Date your diet

If you’ve been reading healthy living blogs for a while you’ll have noticed something. Not actually what I’d call a ‘trend’ but a phenomenon: vegan or vegetarian bloggers quitting their diets and reintroducing dairy, eggs and/or meat. Usually voicing their decision very carefully with an air of expected accusations about to rain down on them. I won’t point out any bloggers in particular here because I wouldn’t want to increase the pressure on them. What I can say, though, is that I could easily name more than half a dozen – both in the German blog world and overseas – who have made this decision in the past year.

To say it caused some attention would be a mild understatement.

Uproar. Rage. Bullies.

Why?? Why do people feel compelled to shun somebody, leave hurtful comments or even more serious threats? What is the crime those bloggers committed? They changed their diets. Neither did they:

Imply everybody had to follow their lead and stop eating a certain way.

Intend to hurt anybody’s feelings [or at least I don’t assume they did].

Shame their previous diets as disordered or out of the norm. They simply found those very diets weren’t their match anymore and that’s where we’re getting to the thoughts my mind spurred out …

The parallel between dating and diets

What I’m applauding them for is not for giving up on veganism or vegetarianism. Clearly not because it’s still the diet I follow myself and – in my dreams – the majority of people all over the world should adopt [you know I’m exaggerating]. Rather, I think anybody who can rationally see when it’s time to make changes in their lives even if they’re uncomfortable and against their beliefs deserves respect. Not public shaming in the blog world and on Instagram. Wouldn’t we even encourage our best friends to leave a guy that hurts more than he benfits them? And just like with dating  some of the points can be translated to diets.

Date Your Diet

We get blind-sided really wanting to love that one guy/diet – at the worst overlooking the fact he’s not benefitting us at all anymore.

I can see how this was true for me personally. Veganism and its principles seemed [actually still seem] so right for me and made a lot of sense. It was hard to admit – even to myself – that it wasn’t the right diet for me at this point in life.

People compliment us for what a great match we make.

On the diet side this could be praise for our vegan/raw/paleo recipes or the ‘glow’ we perspire while eating a certain way. The tons of energy we have.

We make plans for the future.

Probably more so with dating on first glance [“We’ll buy a house, then get two children, spend all holidays in our beach house …”] but in a way it’s true for diets, too. We might think about how this will influence our families, write cookbooks or build a brand around our diet. Until a potential break-up throws us into a medium life crisis.

That’s why I suggest you to consider your diet a date. No commitment, no promises to anybody. And isn’t the beauty of dating that you don’t have to settle just yet – or anytime? You can flirt with a hot guy for an evening, a month, a few years – and in the end tie the knot with a wholly different one or never commit for eternity.

Diet dating can and should be like that: accepted – normal. So go out there, date around and never feel bad for cheating on your current diet –  be it for health or any other reasons. How you eat does not define you as a person. Life’s too short to fully commit in this part of it.

Your turn: Tell me your ‘dating history’ or whichever thoughts you have on the topic.

Happiness-inducing today: Harvesting the first kabocha of the season in our garden. All mine!

No questions today but whatever comes to your mind on the topic.

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
21 thoughts on “Date your diet

  1. Jade says:

    Maybe a vegan or vegetarian diet is better for the planet but it doesn’t work for everyone. Just like literally everything else in the world there is no one size fits all. So weird how much crap people have to deal with for their personal decisions. I’ve been vegetarian, meat eater, vegetarian, vegan, vegetarian, semi-meat eater (i.e., chicken only sometimes).

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      True. There’s no one size fits all in any aspect of life. I’m glad you’re taking the freedom to experiment regardless of others’ opinions – that’s the way it should be like.

  2. Ms.J says:

    Hahahaaa this made for a good read indeed! So you know that I absolutely do not not approach my diet as I do dating, but to get to my point: I am murmuring in agreement to your take on a -supposedly- simple act of eating. How did our diet become a scary serious cult? Where what we allow ourselves to eat or not eat has taken over our lives…do I want to look back and pat myself for abstaining from dairy and what have you for so many years? Not me. In the same breath I wouldn’t call out anyone else for making that kind of choice for themselves – it does not impact ME in any way. It should be such that if someone would like to dabble with any kind of diet as paleo, vegan etc. They have the full freedom to do it without being criticized..or attacked if they say, decide to change or commit half-way. From my perspective; we could really benefit from removing food from a sacred pedestal..and respecting the individualty of others 🙂 ! Stellar brain you’ve got there Miss P 😀 .

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Lovely, you know my take on dating is not too far from yours :). It’s good to see we also agree on the fact that diets should be an instance of ‘live and let live’. Yes to removing food from the pedestal it held for ages now.

  3. Ashley @ A Lady Goes West says:

    Well this is a good one, Miss! It’s so true, that if it’s not WORKING, you’ve got to ditch it. While I don’t eliminate any foods, I do know that it’s better to listen to your body and follow what it’s asking for. Great thoughts on this! No shame for changing your mind!

  4. hungryforbalance says:

    Love this! I eat a lot of fruits and veggies and not much meat. Not for any particular reason, I just don’t happen to crave it often. But when I do, I eat it.
    And, I have had my share of dating disasters and imperfect matches. I am pretty happy to be married and done with the whole dating thing.

  5. madelyn says:

    YES! I’ve seen so many people straight up bullying others while they are just trying to figure out what works for them! I love this blog post thank you so much for writing it! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s insane to see how rude some people react to an issue – another person’s diet – they actually have no say in. Thanks for letting me know you enjoyed the post, Madelyn!

  6. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    It’s all about TRIAL AND ERROR – we are our own guinea pigs. If we start to feel like crap eating a specific way, it’s time to test the “waters” so to speak and see if specific foods you’re eating are causing the issues. I have gained a PLETHORA of food allergies over the years and I know more and more are coming my way in the future. In fact, a week ago, I wound up in the ER thanks to a specific food and I have now cut EVERYTHING, in order to figure out what works for me now. There is no one size fits all.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m sorry to hear you’ve been having a rough time diet-wise again. Then again, I guess you’re the prime example for the benefits of not expecting to settle with one diet for the remainder of one’s life. Fingers crossed you’ll feel better soon!

  7. Erin@BeetsPerMinute says:

    I can’t stand any judgment about what or how people eat. I only offer my advice once it’s been asked for. I also realize that some people have allergies, preferences, and it is what it is. I have tried vegetarianism, and it didn’t work for me. I still don’t eat loads of meat and I also eat limited amounts of dairy, but it’s just because it’s what I prefer right now. It could change, and so what? I love this post. We all talk about our relationship with food all the time, but this really talks about how to do so and make sure how you eat is still working for you. Brilliant!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thanks, Erin! You’re right: so what if you decide to change your diet? It’s nobody’s business but yours. Just because somebody decides to share part of their life online doesn’t mean everybody else was invited to chime in and offer unsolicited advice.

  8. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’ve never been able to understand anyone who attacks someone else for the way they choose to eat. We’re all so different, that no single diet is going to work well for everyone — it’s all about experimenting and seeing what’s best for you, both mentally and physically. I’ve dabbled in plenty of different eating style throughout my life, and I’m willing to bet that I’ll dabble in many more before I’m done. People just need to mind their own business and let others be.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “I’m willing to bet that I’ll dabble in many more before I’m done” <- This. I feel some people get too focused on sticking to that one perfect diet that they're almost afraid to admit when it doesn't work for them anymore.

Leave a Reply

