What to remember if you didn’t reach your goals this past year.

This might be my most spontaneous not-entirely-random Thinking out loud post ever. Originally intended in a slightly different way, the fact I didn’t get a chance to post earlier today [in my mind: at the only time fitting] turned this around with a new realization or better yet reminder. When I had to realize I wasn’t able to post in the morning I figured all was lost. I tend to get into this perfectionist mindset where I need to hit publish by [insert time] or else the chance is lost for the day. And with that my mood plummets a smidgen upon the realization that – once again [obviously overlooking the many days I did get post published in time] – I failed my own . Which leads me to the topic of this post …

Thinking-Out-Loud

 

2015 was a catastrophe.

Not my words but the ones by a lady I heard when turning on the radio the other day. Granted, knowing what exactly made her feel this way would have been enlightening but the radio show’s task for its audience to use five words or less didn’t allow for more. Nevertheless, she wasn’t the only one summing up the past twelve months in less than kind words. Which got me thinking.

Was my 2015 what I’d hoped for? No. But rather than consider the whole year a fail or lost I’m trying to see the positives. I’m not pretending this was easy every day but it’s worth it. Life is never just sunshine and while there was a lot of rain – to stay consistent with the metaphor here – I know the sun will shine stronger again. And never forget to see the silver linings. Even if there’s no way you can see the positives of the past twelve moments now remind yourself the past year was one wasted. Remind yourself of this:

You can still make your life worth living. You still have the power to create awesomeness.

It bears repeating: mindset is everything. Just like we’re told to see our diet in the big picture rather than fret about a few indulgences more every now and then life in itself is a big picture issue, too. Not to get too scientific here but with a current life expectancy of about … years even having one or two – though I do hope you can see at least a few happy moments in every day/month/year – won’t weigh too heavily.

On a walk

I refuse to consider 2015 a year lost. Despite the many sad moments I had, the frustration and thinking I couldn’t move on: it had its beautiful moments – many, in fact. I might not be where I’d hoped to at this point but that’s okay. We need to forgive ourselves and I’m not saying this with myself in mind only. I see so many people beating themselves up for slipping up in recovery, messing things up in relationship or not meeting their expectations in whichever area of life.

It’s okay. We are okay. We still have time to accomplish your goals. Whether it be in the next 366 (!), 388 or 460 days. There are obviously things we don’t get a second try at. In my life, in yours. But those again are the cases where we have to forgive ourselves and eventually move on to try better at the next chance we get.

flowers

If, by the end of January, you feel like you haven’t made progress in area x or y in life yet: it’s okay. See where you went wrong, learn the lesson and keep trying. Just don’t ever give up on yourself. Never.

And with that I hope you’ll have a great New Year’s Eve – as relaxed or wild as you please – and I’ll see you again on the other side … of the calendar page.

Happiness-inducing today: Winning a game of Yathzee when spontaneously playing wit with my mum. The fact she suggested it alone made me happy [she swears she didn’t like playing games].

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

No specific questions. Just let me know how 2015 was for you or any other thoughts on the topic.

6 thoughts on “What to remember if you didn’t reach your goals this past year.

  1. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! says:

    I love this post, Sunne!! I can SO relate to 2015 not being the best year on record…but amongst the dark parts, there were definitely some bright moments. I like your outlook on entering the new year. I think it’s best to stay positive and not put time constraints on our goals & dream like you said! Here’s to a better 2016 for both of us! ❤ Thank you for your continued, friendship!

  2. Beauty in Christ (@Emily11949309) says:

    Seeing the bigger picture is SO important for me not to get discouraged. When I see that God is painting a broader picture than I can possibly see, I realize that I really don’t have much to worry about. :))) Just keep trucking!!! 🙂 And hey girl, I was wondering if you would be interested in guest posting for me on my blog?

Leave a Reply

