The 2014 Blogger Survey

Did everybody have a wonderful Christmas [or still celebrating depending on the time you’re reading]? Are you still nursing happy food babies or trying to find your presents below piles of wrapping paper ;)? However you’re spending these days I hope they are nothing short of aaaah-mazing.

Today I’m following Arman’s invitation to recap the year of blogging survey-style.

 

TOP THREE FAVOURITE POSTS-

That’s not a fair question to ask somebody who just can’t decide on anything.

1. You are not what you eat.– Vegetarian. Vegan. Paleo. Macrobiotic. Runner. Yogi. Cross-Fitter. Just because you’re having a steak for breakfast and lift heavy weights while I sing the praises of oatmeal and run doesn’t mean we can’t be friends.

 

2. [Your kind of] Balance is best.– Everybody’s talking about balance in every aspect of life. But there’s no ultimate one-size-fits all definition of what exactly ‘balance’ and ‘moderation’ are. Find your own and don’t let anybody tell you wrong.

3. – The one question to ask when reading “healthy” advice – A post I published just shortly ago but one very dear to me. With new healthy or actually not-so-healthy advice published at piece work rate it’s easy to get overwhelmed – and confused. Take care of yourself by asking this one question to steer clear of anything might affect you negatively.

 

TOP THREE FAVOURITE BLOGGER POSTS- 

It looks like this whole survey involved hard decision for me. Okay, I’ll pick three and then tell you that I’d actually include a lot more from this year’s good good links.

1. Sam [Better with Sprinkles]The Post-ED Identity – A very recent post but one that was serious food for thought and couldn’t have come at any better time for me. It’s a topic I think [and the comments on it tell] many people can relate to.

2. LucieHave a little … patience. – The one virtue I clearly don’t have: patience. Especially when it comes to expectations I’m having for myself. Why don’t I have my life figured out by now? Why am I not recovered yet? Why …? The many times we beat ourselves up when all it’d take would be: a little patience.

3. CarlyThe Scale – No, the scale doesn’t lie. Not one bit. But: it doesn’t tell you more than a number. And you are way more than a number: your experiences, your happy and sad moments, accomplishments, friends, talents …

 

TOP THREE EVENTS OF 2014-

Given I don’t really go into details of daily life happenings these will seem somewhat random but here we go!

1. Moving into my first own apartment– Admittedly, I wasn’t thrilled about the prospect of moving and I still don’t feel completely at home in the city. But finding that I could still make it work and not be totally lost is an accomplishing thought.

2. Landing my first job post-graduation – Even though it’s just a temporary one [the job search will continue soon] it’s a great experience to work in the field I studied and truly enjoy. Writing has always been my passion and even in my short time here I got to meet many interesting people.

3.  Growing my blog and finding my ‘voice’: During my first months and years as a blogger I wasn’t sure where I was going with it all. It’s still an on-going journey but these past months I’ve felt more in the groove. In the past I felt the need to join certain link-up parties every week. While I still enjoy reading or participating in them there are just times when I neither feel like it nor do I have relevant content – and that’s okay. I’d rather share what’s really going on in my mind.

 

TOP THREE MEALS OF 2014- 

Not neccessarily all meals but rather food obsessions I noticed in my diet this year.

1. Vegan buffets – Imagine a buffet laden with various stir-fries, grain dishes, chili, goulash and lasagna – all vegan. Yes, please. I got to experience this full-on deliciousness a few times and it was good. Very good.

Lunch out_vegan_buffet_July 2014

2. Crunchy Chickpea Protein Bars– Talk about a true obsession. I’ve been making at least one batch of these for office snacks ever since I posted the recipe. As I ran out of a few ingredients I can’t find around here anymore I also experimented with the recipe and will have to update it.

Protein Bars 8

 

3. Polenta– This one was a real surprise for me because previously I not only wasn’t too fond of it but snarked about the much overlooked cornmeal. Then all of a sudden – bam! – I found myself craving it, picked up a package and ate it all of the time. Prepared the right way it is SO delicious not to mention way faster to cook than any other grain.

Polenta casserole 4

TOP THREE BLOGGING TRENDS OF 2014- 

Cheating isn’t cool but I really can’t think of three. So two it is.

1.  Sugar detoxes. Maybe it was a trend before already but I think it’s taken over completely this year. Sugar detoxes are all the rage in the blog world. I actually have a post planned on my view on the whole sugar debate – coming up after the holidays. (:

2. Full-time blogging and e-books. One positive “trend” [if you want to call it that] I noticed was a lot of bloggers quitting their jobs and turning their blogs into their full-time profession. Naming just a few there would be Davida and Monique.  Also, many bloggers – including Davida again, Lee and Kylie. I’m seriously impressed and inspired by these ladies and others taking the plunge and it’s awesome to witness their [much deserved] success. It goes to show that blogging can be way more than a hobby. And isn’t it more than just that for many of us already?

————

Happiness-inducing today: Friends who are there to listen and calm you down whenever you need it.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Tell me …

1) your top three posts in 2014 (yours or others’)

2) top three events in your life

3) Did you notice any other blogging trends? I’m curious to hear if you spotted more than I did.

7 thoughts on “The 2014 Blogger Survey

  1. Bianca says:

    I love recaps for the end of the year! I’m always doing one with my boyfriend around sylvester. Like favorite fruit, favorite drink, favorite movie, favorite breakfast,….

    1) my top three posts in 2014
    http://www.elephantasticvegan.com/pink-beet-cupcakes/
    http://www.elephantasticvegan.com/baked-donuts-rosewater-glaze/
    http://www.elephantasticvegan.com/coconut-panna-cotta-blueberry-topping/

    2) top three events in my life
    I’m leaving this one out 😀 This is just way to hard

    3) Did you notice any other blogging trends?
    I think it’s hard to say there are blogging trends, there is just such a huge choice of blogs. It’s great to find so much support on the internet, no matter what diet or food preferences one’s having.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The top three events were the hardest for me, too. Maybe I need to take note and mark special events in my calendar this year?
      I fully agree with you that the variety of blogs our there and mutual support independent on age, diet, country or whatever else is the best part of the blog world.

      • Bianca says:

        I’ve read about having an empty jar and every time something good happens to write it on a little piece of paper and throw it in the jar. At the end of year you’ll have a jar full of great memories. I think I’m going to do this for 2015! 🙂

      • Miss Polkadot says:

        Oh yes, I’ve done that in previous years, too. Admittedly not in a jar – my ‘excuse’ was that I didn’t find a pretty one – but I’ve been taking [mental] notes on all those little happy everyday moments. Only none of those would have qualified as ‘top three moments’ because they were really small things.

  2. Arman @ thebigmansworld says:

    I’m glad you were able to find your ‘voice’ this year- I think that is so imperative for any blog. I’m currently in the mindset of confusion- Hopefully can get it sorted soon!

    BTW- I just saw some purple cabbage- That is my FAVOURITE German dish ever. Even more than currywurst.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I have yet to comment but saw your post on reclaiming your blogging voice and yes, it’s key to staying true to ourselves online.
      I’m glad to hear you were able to discover the magic that is ‘Rotkohl’. Not like I was biased or anything but my grandma makes the best red cabbage ever. That dish is crazy addictive and makes me forget about whatever else is served with it. Currywurst (vegan, of course)? What is that even?!

Leave a Reply

