One chance you shouldn’t miss when blogging

Inspiration strikes at the oddest times. The other day, it came in the form of the Yogi’s wisdom while drinking one of my many cups of tea.

“Empty your mind and let the universe fill you.”

I hope the Yogi won’t mind me stretching his words a little and bringing them into the modern context of the blogiverse [yes, I cringed a little typing this]. Fact is, the words brought up a topic I’d been thinking about for a while already. Why not accept Amanda’s invitation to share my thoughts out loud with you today?

Thinking-Out-Loud

Whenever bloggers talk about their favourite reasons to blog you will hear one thing mentioned as the most important: the community. And honestly, I can go on and on and on […] about this, too. That was my intention with and what we all seemed to agree on in last week’s post. Meeting alike minds is giving you that warm and fuzzy feeling every time you open your browser, start delving into new posts and discover how similar people you’ve never met in real life are.

Where else in the world would people from all over the planet, different age groups, social and cultural backgrounds, diets, lifestyles, … get together than in the blog world? Which leads me to the one chance you shouldn’t miss out on when blogging/blog reading:

Broadening your mind.

 

Don’t stay within your peer group.

Like I mentioned above in the blog world it often doesn’t matter what age you are, if you’re single or [happily I hope] coupled, which diet you’re following, what’s your favourite kind of exercise, … I could go on for hours but you get my point. In real life, we usually seek company of alike minds. Or better yet: those we can identify as such on first glance by joining a local running group, meeting up with a book club or – thinking of the many mums out there – through play dates. In the end, though, we’re limiting our chance of new experiences – and surprises.

When I first started reading blogs – years before I started my own – I followed mostly people my age and with similar interests. Nowadays? My reader is filled with a much larger variety of bloggers – some my age, some noticeably older. Some are vegetarian or vegan, some are paleo. Which leads me to …

Forget first impressions. Give second chances.

Soothing tea to settle a wonky stomach.

This isn’t one I necessarily had to learn through blogging but it definitely rings true here more than ever, too. Don’t let the title of a blog or even its usual topics scare you away. Just like judging somebody by their appearance only is wrong we’re better off giving other bloggers a second chance, too.  It’s not unusual for me to continue keeping a blog in my reader though I don’t completely ‘click’ with the author or re-visit one only to be positively surprised by a thought-provoking post. It’s worth reconsidering your first impression and following people you might not have made friends with in real life. Use the blog world as an opportunity for self-growth of mind and heart.

Throw your assumptions out of the window.
I’ve lost count of how much I’ve learned through blogging in the past years. We’re not talking about any fun do-it-yourself projects here [mostly because I haven’t tried any but keep me accountable for starting!]. What I mean is the kind of unconscious learning. By reading blogs written by authors with various cultural or fitness backgrounds,… and just overall opinions on any topic there is.

Letter

Just giving a random example here: bodybuilding and figure competitions. Living in a small town with one tiny gym occupied by either old folks or beef-cakes gruntingly lifting huge weights and drowning protein shakes, I grew up considering it a very weird kind of sports. Competitors to me were viewing food only as fuel rather than a source of enjoyment  [obviously exaggerating a smidgen here so take it with a grain of salt].
And then came blogging and getting to ‘know’ some of those people and their personal stories that were so far from vain. There many examples out there but Brittany was one of the first figure competitors that gave me a different understanding of the topic. I learned that competing didn’t have to be about deprivation, obsessive workouts and rigid rules.

Seek discussion and be open to changing your opinion.

Okay, I’m not suggesting you disagree just to disagree. Like I said before interaction is key in the [blog] world. We can learn so much from each other if we don’t blind out every opposed opinion. Arguments – led in a polite and respectful way obviously – help us broaden our horizons.  Conversations are more enlightening when you can add to them and possibly discover aspects you hadn’t thought of. Like  when my opinion on selfies changed thanks to Georgia  shedding a different light on it .  Keep an open mind!

yellow_flowers_tree

No matter where we live with blogging the world is at our fingertips and we shouldn’t miss out on the opportunity to look beyond our own horizon.

 

Happiness-inducing today: An insightful conversation with one of my aunts – even if it was just via phone.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

No questions today but your thoughts on the topic and maybe what you’ve learned through blogging or how it has changed your mind.

