way we start our days impacts how we continue to go through them immensely.

Especially when we’re busy it’s important to do some prep work, make sleep a priority and practice self-love.
How to Start a Meditation Practice via Better with Sprinkles
Have you thought about trying meditation before but guessed it was really complicated? This step-by-step guideline looks super easy to follow through.
12 Proven Habits of Happy People via live bold and bloom
Smalls acts of kindness, staying optimistic [or learning how to] and nurturing relationships are key to keep us happy.
Love this! It’s truly the little things we can do or think of that make us see the blessing in life and feel grateful.
Fitness

How to work out when you don’t want to work out via Kelly runs for food

We all have those days where we’re not feeling it. These are some great ideas to still get moving.

How to Become a Morning Workout Person via Lake Shore Runner

I’m most definitely no morning person but with these tips even I might be able to make the occasional morning workout happen.

 

Blogging

Top FREE Blogging Tools via Healthy Helper

Get by with a little help of these apps and websites that make blogging easier and more fun.

 

The Ridiculously Simple Way to Immediately Influence People via The Muse

Who knew a post-it could change so much? Further proof it’s the little things that count.

 

Do-it-yourself

2015 Printable Instagram Calendars via going home to roost

Has it really been a year already since I first featured this? A great idea for a personalized gift.

 

 

 Good good [posts to make you smile]

 Beauty comes in all shapes and sizes via Peanut Butter and Jenny

Not what you’d expect – but a sweet Christmas-themed gift to your computer instead …

 

Good good [food]

 Homemade Orange Chocolate Bars via My Whole Food Life

Only four ingredients and voilà: homemade refined sugar-free chocolate!

Banana Bread Granola via Clean Eats, Fast Feets

Granola created by Meghan is always a win. Oh, and bananas in any form or dates never hurt, either.

 Samoa Cookie Dough Bark via The Cookie Crunicles

Everybody likes cookie dough and combined with chocolate? Even better.

No Added Sugar Cinnamon-Spice Raisin Cookies via An Avocado a Day

‘tis the season for cookies and these are for when you feel like taking a short break from the traditional sugary ones.

Flourless double chocolate brownies via Running with Spoons

Can you say brownie perfection?! Now I just need to figure out if these work with flax eggs.

Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Chickpea Blondies {gluten free & vegan-friendly} via Ambitious Kitchen
I want these. Right now. That is all.

Dark Chocolate, Cranberry and Pecan Frozen Yogurt (aka Dickens’ Ice Cream) via Eat Healthy, Eat Happy

It’s definitely not ice cream season anymore but would you say no to this??

I’m not a cheesecake person by any means but ditching the unneccessary crust, eggs and heaps of sugar plus making it dippable? Sounds good to me. Really good.

Kale Chips 5 Ways via The Iron You

Why buy kale chips if you can easily make your own? Salt and vinegar or smoked paprika flavour? I’m in!

 Healthy Casserole Recipes via Fitsugar [I didn’t agree with the actual title]

By now you know casseroles hold a special place in my heart and some of these sound really good.

Quinoa, Portobello and Roasted Red Pepper Chili via Eat Healthy, Eat Happy

A little older already but chili is one dish I could eat day in, day out – always good to have a few more recipes at hand.

 

 

Happiness-inducing today: A conversation with an old lady at the grocery store. I helped her find an ingredient and afterwards she told me the recipe she wanted to use it in. About five times all over but maybe she just wanted to make sure I got it ;)?

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What are your surefire ways to get in the Christmas mood?

 

 

11 thoughts on “Good good links #69

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually, I was this close to preparing it to share at the office today but then was hesitant because I didn’t know how my colleagues would react to the concept of eating unbaked cookie dough. Yes, weird, I know, but it’s not a thing over here – it should be, though. Another time!

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Thanks for sharing my brownies, girl! ❤ The Christmas spirit can be a tricky thing. If nothing works for me at home, I find that getting out and immersing myself in an environment that's full of it really helps. It's hard to get into that spirit on your own — being around others and feeding off each others energy really helps.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That might be it. Our workplace isn’t Christmas-y at all, either. So I figure I’ll just wait unti finally being at my parents’ again on Christmas Eve.
      Those brownies … obviously not vegan but my family would go crazy over them.

Leave a Reply

