Quick Cauliflower Chickpea Curry [vegan]

Quick, easy and nutrient-filled this warming and satisfying curry makes the perfect weekday meal. Vegan, naturally gluten-free and packed with nutrients and flavour.

More often than not my recipe posts turn into confessional ones. I figure everybody’s got a way to rid themselves of their sins so if mine’s a way of producing content: two birds with one stone, right? And if it means you’re getting a recipe that way maybe three birds? Oh well, I honestly don’t know where I’m getting here. A little birdy told me to …? Okay, moving onto food. Or: confessions. And delicious curries that don’t require you to stock up on every spice available at the Indian grocery.

Cauliflower Chickpea Curry_3

You might remember I’m a produce overbuyer in rehab. Only rehab means trying to stop the habit, it working for some time – and then going downwards again. Once more, a recent grocery store trip ended with me carrying home a monstrous head of cauliflower with no intention on how to use it. I know … Typical. Despite having a million ideas on how to turn cauliflower from bland into absolutely amazing  Plus, it’s a nutritional powerhouse so maybe that’s why it lures me in time and time again?!

close-up_cauliflower chickpea curry

I’m more often than not too overwhelmed to decide on a recipe. Add to the dilemma that I somehow manage to ignore the cauliflower’s existence [as if that was possible with a huge head staring at you every time you open your vegetable drawyer …] until it’s on its last legs. And it was one of those situations when this recipe came about. I was hungry. I had cauliflower to use. Indian food sounded good so Cauliflower Chickpea Curry it was. Though you obviously know I’m not guaranteeing any authenticity with my recipes. Indian-inspired curry.

Cauliflower Chickpea Curry_2

Whenever I cook brown rice I immediately think of Lee. Why? Because some time last year she posted a delicious-looking recipe calling for it and I lamented the fact I was unable to locate short-grain brown rice [still living in the middle of nowhere then]. Imagine my delight – heureka! – when I finally found a bag back then. The obsession is back again at the moment and this curry just calls for brown rice as a side. Or your favourite grain, really. But bonus points for brown rice. And coconut chips that I only thought of adding post photo. Blogger fail. Oh well, that’s another confession on my part so we’d better fet onto the recipe now.

 

Quick Cauliflower Chickpea Curry

  • 200 g cauliflower [2 cups, chopped into small florets]
  • 1 small tomato, chopped
  • 1 medium red onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ¾ cup chickpeas (125 g)
  • ¼ cup passata/tomato sauce
  • ½ tsp turmeric
  • ¼ tsp ground ginger
  • 3/4-1 tsp cumin seeds [I always use the larger amount]
  • ½ tsp ground coriander
  • Coconut chips [not shredded coconut!] for topping
  • cooked [short-grain] brown rice to serve

 

  1. Start by sautéing the onion until lightly browned. Add the garlic and fry for another minute.
  2. While it’s cooking mix the spices to keep at hand when ready. Add to the onion mixture and toast the spices for about two minutes on medium heat, stirring frequently to avoid burning them.
  3. Add the cauliflower florets, stir well to combine them with the onions and cover the pot. Let cook for around five minutes.
  4. Mix in the bok choy stems, stir and cover again for a minute. Add the chopped tomato, chickpeas and tomato sauce.
    Just before turning off the heat, stir in the bok choy leaves and let them wilt.
  5. To serve, plate with some the brown rice cooked/reheated with coconut milk/soy creamer and some coconut chips.

Cauliflower Chickpea Curry_4

Because I know everybody appreciates some quick and easy dishes I’m sharing this recipe with Gluten-Free Tuesdays, Strange but good, RecipeFriday, Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Recipe of the Week, Allergy-Free Wednesdays and Tasty Tuesdays.

 

Happiness-inducing today: An interesting conversation with a ‘colleague’ at the kids’ book club I’m currently assisting at.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

Your turn: Share a [kitchen] confession!

What is one vegetable you’re constantly buying too much of? Don’t pretend I was the only one doing it!

 

10 thoughts on “Quick Cauliflower Chickpea Curry [vegan]

  1. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I have a similar recipe for chickpea cauliflower although mine’s done in the slow cooker and is more of a masala but both seem equally as good to me. Great minds think alike for sure.

    Also, I adore cauliflower. This would be a far more suitable and filling lunch at my conference this week. Their vegetarian options are pitiful.

Leave a Reply

