Dare to be the unpopular one.

The first Thursday of Fall … can you believe it? Get out all the boots, scarves, fluffy socks and … thick blankets. I didn’t want to leave my bed this morning because it’s cold! Then again, staying in bed is no option [and yes, it gets boring after a while] so while I’m up already I’m joining  Amanda in thinking out loud again. It’s another one of those hardly-edited posts where I let my mind lead me. Daring to follow this path for me as an overthinker but that’s what this post is all about.

Thinking-Out-Loud

I don’t like ketchup. Or mayonnaise [the smell alone makes me gag]. Or aioli. Or mustard [nasty!]. Actually, I can probably count the number of condiments I do eat on one hand.

I don’t drink alcohol. But if you do, that’s cool with me. Just like I won’t judge your diet.

My favourite beverage in the morning? Tea. No coffee in the AM. Actually, no coffee has been seen around here for months.

Pumpkin spice latte? I don’t think so. Which yes, means you won’t be seeing any of my money, Starbucks!

I don’t use Snapchat and don’t understand the hype about it, either. If you do, great, but I’ll pass.

Using Instagram? Sure. But taking pictures of all my meals, 4f4 or shoutouts? No. That’s not my style and I won’t change to please you.

 

These obviously aren’t any shocking revelations that would make anybody kick me out of their house. What they all have in common, though? Most people would disagree or feel differently on at least the majority of these. And you know what? That’s okay. We can’t ever be friends with everybody.

Growing up, I was shy about voicing my opinions or admitting I disagreed with people. It was much easier to ## not speak up at all ## or silently nod. Was it good, though? No. Keeping to yourself and swimming with the tide? Doesn’t allow you to actually grow and discover what you stand for.

ShoesLiterally not standing for it.

The actual reason I’m bringing up the topic is that surprisingly, my most popular posts [and the ones I put most passion into writing] are those where I just let my thoughts flow. No ‘but what if somebody thinks I’m weird?’ or ‘maybe I shouldn’t ….’s . That’s something I’m still learning but it’s seriously rewarding to dare and be different. Last week’s post? If I’d let it sit in my drafts folder for any longer – chances are you’d have never seen it. The feedback I got admittedly overwhelmed me [thank you so much again! Your comments mean the world to me]. And even if I hadn’t gotten as many comments just one or two people telling me how much it resonated with them would have been amazing.

The only hard rules about topics I post is: don’t be a jerk. Don’t hurt others [intentionally]. No political or religious topics [because those do have the tendency to hurt others].

When we dare to be different from the norm, we’ll more often than not discover we’re actually not alone in our ‘weirdness’. Somebody has to make a start to change something in the world or even just make people think, get a conversation started. Be different, be yourself – and be surprised by others’ response. You never know who might secretly share your unpopular opinions and appreciate you speaking up.

 

Happiness-inducing today: Making somebody else happy with good news I had for her.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

No specific questions today but I’m curious to hear your thoughts and experiences on the issue.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Dare to be the unpopular one.

  1. Strength and Sunshine says:

    It’s the “controversy” that people do like, even if they say they don’t. They do like to read different opinions and values than what they have so they can argue their point and be heard as well. It can be refreshing to some extent.
    (But girl…..ketchup!? I’m crying over here!) xoxo

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      My intention was to say that sometimes we’re glad when somebody speaks their mind about an unpopular or taboo topic because we didn’t dare to. I still agree people like controversy, too. It’s the foundation of interesting discussions.
      Oh and yes: I won’t change my mind about ketchup ;).

  2. Stacie@SimplySouthernStacie says:

    I’m always nervous when I post things that share my heart unapologetically, but the crazy thing about the world is that there is usually someone out there who feels the same way you do and can share in your words as well.

    Shapchat. Ugh. I don’t get it. Maybe I’m not hip enough anymore.

  3. Chocolaterunsjudy says:

    Let’s see: I don’t drink coffee or alcohol either, and you almost never see me at a Starbucks either (only very occasionally when I travel & often that’s just to buy an overpriced banana!).

    Not a fan of ketchup, although I love tomatoes but unfortunately I have a real love affair with mayonnaise & wish I diidn’t.

    I’ve always kind of marched to the beat of my own drummer. It gets easier to do the older you get, too!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      We seem to have a lot in common, Judy. Be kind to yourself regarding the mayonnaise fondness – we all have our little ‘bad’ habits that make us human. Don’t ask me about my chocolate consumption …
      Great to hear you’ve always done and said what felt right for you. I think not too many people can say this about themselves.

  4. Erin@BeetsPerMinute says:

    I totally agree with this!! Omg I actually really despise social media. I do it because I feel like it does help my blog, but oh my do I dislike it in general? YES! I haven’t had a personal social media account in almost five years. I just don’t like them. I am starting a business at the moment and the person who is helping me manage it is overwhelming me with “get on snapchat” “get on periscope” I just don’t want to. Why can’t we be successful without all of that constant oversharing of stuff? I think we can. I definitely tell it like it is much more now than ever. If I don’t want to do something, I don’t. If people have a problem with my choices, it’s their problem and not mine. Popularity isn’t important. Even if people think it is, it really isn’t. Great post!! I love your posts all the time! 🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you so much, Erin! I’m so glad you enjoy my ramblings and that you’re not afraid to say what you want.
      While I do like social media I wish new channels didn’t pop up quite this fast. Can’t we stop it at the point it’s at right now? And whew, yes, oversharing is some kind of problem for sure …

  5. hungryforbalance says:

    I only like ketchup or mayonnaise in very specific situations, but I do love mustard.
    I don’t snapchat or periscope or do pinterest correctly (apparently), but I do like instagram.
    I never spoke up in class for fear that my opinions would lead to ostracism
    It has taken me years, but learning to voice my own opinions has felt so freeing.
    My happiness inducing moment: blowing raspberries on my daughters tummy while she shrieks in delight.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’m happy to hear you’ve found the confidence to stand up for yourself throughout the years. It’s a learning process for me, too. I do believe it gets easier as we age. Your happiness-inducing moment sounds totally adorable.

  6. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    I’ve always felt like the odd one out as well, and while I’ve stopped noticing it as much now that I’m older and don’t care about those kind of things as much, I definitely can’t relate to a lot of the things that seem to be mainstream these days. But at the end of the day, I’d rather not try to fake interest in things that don’t interest me just to get fake friends/followers. Great post, lady!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      While I’m still a few years younger it’s definitely something I noticed, too. The older I get, the easier disagreeing and speaking my mind becomes. Fake friends aren’t the ones we can lean on when life gets hard so building less but meaningful connections is the better option.

  7. Jade says:

    It’s hard to accept being the odd one out because I think humans love conformity. We love to fit in. But I think it’s important for us to not run with the pack most of the time.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      I’d rather avoid conflicts, too, but if saying what we truly feel leads to a respectful discussion I think both sides can benefit. I’d better not get into any discussions about ketchup, though, I guess ;).

  8. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Since I often feel like the odd woman out in our lovely little blogging community, what with my anti pumpkin stance and cheese loving ways, I can relate to being different. That being said, I kind of enjoy it that way. I do me and if people like it, great. If not, that’s fine too. I will not be everyone’s cup of tea and at the end of the day, I’m happy with who I am. I’m not looking for acceptance from others because I’ve already given it to myself.

Leave a Reply

