Help me SMARTen up my goals!

Hello!

Are we really a full week [+ one day] into the new year already?! It’s crazy. Does anybody else hope 2015 will slow down a liiiittle compared to last year? I sure do. Anyway, hopes are a good bridge to what I actually want to think about out loud. More specifically, the goals I hope to achieve during the next twelve months. Thanks to Amanda for hosting this great link-up another year [yes, I expect her to keep up with it and not change her mind 😉 ].

Thinking-Out-Loud

Despite previously saying I wasn’t really  into setting resolutions for a new year nearing the end of 2014 I felt the strong urge to write down some goals and post them for the [blog] world to see.  Keyword accountability! Part of why I decided on this was that I know there’s change coming up for me in anyway so might as well use that drift, right? Plus, a few of the things I want to change are long overdue and I’m sure you’ll be able to relate to that feeling of constant procrastination.  Not good. So hi there, 2015, you’d better be awesome. Or rather: I figure I have to make an effort to create a better year than the last. Hence the goals so let’s get …

Going for the goals

The one part of goal-setting that probably kept me from it in the past was that I couldn’t figure out how to make them SMART [Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely]. And that’s where I’d appreciate to hear your ideas! I jotted down my overall goals but would appreciate your help in making them SMART.

Food/cooking

Lately, I’ve found myself sticking to the same few dishes throughout the week and only getting a little more creative on the weekends.

1. Use up what’s in my pantry before buying more.

Hello, overbuyer. It’s pretty unbelievable just how much food I managed to pile up throughout all of my moves and in general. My excuse for not using certain ingredients so far was saving them for specific occasions [that clearly never happened …] but that has to stop now. Popular among German [vegan] bloggers Carola inspired this with her Use up along challenge.

SMART: Go through my pantry and create a list of everything in there, then meal plan around these items.

2. Try other bloggers’ recipes.

There’s a growing list of recipes I want to recreate and it’s about time I tackle these in 2015. I’ll update you on my progress because if you’re anything like me you’re more likely to try a recipe that others have prepared and recommended before.

SMART: Post a list of recipes I want to try and cross them off once I did.

3. Eat out more often.

This isn’t contradictory to my first goal as I hardly ever ate out last year. It’s generally not too common over here but for me, my ED has been playing a role in my hesitation here, too. My goal is to eat out at least 12 times this year making it – you guessed it – once a month on average. That might not happen every month but I hope to reach this number at the end of 2015.

Blogging

Blogging truly has become an integral part of my life and I hope to further grow and improve my blog in 2015. Back when I started I never imagined I’d still be posting more than two years later.

1. Figure out a posting schedule and blog more regularly.

2. Get back into the kitchen to create new recipes.

*Become self-hosted. This hugely depends on several factors that I have yet to figure out so I don’t see it happen during the first few months of the year.

2. Take at least one “blogcation”.

I stole this one from Hannah because I think it’s a great idea to take some time – a few days, a week – off from blogging to return with fresh ideas.

 

Life in general

Get up, socialize and live.

In parts due to moving but generally being an introvert I have slacked on the socializing part a lot last year – and I missed it. Actually, I’d call myself – to use an established term – an extroverted introvert because I do enjoy being around others a lot.  I can be quite bubbly once I set foot outside. It just takes a little extra pushing to conquer my anxiety.

SMART: Well, that’s where I’d be thankful for any input. I can’t quite decide how to get started on this.  Ideally, I’d

 

1. Get more sleep.

Sleepy

That’s a huge huge HUGE one for me. I can’t even recall how many times I added it to my monthly goals yet hardly saw a true change. One night of only five hours of sleep might be neglectable. But when it becomes a regular?  Red flag. My goal are around seven hours per night on weekdays.

SMART: Slowly drop from my current bed time to a more acceptable one even if just in 5 or 10 minute steps.

Turn off the laptop 30 minutes before going to bed.

Budget and save money.

Probably one of the most popular goals?! I have yet to figure out the details on this one as my attempt to simply write down every purchase in past years was … less than successful. I bookmarked some helpful articles but would appreciate input from those of you who have the whole budgeting business down!

94 Creative Ways to Save Money Today via Greatist

From Start to Finish – Making a Budget via Long Drive Journey

 

As you can see there’s a lot to do in making my goals SMART still so help a girl out!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Working with a  telephoto lens at work for the first time ever. I don’t have one for my own camera so using it on the job was a fun experience. But wow are they even heavier than they look! 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Help me make my goals SMARTer! Maybe you have or had similar goals before and can help me get started?

What are your goals for this year?

9 thoughts on “Help me SMARTen up my goals!

  1. dpageteach00 says:

    I can relate to you and your goals somuch! I too struggle with making the same dishes day in and day out. Partly do to convenience partly comfort ( ed related). I trying to branch out more. Be thrifty with food spending ( it can get pricey but I can plan ways to save on my healthy eats) I too would like to eat out more often just to break out of my routine and comfort zone and to socialize. Since I am an introvert too like you! I do enjoy people just in short increments. Good luck eith your goals!!!!!

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’m not normally a resolution maker either, but this year I definitely got hit by an urge to make some goals for the coming year. That being said, I’m still ironing mine out… I like to take a few weeks to get over the whole New Year craziness and see how I’m feeling. But I’m definitely keeping the SMART thing in mind! And one of the biggest things for me is making goals specific, and not vague. So for something like “trying other bloggers’ recipes,” you could maybe say “try one recipe every two weeks” or whatever. That makes it a lot easier to measure and gauge 🙂

  3. Aja says:

    I love those goals. I can’t imagine not going out even just once a month, although by September last year we probably didn’t go out at all until the end of November because of life. And I use Bluehost for my blog. Fairly good price and easy to use. They’re partnered with WordPress so it’s not unfamiliar territory completely.

  4. seidentofu says:

    Hey-ho! As an introvert who developed a case of severe social anxiety, I get your problem with finding a “social goal”, that one the one hand makes you go out and enjoy (or at least experience) life and on the other hand soothes your inner introvert. Maybe my strategy helps you (or inspires you to find your own): I like to give myself a quota for social activities. Depending on your situation it could be, once a week going out (lunch, coffee, beer) with colleges, or once a month meeting friends outside your apartment. When your quota is done, you don’t have to go out and more importantly you don’t have to beat yourself up for not being social. Fulfilled my quota – see you next week. (And, if you’re like me, remember: you don’t own anybody an explanation.)
    Or go basic, like I do, and once a month venture out into the world and see something new. This can be done alone and can only take 1 or 2 hours. I have an ongoing list with things to do or places to go – very basic stuff like visiting the museum or biking to some historic landmark. I love this, because it makes me experience life, without the added social pressure!
    Ok, this went on ridiculously long- sorry. My goal for 2015 is “just” to be calm and at ease and not fret about the future 🙂
    Gesche

  5. caileejoy says:

    Look at you go!! Way to be “SMART”!!! I love it!! …and for better sleep checkout my most recent post!! 🙂 happy 2015!!

  6. Elsie @ Sharing Healthiness says:

    I can totally relate with your goals!! When it comes to trying new recipes what I have been doing lately is innovating part of the dish e.g. if you have some roasted potatoes, veggie burgers and salad try making a new variation or trying a new recipe for the potatoes but keep the burgers and salad the same. Go for small changes. As far as socializing that is something I am working out too! I am planning on assigning an activity per month i.e. say that January you will go for coffee dates, then February it may be cinema outings….Hope it helps!! xx

Leave a Reply

