The other kind of peanut butter [+ Frozen Crunchy Peanut Protein Bites]

By now all of you know I have a slight full-blown addiction to any nut butter.  The infamous white almond butter? A staple. Peanut butter often takes a seat on the back burner – a pity! – but lately my cravings for it have outdone the almond admiration.  So it’s the perfect time to [finally] talk about a new-to-me product: Powdered Peanut Butter.

PPB_powdered peanut butter

Any US readers will likely be familiar with its equivalent – PB2 – but over here it’s not a commonly known food yet. Here’s a short low-down on Powdered Peanut Butter:

  • it comes in three flavours: Original, Chocolate  (both contain sugar) and a stevia – sweetened kind.
  • the ingredients are: Peanut Flour (Nuts), Palm Oil Powder, Sugar, Salt [for the Original flavour]
  • low in fat and high in protein  [ 42.8 g per 100 g/3.5 oz for the Original flavour]
  • naturally gluten-free
  • approved by The Vegetarian Society as well as vegan

While I’m generally skeptical towards refined low-fat foods I was excited to try the samples the friendly people at HaleNaturals generously sent me.

The ways I tried it were mixed up plain as a dip, in savoury sauces and in oatmeal. I often added it to my usual zucchini oats. The advantage I found towards adding real peanut butter was that the flavour was distributed throughout the bowl a lot better. I don’t know about you but I find the peanut flavour gets lost when I add actual nut butter as opposed to peanut flour or powdered peanut butter. I still topped my breakfast with almond butter.  Double nut action? Any day.

oat bran_zucchini_peanut flour

Pros:

Powdered Peanut Butter is a great add-in for oatmeal or dips. if you’re looking for a lower-calorie alternative, are already a peanut flour or smoothie fan [blends well] this might be right up your alley. I might follow up with a few more recipes using the PPB once I find a little time for experimenting. Mug cakes or brownies? All the possibilites …

Cons:

On its own I didn’t find the flavour to be rich enough so for me it’s not a peanut butter alternative when eaten straight up [my favourite way with nut butters]

It was a bit sweet – all kinds either contain sugar [12.4 per 3.5 oz] or stevia – for my palate. That might be because I  grew up eating natural unsweetened peanut butter so it could be different if you are used to the kind with added sugar.

Another negative point for me is the added palm oil. While not being super strict it’s an ingredient I try to avoid where I can.

PPB_peanut butter_original

Overall, I still liked it and can see a lot of potential for future recipe experimentation. For now, let’s go with an impromtu snack I came up with when I found half a tub of cream cheese leftover from another recipe. Fresh out of peanut butter [I know – how did I let it go that far??] I went with the PPB and just got mixing.  The result is a delicious frozen snack for when you want a little something-something with a protein kick.

Crunchy Peanut Protein Bites

2Peanut butter cheesecake bite_PPB

1 1/2 oz (42 g) cream cheese
1 heaped tbsp PPB (7 g) – I used the original flavour
1 tsp honey
Salt to taste
1/8 cup puffed amaranth  (8 g)

Mix PPB with 1 tbsp of water to reach a smooth consistency. Add salt.
Add cream cheese and honey. Stir to combine. Mix in puffed amaranth.
Let sit for a moment – at best in the fridge.
Drop teaspoonfuls of the mixture on aluminium foil and put into the freezer to firm. Depending on how long you let them sit in the freezer you might want to let them thaw for a bit before eating. No damaging your teeth here!

Peanut butter cheesecake bite_PPB

Eat ALL cheesecake bites. No sharing.

Disclaimer: HaleNaturals sent me these products free of charge for review purposes. The company didn’t compensate me for this post and all the opinions expressed are my own.

If you feel like trying another peanut butter-y frozen treat – shhh, I still do despite complaining about the cold! – this Healthy PB & J Frozen Yogurt might be the perfect fit.

faux_froyo

 

Happiness inducing today: Talking to one of my best friends on the phone. I really needed to talk and we discovered yet another similarity we share. Friends are true blessings.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

Are you still craving frozen snacks during the colder months, too? Tell me I’m not the only one!

Have you tried PPB or another kind of powdered peanut butter before?

What are your favourite ways to use it?

11 thoughts on “The other kind of peanut butter [+ Frozen Crunchy Peanut Protein Bites]

  1. Elsie @ Sharing Healthiness says:

    I have been buying PB2 for some time. You are right about the flavor it is milder but I still like it. I tend to add it to warm drinks or to yoghurt for a different taste and it works for me! Frozen snacks push it a little bit too far for me but I still enjoy cold fruits and drinks. 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Right?! It’s great for double-nut action when stirring the powder into a dish or baking with it and then topping it off with real nut butter. Food can never be nutty enough [TWSS]. (:

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m like you. Pretty sure once I start thinking about it for a little longer – or: once there’s little left in the jar – I’ll come up with a million ways to use it. But right off the bat I can’t think of anything fancy. Typical with products I’ve anticipated owning for a long time, haha.

  2. The Vegan 8 says:

    I have tried PB2 and while it tasted good, I agree, I was dissapointed that sugar was added. To me, removing and dissecting a whole food and adding sugar doesn’t make it healthier at all. I’d rather eat just peanut butter. BUT I can see how it would be good for flavor adding like in drinks or cookies, etc. easily. These balls looks really yummy and I love how simple they are!
    I still have a full jar of PB2 in my fridge and have been wanting to use it for baking, but just haven’t done so yet!

  3. Khushboo Thadani (@KhushbooThadani) says:

    I’ve never tried powdered peanut butter but part of me is intrigued. I like the idea of it being a natural protein powder but I am not sure I can get over the fact that it’s low in fat- that just doesn’t seem right! And I’m so with you about cold snacks in the winter….mmm to homemade protein bites & refrigerated fruit ;)!

Leave a Reply

