Currently … August 2015

Oh hey, it has only been … forever since I last shared some currents from my life. But in celebration of another Monday I’ll give you a little update on what I’ve been reading, eating, doing and thinking. Sounds good? Let’s get into it.

Current book: Maybe I’m one of the last ones to read this book and it has actually been on my reading list for a long time: ‘The Opposite of Loneliness’.  So far I like it but don’t feel it and agree Keegan was a talented young writer.

Book_Marina Keegan

Current music: Blank Space – Taylor Swift

 

 

Current guilty pleasure: Why did nobody tell me YouTube videos were that addicitve? Or should I say effective? Because they can be both for me. Here’s how I started the addicition: My sister sent me a total of twelve pages she had to hand in for her studies as I usually help her with editing. I find that I work better with some white noise and because

Current nail colour: Prior to asking the question a while back I had gone weeks, no, months without any colour on my nails. Now that summer is in full bloom I absolutely need to get my nails sparkling and shining. And yes, I’ll say the same again in winter. For now, I’m wearing Essie’s Double-breasted Jacket.

Nails_Essie Double breasted jacket

 Current TV show: Still Gilmore Girls. And I’m still bugged about this problem I had while watching it.

Current volunteer job: While I might not have a new full-time job yet I’ve been trying to keep busy with tutoring and helping out in a reading club for children. What I expexted was like a kids’ version of adult book clubs. However, it’s more about getting the little ones to get active outside of sitting in front of the computer or TV. We practicted for a short role play some of them got really excited about – so cute! – and now during the holidays there are various activities centering around certain books.

Leseclub

Current bane of my existence: The weather. Why in the world can’t it be constant? Rain. Heat. Rain. Summer, where are you?  My mood fluctuates with the weather and lack of sun means …

Current drink: Tea? Water? I can’t say much was changing in this realm throughout the year.

Current food: What am I not eating? Really, though, ever since upping my intake  my appetite has been through the roof. Given my stomach looks like that of a pregnant woman most nights [hello, TMI]. Right now and for the past weeks, these have been chickpeas [always], chocolate [ditto], cottage cheese and carrots. And did I mention that when chocolate comes out peanut butter isn’t far away, either?

Chocolate and peanut butter_Lindt

Current blessing: Probably my most repeated but it’s worth saying again: friends. Real friends who care about you and always offer to lend an ear but also cheer you up not asking how things are going.

Current guilty embarrassing pleasure: Turning up the music and shaking it out. I have no feeling for rhythm whatsoever – but all the more fun. When going through my iTunes for the first time in a while this song came on and I despise my plan to quickly send out a mail I couldn’t stop myself until the song was over. Crazy times.

Current link: make-it-okay.com If only this existed in real life  …

Happiness inducing today: Something I felt majorly anxious about beforehand turning out much better and happier than expected.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

 

Tell me your current

  • a) book
  • b) needs
  • c) food
  • d) blessing

11 thoughts on “Currently … August 2015

  1. hungryforbalance says:

    I love that nail color. I almost never paint my nails because I hate it once it starts chipping. My current blessing is my family. I just got to spend the weekend with my favorite cousin and we had the best time. I hope you have a great day!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I know! Chipping is the worst about painting your nails.
      It’s cheesy to say it but family is the biggest blessing in life. I’m happy to hear you had a great time with your cousin!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s not weird at all. In fact, I’ve yet to come across an almond butter pairing I didn’t like. Some days my diet is best described as almond butter with a side of everything ;).

  2. Chris says:

    Almost done with the entire series of Gilmore Girls and I don’t want it to end! I am on the 2nd episode of season 7. I have no idea what I will watch when it is done!

  3. Emily says:

    Yeee! I loooovelovelove that nail color. 🙂

    And I’m really happy to hear that your appetite is increasing. Try not to let the stomach “bloat” get to you. When reintroducing foods and upping intake, our bodies automatically store weight in our stomachs first in an attempt to protect all of our vital organs. Weight re-distribution is so, so real and amazing…it just takes time. Keep going, girl! You’re doing such an amazing job.

    xo

  4. Jessica @ Balance and Thyme says:

    MMM, I want that chocolate square NOW! And I second the comment above about carrots and almond butter. It’s so good!

    Book – The Heart of Yoga
    Need – More time and strength to cope when I don’t have enough to do what I want.
    Food – I am straight up addicted to roasted coconut chips. I have a problem.
    Blessing – My husband, dad and dog. they are the best 3 guys I could ever ask for.

Leave a Reply