 

24 thoughts on “One chance you shouldn’t miss when blogging

  1. brittanylesserfitness says:

    Love this!!! So true that first impressions aren’t always the thing that most reflects something or someone. Great tips ❤

  2. Ms.J says:

    The phrase “forget first impressions. Give second chances” sparked a flame of recongnition within me…granted more in real life than in the blogiverse, yet still I adore your stance on being non-judgemental and basically..giving it a chance. Really, we only deprive ourselves by shunning what’s not our cup of tea. Like I do not agree on on figure competing at.all yet I’m always popping in at Brittany’s because I genuinely love her writing; the positivity that shines through is wonderful. And back to life now: its those peeps who I hastily judged harshly [in my ED] that I am re-discovering that I’d got it all wrong!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      While Brittany gave me a new outlook on figure competing – not like I’d ever consider it myself but I can see a reasoning behind it now – I can see why you wouldn’t. I like that you still follow her because it’s exactly the point I wanted to make: We don’t have to agree on every aspect of a blogger’s life but can still appreciate others.

  3. Erin@BeetsPerMinute says:

    I always try and stick with blogs because you’re right, we do have to give chances and you never know what kind of connection you might miss out on by a snap judgment. That’s pretty much my theme this week lol I also definitely could do with clearing my mind and making space for the universe to fill it with something good and productive.
    I really enjoyed this post! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks, Erin! It’s easy to misjudge on first impressions – I have my fair share of real and blog world experiences there – hence why I’m trying to keep an open mind these days.
      Good luck clearing your mind. I’m sure the universe would generously refill it with only good for you. (:

  4. Stacie@SimplySouthernStacie says:

    I think what has been really cool for me to see in the past year is how the bloggers who I initially started to follow and read because they seemed “like me” are now moving onto different life phases. So while I feel like we are still alike at our cores, what we are experiencing currently is so different. It makes reading even more fun now because I’m learning about things outside of what my current interests are.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s so true. It’s fascinating to follow people’s journey over the years. Especially if – like you said – they started at about the same point you did and then developped in a completely different direction.

  5. Elsie Goycoolea says:

    That is so so important what you say! I think that as human beings we are attracted to the things or people that we fill comfortable with but don’t they say that opposites attract? If you step outside your comfort and welcome new things or different people you might see that they can finally fill that hole that you were looking to fill in. I love finding new blogs that unexpectedly end up loving. Great thinking on a Thursday! 🙂

  6. fitballingrunningmom says:

    So perfect! In my post today I wrote about just loving the space to ‘talk’ about what is in my mind as well as ‘meeting’ such awesome people. I am pretty new to blogging (less than 2 months) but I am really enjoying it!

  7. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Awww, I really love this, girl! It’s gotten to the point for me now where I don’t honestly care about what someone eats, how they like to exercise, or what stage of life they’re currently in… As long as I like their voice and feel some kind of connection, then I’m sticking around. And I’ll keep sticking around even if they decide to switch things up, because lord knows I’ve changed my mind plenty of times and I’ll probably continue to do so. Plus there are some bloggers that I’ve been following for so many years, that they legit feel like close friends.

  8. Olivia Bane says:

    I LOVE the community within the blog world! Even though I’m in college, I’ve found such great community with not only college bloggers, but people from lots of stages of life 🙂

  9. pangie223 says:

    Miss PolkaDot (most perfect name) this was a wonderful read so thank you for stopping by my blog! What you said was thought-provoking. “Use blogging as an opportunity for self-growth of heart and mind” … golden!

    Looking forward to reading more — followed! 🙂

  10. Sky @ Blonde Freedom says:

    Like you were saying I absolutely love the community I’ve found through blogging! I come from a small rural area, so most of the people I interact with don’t have the same passions and interests as me. But in the blog world I’m able to find people who do have similar passions. Also, my mind has been opened from reading blogs outside of my peer group.

  11. AmberLynn Pappas says:

    I find that even though I write more about health and fitness than anything else, the b logs I like to read the most are funny, random, and have a lot of desserts! Great take on a simple quote!

Leave a Reply

