Friday Favourites – 10/30/2015

Well, hello there, Friday! And hello there, [almost-]Halloween! How in the world did this month – or better yet: this year – fly by that fast [again]??! And Halloween being around the corner means Christmas isn’t far away anymore, either.  My plan to be prepped better and have a few presents by the end of this month already? We won’t get into that here …

While I can’t churn out any Halloween memories for lack thereof – yes, it’s true – I decided to link up with Heather and Katie to talk about some current favourites again.

  1. At the risk of being cheesy I just have to say that a definite favourite of mine this week were all your comments on yesterday’s post. Letting my thoughts flow and hearing other people’s opinion is one of my favourite parts of blogging. Sorry not sorry for cheesiness.

2. One firm favourite that boosts my mood on those gray, cold and at times boring days: kitchen dance parties! Kitchen because mine doubles as a living room – not always a blessing. Either way: feel free to laugh but this oldie but goodie made a return this week:

3. Talking about jam there’s a firm food favourite to mention, too. If you’ve been reading for some time you might remember my fondness of a certain brand of Greek yogurt split cups and especially the jam part? Well, the only store carrying those decided to discontinue selling them. I’m a-okay going with my Greek yogurt cheat but I do miss the fruity spread so I’ve been on a mission to find a replacement. While not entirely the same this one is pretty close. Lots of blueberries and 75 % fruit percentage – I can roll with that.

favourite jam_blueberry

Walks. Always good but even better now I’m not excerising anymore. This is actually really tough on my mind but I keep repeating to myself that all of this hardship is serving a better future. And while running isn’t in the books – I’m even trying to avoid blogs mentioning it because I miss it so much – walks are an awesome alternative to clear my mind. And – TMI 😉 – they help keeping you regular, too.

autum walk

Another favourite? Surprise packages in the mail. Granted, this one wasn’t entirely surprising but the fact how soon it shipped [five days and not stuck at customs!] was. So: Quest bars. Why? How? My last post might have left the impression I was anti-protein anything. Which isn’t entirely true. I’m not emphasizing protein in my diet much and  going with my gut rather than trying to figure out any macronutrient needs. And as you know if you read yesterday’s post you will know I think no foods should be shunned from our diets completely. Just make real foods the largest part of your diet and you’re good to go.

Quest bars_protein

Long story short: I’m generally curious of trying new foods and seeing all the rage around Quest bars wanted to know what the hype was about. However, my curiosity wasn’t large enough to actually shell out money to order them online. Are you aware a bar of ## this amazing chocolate ## is cheaper than a ‘Questie’? I know my priorities ;). Nonetheless, I was lucky to win a giveaway on Instagram and got two boxes of the bars – one of the S’mores flavor and a mixed bestseller box – and I’m excited to see if they live up to their reputation. I’ll keep you updated.

For now, I hope you’ll have a great Friday and a good start into the weekend!

Happiness-inducing today: Many little things like talking to my sister on the phone, finding out one of her former classmates that I happen to know a bit better, too, is pregnant and other things.
 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

What’s your favourite jam – both the edible and audible kind?

If you’re a Quest bar fan: what is your favourite here? And: raw or baked? Because apparently certain flavours are best enjoyed warmed up?!

Do you have any plans for Halloween?

 

9 thoughts on “Friday Favourites – 10/30/2015

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    I LOVE WALKS! I do not run. I find it UGHHHHHH, no thank you! Walks are supreme to me, so I am glad you’re enjoying them too! 😉

    As for Halloween. I am going to Disneyland with BlissfulBritt! In fact, she’s sitting on the couch in my living room right now! 😮 You should come on over this Saturday! ha ha!

  2. Lilly says:

    Ahhhh kitchen dance parties. You and I would get a long well I think :). Walks – I agree with everything you said. But walks are beautiful and one of the best things you can do, both for the body and the mind. And regardless of what you said in your post yesterday – that’s awesome about the quest bars! You never gave an impression that one should not eat them (you always have a way of still being open and supportive in your thoughts) and if you didn’t have to pay an arm and a leg – go to it! Let us know how you like them.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      We should have a kitchen dance party/walking/yoga meet-up one day :).
      Thank you for seeing my intention in yesterday’s post. Opposed to what they’re like for many people in recovery Quest bars are in fact a challenge for me – never replacing chocolate, though.

  3. katalysthealth says:

    YAY for dirty dancing!! That movie makes me all squishy inside. I adore Patrick Swayze. Only the good die young!!
    And yessss to Quest Bars! Not all of them are worth the money, but oh my gosh some of them are just too darn good to be true.

  4. ahealthyhappyhome says:

    Love Dirty Dancing! I have a four year old so we will be knee deep in Halloween fun tomorrow! Well, part of the day we will be enjoying some adult halloween fun at a winery party. It’s kid friendly so it’s a win win for all of us 😉

Leave a Reply

