Good good links #78

Sunday, you snuck up on me out of the blue. Really. And what about that mysterious overrated* Valentine’s Day that was supposed to be this week? Passed by in the blink of an eye. In case you don’t care to find out about my exciting way of spending yesterday – what? You really don’t?? – no need to worry: I’ll leave the stage for the many great posts I came across this past week to shine. Let me know your favourites, too.

Happy Sunday!

* no single lady hatred here. It’s not like you couldn’t make it a great day for yourself after all.

Good good links

 

Good good [food for thought]

20 Things Someone With an Eating Disorder Wishes They Could Tell You via Huffington Post

Thanks to Laura for pointing this one out to me.  Heartbreaking to read but anybody who struggled with an ED will be able to relate – and anybody else might understand a little better after reading.

Laughing at my nightmare  by Shane Burcaw via Huffington Post

Proof that we need to change our perspective more often and shouldn’t be so quick in making assumptions.

Good good [advice and inspiration]

The outcome more often than not makes up for the struggle of starting out in the first place.

First thought: ewww! Second: let’s start cleaning. Like, yesterday. [oldie but goodie post]

25 Things I Do To Love My Body (And How You Can Too) via Corinne Dobbas

It’s so simple you can’t not do at least one of these every day.

11 Signs You Need To Ditch Paleo [or any diet] via Summer Innanen

Noticing some of these in myself was what caused me to change my diet so if you see them in yourself: how about a little break?

How often do you check your phone? via A Cup of Jo

Uh oh … Guilty as charged. Time to mindfully get bored?!

 

 

Health and Fitness

What Happens When You Don’t Work Out For Weeks via Brittany Lesser

Taking a break from working out isn’t the end of the world – nothing bad will happen.

Stretching 101 via the fit label

Guilty as charged: I hardly ever stretch while I really should. Here’s a great overview to get started with a routine.

7 Tips to Reduce Sugar Intake by Lindsay (Lean Green Bean) via Run to the Finish
As much as I like sugar there is always too much of a good thing at some point so it’s good to know where to cut down without having to embark on a crazy sugar detox.

 Blogging

The Blog Closet | Choosing your Domain via Peanut Butter and Jenny

As if she’d looked into my brain [or maybe she did??]: a smart guide to making one of the key decisions for your blog.

How To Overcome Social Media Jealousy via The Nectar Collective

We’ve all felt it at some point and it’s not a nice mindset to have so let it go.

The Ultimate HTML Cheat Sheet For Beginners via I Can Build A Blog

This is what you’ll find me stuying once I have some time off. It’s the ultimate cheat sheet after all so not a quick two-minute read.

SEO for Bloggers: The Non-Techie Guide via By Regina

Who knew learning about SEO was possible in a non-snoozefest-inducing way? Look no further and learn how to make it work.

The Cutthroat World of Food Blogging via Oatmeal with a Fork

Stealing is never polite behaviour and calling a recipe your own when you knowingly copied somebody else’s? “Credit where credit is due.””

 

 Good good [posts to make you smile + DIYs]

 221 Upcycling Ideas That Will Blow Your Mind via Popsugar

Read: too many amazing DIYs you’ll want to try all at once.

DIY Lap Desks (No Sewing Required!) via A Beautiful Mess

 Who knew you could make these handy helpers at home?

 

What’s Your Actual Personality Type? via Buzzfeed

Let me know if this turns out as eerily accurate for you as it did for me! Side note: It’s been forever since I posted one of these.

This Is What Kids Eat For Breakfast Around The World via Distractify

Revealing? Shocking? Or actually unsurprising?

 

 

Good good [food]

Somebody pinch me! This is my defintion of perfection in a pie. Or: very dangerous to be around.

 Raw raspberry cheesecake brownie bars via The Fitnessista

Even as a usually non-cheesecake person I’d be all up for this cashew-based version.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Cup Protein Bars via The Healthy Maven

Cool kids a) are peanut butter-obsessed and b) make their own protein bars. Are you cool like that?

Natural Chocolate Caramel Candies & Caramel Soft Rounds via Nutty for Life

These naturally sweetened treats are further proof of just how magical dates are.

 Small Batch Dark Chocolate Cupcakes for Two via Peas and Crayons

What Jenn really means: Dark chocolate cupcakes for YOU. Times four. These couldn’t look more adorable.

‘ferrero rocher’ chocolate hazelnut truffles via The Foodie Teen

Please try to resist licking your screen if you’re reading this in a public screen lest you want to scare others 😉 .

Meltable Stretchy Vegan Cheese (Sliceable & Shredable) via Creative Vegan Cooking

The ingredient list alone beats any storebought version and the cheese itself looks pretty amazing, too, obviously.

Red Lentil Chickpea Tomato Noodle Soup via The Vegan Pack

Now that’s my kind of packed, filling soup.

 

Happiness-inducing today: Sunshine. A mail from a fellow blogger.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

16 thoughts on “Good good links #78

  1. Laura says:

    Thanks for the shout out, girl. I really do love that article, as well as these Sunday link posts. I think seeing what kids around the world eat is so interesting. They have a lunch version of that too and it’s just soooo different than what anyone would eat here in the states!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank YOU for sharing it. I’ve been thinking about translating it and sending it to friends and family. Itreally helps understand the issue a little better.
      There’s a lunch version? I haven’t seen that one.

  2. Irina says:

    Thanks for the shoutout! Single ladies unite 🙂 Actually…single, non-single, married, etc. ladies all should unite! Female power haha ok I’m done writing this absolutely random comment. Have a great week!

  3. Cindy says:

    Ohh You saved me! I’m at work waiting and waiting and waiting for my project to come in. I’m am not good with time on my hands and a bowl full of chocolate 5 feet away and now I have some good reads to keep me busy!

Leave a Reply

