Good good links #77

My wishes have been heard! The weather gods sent maybe not sun but at least warmer temperatures my way. Obviously just in time for the weekend so I was able to enjoy a great day shopping and eating out with my mum. I was quite successful in the shopping department, the food was delicious and after weeks of not meeting up mum-and-daughter time was a treat, too.

I don’t have any more words right now but I know the links are speaking for themselves so without further ado: enjoy!

Happy Sunday!

 

Good good links

 

Good good [food for thought]

The Shadow Proves the Sunshine via Long Drive Journey

It’s easy to forget about the permanent good and blessings we have in life during those tough times. But: it really always is there. Just hidden.

What You Think You Become via Brittany Lesser

Mentality has a much larger impact on how we and others perceive ourselves than we might guess.

What Do Calories Count? via Fiterazzi

 “Numbers will never tell us what matters most” – Calories eaten or burned never equal happiness – it’s the feeling behind them that makes the experience.

Good good [advice and inspiration]

Toppings are the Best Part via Sharing Healthiness

A beautiful analogy of the most important part of food and life in general.

Why I Say I’m Recovered From My Eating Disorder via Fitting It All In

The ultimate step to free yourself from a label you never wanted to wear. Relapses might happen but a change in the way you talk about yourself loosens the grip an ED has on you. <- not there yet myself

What You Wear Matters via Creating Better Tomorrow

Clothes don’t make people but they help boost our confidence and choosing a feel-good or fancy outfit is a way of showing self-respect. Dress to feel good.

9 Reasons Not To Abandon The Art Of The Handwritten Letter via Huffington Post

All of these are so true and reminders to pick up my letter writing habit again.

 The Difference Between Letting Go and Giving Up via Danielle Dowling

Feel like a failure because you gave up on that one goal or friendship? Maybe you actually didn’t but let go intentionally knowing you’d tried everything you could and released yourself of stress instead.

45 Ways To Fall In Love Every Day via Serendipity and Creativity

Say yes. Respect yourself and others. Speak your mind. Let’s go and do this!

Home Ec: Cures for the Common Smell (All-Natural Odor Fixers) via Design*Sponge

Can you tell I’m a little hippie at heart wanting to eliminate chemicals where I can?!

Ask the Diet Doctor: Coconut Sugar vs. Table Sugar via Shape Magazine

Just in case I wasn’t the only one still wondering about the nutritional differences. [If I was indeed: don’t tell me, okay? (:]

 

Blogging

Be More Intentional With What You Consume via Jenny Purr

I’m 99.9 % sure anybody feels stressed by the information overload on social media at times. These are some great ideas to sift out what doesn’t benefit you and focus. 

How to Write Better Posts in Less Time via The Loud Mouth

Keeping a running list of ideas, setting up a plan way in advance and cutting out all distractions are going to help you [and me, really] stay consistent with your blog.

To Date or Not To Date (your blog posts) via Diary of A Semi-Health Nut

I’d never understood why some bloggers’ posts didn’t show dates but now I know [hint: it’s worth considering!].

8 Tips for Social Media Beginners via A Spectacular Life
Not just for newbies but a good reminder if you’ve been in the game for a while, too.
 
Health and Fitness

Wellness Wednesday: The Power of Self-Compassion via An Avocado a Day

We should all start treating ourselves the way we treat our friends – as hard as that is.

How to Eat Clean: The Do’s and Don’ts of Healthy Clean Eating via Clean Eating Veggie Girl

 A truly balanced approach to eating I completely agree with. Life’s not black and white but about enjoying the colours in between, too.

A great guide on the ‘what for’ and ‘where to get it from’ of all key vitamins and minerals.

 

 Good good [posts to make you smile + DIYs]

What’s Up With That: Why Do Cats Love Boxes So Much? via Wired

Cat lovers [and all others wondering]: the long-awaited answer to your question.
I might not be a fan of Valentine’s Day but I still like [most of] these ideas [you can guess which one I’m excluding here].  
 

 

Good good [food]

Raspberry Lemonade (Sugar Free) via Breakfast Drama Queen

No stevia or the likes: a naturally sweet homemade lemonade – pretty sweet idea, if you’re asking me.

Chocolate Cashew Coconut Butter via Allison in Wellnessland

Sweet and spicy cashew butter with a Mexican kick [cayenne pepper!]: Can you say genius?!

Creamy Maple-Roasted Almond Butter with Flaxseeds via Veggie and the Beast Feast

A simple but oh so dreamy flavour combination – I’m not sure I could resist snacking the roasted almonds as is, though.

Salted Dark Chocolate Mousse [+ five more Valentine’s Day chocolate recipes] via Fit Foodie Finds [and friends]

There are no words for the amazingness of this. Or: who wants to serve it to me on Valentine’s??

Whipped Cranberry Porridge via A Cup of Jo

That colour! Actually cream of wheat rather than oatmeal this could easily win a prize for its looks.

Quinoa Breakfast Enchiladas via The Pancake Princess

A first meal to impress. I might change up the filling (eggs) but it’s worth for the homemade enchiladas alone.

 Cheezy Broccoli Poppers (vegan) via Clean Eating Veggie Girl

The recipe I’ve been waiting for ever since Hannah first mentioned it. Kale season is almost over for us so these could be a potential replacement for the amazingness that are cheezy kale chips.

 Cheesy Vegan Quinoa Bake via Choosing Raw

Just the right kind of dish to fuel my nutritional yeast addiction – and apparently I’m on a [vegan] cheesy broccoli kick?!

 

Happiness-inducing today: Obviously the time with my mum and having a great conversation on the train back.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What were you up to this weekend so far?

11 thoughts on “Good good links #77

  1. Elsie @ Sharing Healthiness says:

    Ahhh I am so jealous! The weather here just makes me want to cuddle in bed. Hopefully we will get some sunshine too! I might opt for baking some treats since spending time in the kitchen is always a good idea. At least the oven heat will keep me warm 😉 I am heading to check out those recipe links! Xx

  2. sweetlypetite says:

    I love your link love posts! I just wanted to let you know that some of the captions don’t have the links attached like the “What Do Calories Count?” Thanks so much love, and have a wonderful rest of your day! xx

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you so much – both for your kind words and letting me know about the wonky links. I checked for the one post you mentioned, though, and oddly enough it works for me? Not sure about that.

Leave a Reply

