Good good links #76

… and just like that it’s February! Not like I wanted to make up any conspiracies but I feel 2015 has its very own lofty goal of beating the last year in terms of speed. How in the world did January fly by in the blink of an eye??? Okay, I’ll spare you the rambling. But still …

Good thing this month hasn’t only passed by fast but left all of us with even more inspiring, thought-provoking reads and even more recipes to pin actually try. Here are some of my favourites – enjoy!

Happy Sunday!

 

Good good links

 

Good good [food for thought]

Don’t trust arbitrary numbers in magazines or online calculators. They’re never taking into accountance all of you so trust your inner voice.

Thoughts on Body Comparison via Kiss my Broccoli

Measure your happiness and progress in feelings, not pant sizes. A little more booty never hurts, either.

Is the Fitness Tracker the New Scale? via Simply Lindsey

Don’t let either influence the way you live your life. No number can measure how you feel so let that guide how [and how much] you move.

 

Good good [advice and inspiration]

I’m Not Pregnant. It’s Just My Belly via Huffington Post

Our self-confidence should never depend on outside judgement but first and foremost come from within. Easier said than done but this example shows it’s so worth working on it. One comment shouldn’t ruin our day.

Why I Love Traveling On My Own via Gina Alyse

I’m not much of a traveler [yet] but these make me think I should venture out alone more often. Though the getting to know people on the train point has been so true for me already, too.

Are You Good at Making Excuses? via The Happiness Project

Aren’t we all?! What’s your most-used one?

6 Tips to Never Be Late Again via Huffington Post

They’re spot on with the examples and I was able to take away a lot from these.

 

Blogging

5 Ways to Improve Your Food Photography with Artificial Light via Pinch of Yum

If you’re anything like me this is the post [and course] you’ve been waiting for.

Three Pieces Of Advice For Introverted Bloggers via Jenny Purr

No need to feel ashamed or stay away from blogging: helpful tips for introverts.

7 Free Tools for Tracking Blog Post Performance via A Beautiful Mess

Stats aren’t everything but for some purposes it’s nice – or neccessary – to know your numbers.

if you like it then you shoulda put [your watermark] on it via Peanut Butter and Jenny

Don’t let anybody take credit for your work – plus, watermarks [can] look pretty awesome.

The Definitive List of Social Media Acronyms and Abbreviations, Defined via Buffer Blog

Much needed! Just don’t expect me to know these by heart from now on. Kudos to anybody who does.

Health and Fitness

8 Ways to Prioritize Self-Care. via Better with Sprinkles

Taking care of ourselves should always be our highest priority [and I’m so guilty of letting it slip lately].
Some really good ideas! Now if only I didn’t share an office with a handful of colleagues …

I’m a fan of no-equipment-required workouts and it could hardly get easier and more effective than this one.

 

 

Beauty

 10 Natural Remedies for Everyday Ailments via hello natural

No need to go for lots of chemicals for every little blemish.

 My Effortless Method To Clean All Your Brushes in 5 Minutes via The Health-Minded

Investing just a little bit of time can help keep your brushes clean and even saves money in the long run.

De-Cluttering Your Kitchen for the New Year via Food 52

Pointed out by Davida this is a good reminder to down-size the space where all the [cooking] magic happens.

 

 

 Good good [posts to make you smile + DIYs]

The Secrets I Keep From My Daughter via Today’s the Best Day

Sweet, hilarious and downright honest: a beautiful post not just for mums.

 

Good good [food]

Vegan chocolate chip banana bread oatmeal cookies via Running with Spoons

Match-made-in-heaven cookies. Great ingredients you likely already have at hand – time to get baking!

No-Cook Mint Chocolate Mousse {Vegan, Date-Sweetened} via Healthy Food for Living

No words. If I could choose one dish to appear in front of me right now – it’d be this, hands down.

Bajra Masala Khichdi via Indian Khana

I’m a huge fan of the wonderful spice mixes in Indian dishes and this one sounds really intriguing.

 Vegan Cauliflower Tots via My Whole Food Life

Tater tots got fierce competition! I’ve tried another recipe with less successful outcome before but this one makes me want to try it again.

Asian Broccolette Polenta via Produce on Parade

No broccolette over here but being a fan of Asian food, broccoli and polenta I’m convinced this can only be amazing.

Moroccan Polenta Casserole via Pancake Warriors

A little more elaborate in the making but this looks so worth it. Bonus points for using many of my favourite spices.

Quinoa Tots via Vegan Does It

Move over [for a minute], potatoes! The second non-‘tater tot in a post but can you ever have too many?!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Overhearing two guys in the line behind me at the store – one of them apparently being some kind of artist – talking about work-related travels to a small town. It happened to be one close to where I grew up so I chimed in and we had a short chat about it. You know I like talking to strangers.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

6 thoughts on “Good good links #76

Leave a Reply

