WIAW: Gone carrots

Once upon a time … I did What I at Wednesday and Vegan Wednesday posts on the regular. Yes, it seems like enough time has passed since then to justify the use of this expression. Either way, it has been a while and I’m not entirely sure I’ll get back to joining the party weekly again soon. Life is life or so they say. And who are they, by the way? [yes, important life questions to be pondered – at another time].

WIAW_new2015

Unless it’s your first time swinging by here you might remember I like finding a good theme for any such food posts. Today’s happened to come about completely unplanned. Actually, I have yet to plan any WIAW topic, come to think of … Oh well. Let’s talk about what I ate … gone carrots.

Yes, carrots. One of the first vegetables every child – or is it just us over here? – is served by their parents. A good choice indeed around these parts if the intention is to get that glow without relying on the sun that can be lacking here. Additionally, though, carrots have a lot more to offer than you might know. Allow me a little nutrition nerdiness because now that I’m on a carrot kick I want everybody to join. A little bit of positive peer pressure maybe?

Want to keep a sharp vision? Eat carrots! Just one cup already provides more than 100 % of the DV of Vitamin A.  Rich in antioxidants they also lower the risk of cardiovascular diseases . While I also recommend doing crossword puzzles and sudoku to keep your brain fresh ;), eating carrots may help delay cognitive decay/loss of memory.

Okay, enough of the lessons, moving onto the food already!

Breakfast_bulgur_carrots_chickpeas_tupper

What you see above is my tupper-ed breakfast. It’s both an effort to change things up from my usual one and my undying fondness of bulgur [in addition to carrots]. My current favourite grain mixed with shredded carrots, chickpeas and soy creamer plus spices. It’s the perfect no-time-but-hungry meal. Only not as filling as I hoped. Much more filling, though, was lunch …

Chickpea Carrot Stew_bulgur_lunch

More carrots! Are you surprised? I was only half-kidding about the using their wonderful carotene boost to work on my tan while the sun is only playing the occasional peek-a-boo around here. No matter what the weather is like, though, the dish above ranks upon my favourites. Non-vegan in the original recipe found in one of my family’s favourite cookbooks I tried to turn it into a fully vegan dish. As of now, it still requires some tweaking but it’s good as is already. Red onions, carrots and chickpeas sautéed with oriential spices, added raisins and – post-picture – some soy creamer.

… and because life is all about balance I certainly will never forego dessert/snack time. I like to pretend raw chocolate was healthy so that means I can eat more of these in addition to my favourite, right?! Just agree.

Raw chocolate company_raisins_snack

Whether healthy or not, though, I’ve made the decision not to count those in my intake. Yes, that habit is still hanging around most days. It’s a little step but those add up to bigger strides on the path, right?! Eating chocolate is good no matter what so in case you haven’t had any today yet I highly recommend making up for that.

Happiness-inducing today:  The huge sigh of relief after a rather unpleasant experience. Did I mention I don’t like going to the dentist’s?!

 
Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
16 thoughts on “WIAW: Gone carrots

  1. Kate Bennett says:

    I think vitamin A gets forgotten a lot. My palms, however, are evident of my love for carrots. I asked my doctor why it looked like I’ve been playing in clay, and she asked if I ate a lot of carrots, lol. We love roasted carrots over here!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh. roasted carrots! I’ve been meaning to try them this way forever but keep forgetting so thanks for the reminder.
      My hands – and at latest in autumn with the addition of lots of squash – face show off a nice orange hue, too. Better than having yellow fingers from smoking for sure ;).

  2. Jade says:

    Carrots are so easy to eat I think, that it makes sense to give them to little kids. And they’re delicious. I usually like going to the dentist, but I went to a new one a few months ago and just hated it. It was all kinds of painful that i never got with my dentist back home. Never going back there again.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Actually, I shouldn’t rant about dentists because I changed to a new doctor recently and she’s great. Sorry yours isn’t but – given my history of bad ones – I promise you’ll find a good one some time, too!

  3. pangie223 says:

    The raw chocolate raisins look delicious. Also when I was in high school I remember the palms of my hands turning yellowish because of all the pumpkin and carrots I consumed. My friends would never let me forget it. 😄

Leave a Reply

