Why Intuitive Eating is Making Me Sad

 Contrary to what the title suggests I like Intuitive Eating. No, scratch that, I’m absolutely fond/smitten/insert other excited exclamation here of this concept. We’ll get to my point in a minute.

And who isn’t? Look around the blog world and you’ll see dozens, hundreds, thousands of people singing the praises of this wonderful revolutionary trend. This amazing new concept that finally frees them from food worries and restriction. We’re finally allowed to eat just what we want again. Heureka! Oh and have I told you about how I intuitively ate a cupcake today yet? Yes, really, just wait for it …

Intuitive eating

Stop! That’s what is making me sad. We – myself included – are getting excited about exploring the joys of intuitive eating. We eat when hungry. Listen to our cravings. Stop when full. Only: it’s not new. It’s the oldest way of eating around. Dating from way before the first weight loss diets were invented. The way our grandparents ate. And their parents. What we do is get back to our original state. The way we were born.* The way of eating that was stolen from us by the confusing messages sent out by magazines. Blogs. Nutrional experts. Certain doctors. …

*granted, I don’t feel I ever ate truly intuitively but this is part of my own story I have yet to share.

What is making me sad is that millions of women  [and men!] have lost touch with their intuition.

What is making me sad is that we even need a term to describe the way of eating we were born to have. [That being said intuitve eating does sound a lot fancier and upscale than ‘normal’ eating so I’ll roll with it.]

What is making me sad is that we marvel at people who eat intuitively. It shouldn’t excite us but be something we do without even thinking. Just like walking. Brushing your hair. Washing your hands.

What is making me sad is that we’re willing to pay a good amount of cash for programs helping us get back to that state of mind and acting. This isn’t shunning any of these programs because while I haven’t tried them myself yet I know they worked wonders for some/many people and that’s great. The sad aspect is the fact we even need those programs.

Vapiano

Our intuition is built in like a cars engine but was since replaced with worries about calories. Doubts about which diet we should follow. Is it okay to eat x amount of sweets per day? Is gluten/sugar/fruit the devil? A whole industry is built on the fact that we’re completely confused in terms of an essential human need: food. Eating.

Why am I, why are we having such a hard time shutting out the blubber of magazines and social media and simply listen to [and trust!] our inner voice. It has no intention of harming us which I think can we’re righteously doubtful about with certain magazines …

Where does all of this rambling out loud leave me? Am I never going to mention Intuitve eating again? Far from it. Finding my way back to normal and at that intuitive eating and living is still my goal in recovery. Lost connection with your intuition? Start reconnecting. Today. It’s not easy but worth reclaiming.

 

Happiness-inducing today: The sun. Talking to a friend about potential summer holiday plans (!). Editing another family member’s work.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
No questions for you today. Just your thoughts on the issue or experiences.
25 thoughts on “Why Intuitive Eating is Making Me Sad

  1. themindfulmaritimer says:

    I agree with what you’ve said about intuitive eating but i think a lot goes along with it. The influences that are constantly around us often have an affect on what / how we eat whether we like it or not. I personally will be influenced or pressured to eat in situations where in not able to differentiate between if it’s actually my intuition or something more that’s making me eat.

  2. Juli says:

    Good for you dear!
    I approached intuative eating the way I always did approach food related things. Head diving into it! I am too totally gobsmacked by how a concept as easy as putting something in your mouth when you want it can be so so hard! And sometimes it’s even overwhelming because you have to ask yourself what you want rather than sticking to someone elses plan. So much to choose from!
    Fun fact: I didn’t even know that eating intuitively was a thing- like a concept – a trend even. I just decided to stop restricting myself and voila head diving!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’d say you’re simply a smart lady working your way out of restriction on your own! And yes, it’s hard to believe how difficult relearning to do what was natural as a child once more when we’re adults. The overwhelming amount of choices is a tough one for me there, too.

  3. Julia @ Lord Still Loves Me says:

    I find it absolutely silly that i have to re-train myself to do a NATURAL thing. I was born with the ability to detect hunger and to find means to respond to it. Now, I am struggling to do so. That is crazy. Thankfully, I am getting stronger every single day.

    Beautiful post.

  4. Alicia says:

    Thank you for sharing your insightful thoughts 🙂 I never really thought about how sad intuitive eating really is until reading this. Very eye-opening.

  5. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    No, intuitive eating is not at all new. I wish I could do it & maintain my weight. It’s what I aspire to. But I am definitely not there yet. For me, Weight Watchers does work. I have been a lifetime member for 20+ years (not always at goal weight).

    Pew are all individuals & what works for one won’t necessarily work for the next. I actually spend a lot of time thinking about that; maybe I’ll write about it someday.

  6. Emily Swanson (@Emily11949309) says:

    I totally agree in that, ‘Why did I lose my sense for intuitive eating in the first place?’ But I am thankful that it is not too late, and that it keeps me humble to know that I am on a learning, growing process. :))) I ❤ this post. You put it perfectly.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s never too late and a learning process – I fully agree with you, Emily. It might take a long time but we should never loose hope to regain what we were born with.

  7. Ellie says:

    Girl this post hits the spot! Sometimes I believe all the medical jargon about how we are addicted to sugar, salt and fat and cannot eat intuitively anymore. Other times I get really annoyed when I see a blog posts with a cupcake that says “balance” or “my body was telling me to eat it”. I wish people would stop complicating put the fork in the mouth and enjoy it, then move on.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I wish people would stop complicating put the fork in the mouth and enjoy it, then move on.

      This! Eating could be ridiculously easy and a million times more enjoyable if we stopped overthinking.

  8. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables says:

    I’ve been thinking about this a LOT lately and reading some books on it as well. It’s hard because I think the food that we’re given is so different from generations before, that it can make intuitive eating so challenging! Our grandparents generation didn’t have to deal with all the “fake foods” and additives that we have today. I think that’s part of the reason I find Intuitive Eating to be so tricky! But in general, I do love the idea!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually, I hadn’t thought about ‘fake foods’ in this context yet so thanks for bringing up the point. I’m not sure how they influence our choices, though. What I do think, though, is that the sheer overboarding variety we can pick from – diets, products, everything – is making life harder in a way these days.

  9. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    You make the most excellent point EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HA!!! I never even really thought about this, because when I eat, I just go for it. Intuitive eating is just my life, and I don’t even think twice. Ha. I mean, I guess it’s good for some people who struggle with binging and what not, to think about and focus on intuitive eating again… But as you said,it should just be the norm!

  10. masala girl says:

    this is big.
    i kinda lost my intuitive eating-ness. i was great, then along came ibs, and intuitive eating meant stopping when i didnt feel good, and lost some weight. then, i had to force my self to eat a bit. now, i’m so used to snacking. in my first year of school, i kept food in my room since i have dietary restrictions i couldn’t most of what was served on campus. then , i was mostly eating intuitively, but as the year wore on, i started mindlessly snacking to avoid homework…
    i am also a nutrition major, and have studied it myself for a long time. so, i’m 100% aware. “i know i’m not hungry, but i want a snack”… it’s weird how i see others and think, “why cant i just not think about it”

Leave a Reply

