Good good links #125

If you’re a music  lover or Harry Potter fan you’ll look back at this week with a heavy heart. Even if you’re neither you likely didn’t miss the sad news and while my feelings about the media’s reaction to famous people’s death is similar to the one regarding topics expressed in this post: these were reminders of how fleeting life is. Something I – and maybe others? – seem to forget at times. Okay, enough of that heaviness and into [mostly] light-hearted reads I found this past week.

Happy Sunday!

Good good links

Good good [food for thought]

A Health Rant via Picky Runner

Aside from a few basic rules – mostly whole foods, not too much sugar – what’s healthy varies for all of us and that’s totally okay. A message that bears repeating time and time again.

Star Wars, Feminism and Body Image via Hot Pink Wellingtons

Not a Star Wars fan myself I hadn’t caught this discussion yet it’s interesting  (in a sad way) how deeply rooted the inequality of men and women is in our minds even in areas like this [where it shouldn’t matter].

 

 

Good good [advice, inspiration and other insightful reads]

Protecting My Healthy Body Image During Time Off via Suzlyfe

Time off from exercise – whether due to injury or in ED recovery – can be hard mentally. these are some great tips to prevent you from getting down on yourself.

The Number One Reason Not To Diet via Avocado a Day

The sad “side effect” any and all weight loss diets have in common.

3 Steps That’ll Make Accepting Compliments a Whole Lot Easier via The Muse

For any other people who have a hard time seeing they actually did well and should allow themselves to simply appreciate compliments rather than over-interpreting.

10 Free Apps That Can Help You Make Extra Money via Self Magazine

Not applicable for me or any other Germans but for everybody else some of these don’t sound half bad.

Things We Should All Do More of in 2016 via Yes Girl

With all the cutting out going on this time of the year it’s a good idea to shift the focus to positive habits we can strenghten this year.

 

Blogging

10 things I do every week to grow my online presence via xo Sarah

Social media can be overwhelming but these are the top things to keep in mind for the weekly blog to-do. [Some I still need to work on, too].

113 [more] blog post ideas via Thirteen Thoughts

Who doesn’t dread writer’s block? These will come in handy when you’re struggling to find content.

20 Metaphors That Explain Social Media Perfectly via Buffer Blog

If you knew me you’d know my huge fondness of metaphors and these are really good.

30 Tips For Exceptional Social Media Engagement via Canadian Blog House

Such a lot of good reminders and actionable idas on how to connect with your followers.

 

Good good [food]

17 Raw Desserts You Can Make Without Baking via Mashable

One of my non-goals for this year is to dabble with raw treats a little more and these look amazing. [Overlooking the tautolous title here …]

Broccoli Mac and Cheese via Clean Eats, Fast Feets

Do you like cheese? And broccoli? This recipe has you covered [in cheese].

Vegan Shepherd’s Pie with Mashed Cauliflower via Kara Lydon

While I didn’t grow up eating the meaty original, I have a certain fondness of vegetarian versions. Especially the more nutrious kind.

Creamy Macadamia Corn Chowder via It doesn’t taste like chicken

Soup-er simple and delicious sounding this calls for allll the toppings.

To Zoodles and Beyond: 20 Spiralizer Recipes That Do Not Disappoint via Popsugar

Did I mention I got myself my mum a spiralizer for Christmas? Time to bring on the veggie noodles again.

 

Happiness-inducing today: A neighbour’s cute not-quite-puppy-anymore recognizing me and getting excited when I passed them by on a walk.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Good good links #125

  1. SuzLyfe says:

    Thank you so much for sharing my post! I so hope that it helps someone. I loved Sarah’s post as well. I said this on facebook, but after losing David Bowie and Alan Rickman this week, if I hear the names Judi Dench or Maggie Smith, I am going to automatically stop listening just to protect myself.

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    I am ALL over those apps to make you some money. Wonder if they are worth it.. or good to use in Canada. And also all over that list of raw recipes – I’m always needing more of those. Thanks for adding to my lovely Sunday morning!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Let me know if they do apply for Canadians, too! I’m always curious about these kind of apps but feel we don’t have (a lot of) them over here.
      Happy Sunday and I haven’t forgotten about the mail!

Leave a Reply

