Let’s get randoMay!

Did you catch my seriously [not] inventive take on a May joke [because I missed the ‘It’s gonna be May’ chance at the beginning of the month. Yes, I’m a broken record here but how in the world is it almost June already??? Time for the last Thinking  out loud in May with Amanda. My head is filled with lots of more serious thoughts but I decided to counteract it by not posting about any of those but a collection of randomness instead. Fake it till you make it, right?

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. Did you catch my last link post? I’ve been resorting to Mondays instead of Sundays lately but hope I’ll be able to change that again soon. Either way, there have been lots of great posts worth reading again.

2. We might be this close to the start of summer but the weather isn’t giving it away in the least at the moment. 16 °C and rain? Hurry up, summer! At least the rain had its positives, though, because wandering through my parents’ garden is offering the most beautiful sights. Instead of spamming you with 384775856 pictures [right now] I’ll just feature these beautiful flowers: Bleeding Heart. They’ve been a favourite of mine since childhood.

Flowers_tränendes Herz

3. Green smoothies have been happening in this house! No, my opinion on them hasn’t changed. However, my dad visited a lecture a few weeks ago that was all about healthy living – note: he wouldn’t usually attend any of those so this one was business-related – and he immediately decided to incorporate a few healthier habits into his life. And that led to a scandalous crossing of lines/invading my territory. Given I’m usually the only one eating bananas daily I buy them myself and obviously store them in my apartment.

Bananas

As my dad insisted on having a smoothie and hadn’t wanted to listen to me when I told him he’d better stock up on bananas then my mum just grabbed one of my last ones Sunday night. Not cool. And isn’t it meant to be me mooching off food from my parents and not the other way around? !

4. Thinking about it I actually do. All the time. Don’t say you didnt! Here’s to hoping all that green smoothie business won’t result in my parents ditching their snacking habits anytime soon. I’d dearly miss the bags of Erdnussflips in their snack aisle. Luckily, we’re keeping things balanced around here with flips and greens.

Flips

5. Help a girl out! I’ve been meaning to paint my nails for weeks but can’t settle on a colour. That’s pretty unusual for me because previously I wasn’t able to go without colouring my nails for more than a few days. Maybe not the healthiest choice but the current weather just calls for bright colours to bring in some fun. So …These are the runner-ups. Any votes?

Essie nail polish

6. Do you ever buy yourself random gifts? I hardly ever do so I’d been holding out forever but caved last week and bought the Gilore Girls DVD collection. Oh my. I completely forgot what it’s like to watch a show and look forward to every new episode. I can’t even remember the last time I regularily watched any kind of show – likely because I haven’t owned a TV for the past ~ 5 years  and still don’t – but it’s amazing. The current weather is an excuse to start watching a little earlier than I usually would. And would you believe I actually never watched all seasons of Gilmore Girls before? We didn’t have cable when the first seasons were aired and I only caught random episodes until the final season but was hooked either way. Now I have a major catch-up and I can’t say I was hating it.

Source

… and with that I’m off to a hopefully sunny day. Happy Thursday!

Happiness-inducing today: Sunshine amidst the rainy gray days.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

No questions today. Just tell me your ranom[ay] thoughts!

21 thoughts on “Let’s get randoMay!

  1. Aja says:

    Oh my gosh, I just watched through the entire Gilmore Girls series a few months ago. I might have to do it again it is such a good show. I love how your choices for nail polish are a gradient. I’m thinking either the lightest or second darkest.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m glad to hear it’s acceptable to want to go through it again right away 😉 . At first I felt a little awkward watching more than one episode a day because I’ve never done that before but hey, it’s not like I was spending all day glued to my laptop.
      Thanks for your nail polish suggestion!

  2. Elsie Goycoolea says:

    Ha! It is funny how your parents are eating your bananas, they are so irresistible right? 😉 I agree with Aja about the nail polish colors. But hey if you are tanned go bolder! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Tanned? I wish I was, girl! I’m the one who never tans while everybody around her needs just a single day in the sun to achieve that glow. I guess I need to eat more carrots instead …

  3. Lisa @ Running Out Of Wine says:

    We go through tons of bananas here too and there are just two of us. Not sure how we manage to eat so many in a week!
    I love all those nail polish colors, but lately I have been liking the darker pink colors. I wore light pink for over a month the spring and got sick of it:) I mean, I still like it, I just needed to see something different on my own hands.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Changing up colours is completely neccessary. I can’t go with the same colour for more than a few weeks, either. That’s why I didn’t include my most recently worn one in the picture.

  4. Erin@BeetsPerMinute says:

    I just did my nails the other day, but basically so I’d stop biting them! LOL. It’s a horrible habit that’s happening again due to anxiety! Now I want to watch the Gilmore Girls. Ahh, love the G Girls! Enjoy! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That may or may not be one of the reasons I seriously need to colour my nails again, too …
      Get onto the Gilmore Girls watching bandwagon, girl! We can gush to each other about Rory’s changing boyfriends :).

  5. SuzLyfe says:

    I watched GG on Netflix (at work, natch) and it was lovely 😀 Also did the same with Friends and How I Met your Mother. WINNING AT LIFE. I would love to paint my nails, but then every time I am about to, I mess up one/all of them and have to wait it out again. I’m the worst.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Definitely winning at life 😉 . Maybe you’re just a super multitasker.
      And I hear your nail polish frustration. It’s close to impossible to not mess up one of them, try to fix it and touch the others while at that …

  6. Juli says:

    Love the polish! I vote for the second or third from the left. But this is definitely one of those The Devil wears Prada turquoise belt question 😉
    Love Gilmore Girls. I have them on DVD too.

  7. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Third from the left 🙂 Although you can’t really go wrong with any of those colours. And I’d gladly send you some of my warmer weather! It’s actually cooling off now, but it’s been WAY too warm lately, which isn’t okay when you live in a condo that’s higher up and gets crazy hot when the sun shines straight on it. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve had to abandon ship and go hang out at Starbucks 😛

  8. pangie223 says:

    I started watching Gilmore Girls for the first time this past semester but never finished it. I have to admit though I was HOOKED. Maybe I’ll take it back up again. I haven’t owned a TV in about three years either but I always have Netflix ❤
    Also — for the nails — I LOVE every single one but the three lighter colors are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

