Gingery Broccoli Stir-Fry [vegan]

Bring on the broccoli! Using minmal ingredients and packed with nutrients this vegan stir-fry is the perfect quick weekday lunch or dinner.

How simple is too simple to call a dish a recipe? Judging from my own experience I’m a lot more likely to try a recipe the simpler it is. Running to the store for two or three ingredients some of which I might not use again soon [don’t tell me you didn’t have those age-old spices sitting around in your cupboard!].

Cravings are good ways to create new recipes. This dish was inspired by a sudden craving for broccoli which I’d actually consider a constant one along with this current obsession. With just a few more basic ingrdients this simple lunch came about. Pre-cooking grains is a serious timesaver, dried spices [while fresh are preferable] are always great to keep on hand and cannd legumes add some vegan protein in no time. The preparation here is almost too simple …

Broccoli stir-fry_bulgur_2

What’s in a recipe, really? In my opinion – and I’m not just saying this to make myself feel better  [you, too ;)] – every time you prepare food at home it’s a potential recipe. Unless you’re just opening a can and heating it up or mixing PB2 with water and selling it as your own original creation – really?! But you get my gist.  The reason I decided to share this particular dish is that while decidedly simpler than some of my other recent lunches it was all the more satisfying.

A grain, a green, a bean – the perfect vegan meal once again. I’m intuitively going for a different take on this basic formula pretty much every day. And why not? It’s covering all the bases and simple enough to stir up with whatever you happen to have on hand. I used bulgur as my side but if you and/or your stomach prefer gluten-free options go for those – this is a dish for everyone.

Broccoli stir-fry_bulgur_1

Gingery Broccoli Stir-Fry

1 small red onion, chopped
1 clove of garlic, minced

2 cups of broccoli, chopped into small florets, stalks sliced thinly
1/2 tbsp soy sauce [sub gluten-free kind if necessary]
1/4-1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp chili flakes
Pepper to taste
A handful of mushrooms, sliced

1/3 cup of chickpeas

Grain of choice to serve* [I used bulgur cooked with some coconut milk]

  1. Start by sautéing the onion until lightly browned. Add the garlic and fry for another minute.
  2. Add the broccoli, stir well to combine, add a few tablespoons of water and cover the pot. Let cook for around five minutes or until desired level of ‘softness’.
  3. Add the ginger, soy sauce, chili flakes and pepper to taste.
  4. Stir in the chickpeas and bulgur to heat through.**

*Use your favourite gluten-free side to make this suitable for your diet.

** I did this after taking the pictures.

Broccoli stir-fry_bulgur_4

I’m joining  Meatless Mondays, Savouring Saturdays, Gluten-Free Wednesdays, Recipe of the Week, Tasty Tuesdays, Healthy Vegan Friday and Real Food Friday.

 

Happiness-inducing today: Talking to my brother on the phone for the first time in weeks and finding out about all the good news in his life.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Gingery Broccoli Stir-Fry [vegan]

  1. Kyra says:

    I love that formula – grain/bean/green – easy to remember 😀 will have to think of that the next time I’m staring in the fridge trying to figure out what to cook!

  2. Marla says:

    This sounds like a wonderful healthy stir fry and I love broccoli. I really like idea of adding the chickapeas. Thanks for sharing on Real Food Fridays. Pinned & twitted.

  3. kimmythevegan says:

    Thanks for stopping by Healthy Vegan Fridays and sharing this awesome recipe! You basically combined my fav 3 things (mushrooms, broccoli & grains). Love the chickpeas too for that added protein punch. Sounds like a great meal. I think I might try it with fresh ginger and rice. Yum!
    I’m pinning this and hope to see you back at HVF tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

