Good good links #70

Oh hello, 4th of Advent! If you’ve been following along these past weeks you’ll know I hadn’t gotten into the Christmas mood yet and it won’t surprise you when I say that the big day’s coming waaaay early for me this year. As in: I still haven’t gotten the majority of my presents or planned dinner. Not a worry for the non-vegetarians in my family but if I want a vegan roast or something along the lines I need to plan in advance. However, I already told you I couldn’t care less – as long as potatoes and that one side dish are around I’ll be a happy camper. Actually, I will be simply because it means I get to see my family again. I. can’t. wait.

Okay, enough Christmas ramblings: you came here for the good good links, no? You will notice that even after my post there are still a handful with holiday advice but that’s because they’re of the good kind. All that being said what’s left to say is: happy 4th of Advent/happy Sunday and enjoy the links!

Good good links

 

 

Good good [food for thought]

The Post-ED identity via Better with Sprinkles
One of the hardest parts of recovery is having to give up on what used to be your identity for years and [re-]discover yourself beyond it.
Time to face the truths about that ‘perfect body’: Obsession, missing out on time with loved ones, setting rules – it’s not fun.

The Most Important Holiday Weight Loss Tip You Will Ever Read via Em-powered Wellness

Read this and then enjoy the holidays because: “when you focus on your weight or body size, you are not able to focus on what truly matters”

 

 

Good good [advice and inspiration]

 Staying healthy over the holidays via Khushboo’s Blog

It’s totally okay to let go of your routine, indulge a little more and exercise less if you feel like it. Just don’t go to any extremes.

It may sound selfish at first but gifting others by making self-care a priority is more beneficial to their lives, too, then you might guess.
Patience is a virtue – one I don’t posess. Time to start learning to stop and smell the flowers even if you’d rather rush past them to get to wherever you’re headed.

On the Power of I Don’t Know via Em-powered Wellness

Asking questions doesn’ equal admitting defeat: it shows your dedication to doing things right.

Recovering From An Eating Disorder Doesn’t Mean You Can’t Be Social via Mind Body Green

Getting back into socializing can be really hard but it’s so worth it.

Coping at Christmas via Libero Network

Taking care of your own needs and finding your personal best balance can help ease the anxiety around socializing and food.

Health and Fitness

Foods Which Ease Anxiety Symptoms via Clean Eats, Fast Feets

No, food doesn’t cure anxiety but making some good nutritious choices along with further treatment can still help you feel better.

Why Setting “Just for Today” Goals Might Work for You via Your Trainer Paige

Making smaller changes for a day only can seem less daunting and be easier to accomplish than long-time ones. I’m definitely going to try this!

20 Lazy-Girl-Approved Fitness Hacks via FitSugar

We all have those days where we’re not feeling a workout. Some good ideas to get in a little movement but not push yourself over the edge.

Staying Active During the Holiday Season by Becki (Olives ‘n’ Wine) via Hidden Fruits and Veggies

No time for a long workout? Some tips to keep moving and make it fun for the whole family.

The Truth About Juice Cleanses via hello healthy

They’re all the rage in the healthy living scene but might not be the utmost healthiest choice you assumed they were.

Blogging
A Writer’s Manifesto via Snack Therapy
Amazing. I couldn’t agree more. Write. Just write. it. all. out.

Most Popular Posts on ProBlogger 2104: Creating Content via ProBlogger

Can’t think of a topic to blog about? Here’s a list of helpful posts to get you started.

 

10 Reasons Why You Should Blog via Sweet, Short & Stylish

In case you’re not a blogger yet and needed any more arguments: get on board!

The Outsider’s Christmas Carol: A Different Way to Survive the Holidays via The Freedom Experiment

Even though I enjoy celebrating Christmas the traditional way I like to see this advice in an general sense and am all for doing things the way that feels good to you guiltlessly.

 

What You Say On Facebook Reveals A Lot About Your Personality via Mind Body Green

It’s fascinating how much we’re unintentionally giving away about ourselves in conversations and comments.

 

 

 Good good [posts to make you smile]

10 Moments that will Light up your Heart this Christmas via Sharing Healthiness

Oh yes. Aren’t you getting all giddy and excited reading this already?

How to End 2014 With a Bang: 101 Ways to Ring in the New Year! via Huffington Post

Great ideas on how to make the best of the remaining few days of the year and start 2015 on a fantastic note.

 

Good good [food]

 Chocolate-Dipped Peanut Butter Cookies with Pretzels by Monique (Ambitious Kitchen) via A Cup of Jo

 Anything chocolate-dipped is awesome and with a salty element added to the equation? Yesss.

The Lazy Vegan’s Tiramisu via honey and figs kitchen
Okay, I was honestly trying to come up with something more creative to say but after staring a the pictures for too long all I’ve got for you is: hand. me. a. spoon.

Heather’s Coconut Pecan Chocolate Caramel Squares via Keepin’ It Kind

A maple-sweetened pretzel base topped with date caramel and finished with chocolate – dreeeamy.

No-Bake Vegan Vanilla Bean Chocolate Bars via Gluten-Free Vegan Girl

Oh my. I have no words for how amazing these look. Aside from über-amazing.

5 Ingredient Vegan Lemon Cheesecake via Vie De La Vegan

Another no-bake cake and a raw dessert that for once doesn’t call for any hard to find ingredients. Win!

Chocolate Caramel Layer Pie via Feasting on Fruit

An ‘old’ post but I just found it this week and don’t tell me it wasn’t worth sharing. Nutritious caramel and chocolate action?!

One tablespoon and Small Batch Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan) via Top with Cinnamon

A batch of cookies just for you. Or a loved one if you decide to be nice and share.

 Hearty Minestrone Soup via The Nifty Cupcake

Just the way I like my soups: simple, quick to prepare, filled with vegetables, beans and some grains [or pasta in this one].

 Pumpkin Goulash with Bread Dumplings via Elephantastic Vegan

I like pumpkin, I’m a Semmelknödel fiend – what’s not to like?! If you’ve never had Semmelknödel I highly recommend making up for it!

 

 

Happiness-inducing today: Talking to my mum on the phone. I’ve been thinking about a lot of things again lately and she did a great job and calming me down.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

11 thoughts on “Good good links #70

  1. Kyra says:

    Thanks for mentioning my 5-ingredient raw lemon cheesecake! I hope you have a merry Christmas…it has come around too soon for me too, I am only semi-organised… :\

  2. Elsie @ Sharing Healthiness says:

    Thank you so much for featuring my post! I also feel this month is going by too fast! I still want to to do tons of things with my family but I guess it will be better if I to try and concentrate on really enjoying a few things. If I can get the most out of a couple of experiences I am sure I will feel as if I put my heart and soul into them. 🙂

  3. Bianca says:

    Thank you so much for including my recipe for the pumpkin goulash & bread dumplings in the list! Me and my boyfriend love Semmelknödel, especially in winter. Decadent Food For Ever!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

