Week in review: Challenges, clumsiness and lessons

It’s time for another Week in Review. Although I’m yet more hesitant to post it as – can I get an extra day for accomplishment, please? – time seems to have passed by with little to cross off the to-do list. Knowing Meg, though, I know she’d encourage me to get listing in anyway. Some weeks are busier, some weeks less. It just means there’s room for improvement in weeks to come.

Week in review

During these past seven days I …

  • Finished the Bloggers Gonna Blog challenge without missing a single day. That alone is an accomplishment as I’mnot usually good at following through with these week-long challenges. The hardest part – as is common in any kind of challenge – was not letting comparison get the best of me and discourage the continuation of the prompts. Photography isn’t my strongest suit – I’m a writer through and through – so seeing everybody else’s pictures made me feel lacking in creativity and talent at times. Refocusing on the community-building effect and realising I still had fun eased my mind. Sometimes it’s really all about shifting our thoughts. [And the pictures in this post will be random ones from the challenge.]

BGB_Instachallenge_all the toppings

  • Slipped into my role as a German teacher three times. It has proven to be a challenge for my patience as I want to accomplish too many things at once, not be too repetitive in my lessons and basically have fluent-speaking students like yesterday. Slow. Down. Not the easiest feat for me but there are rewarding moments that make it worth trying.
  • Tried to learn how to pronounce and write my name in Arabic. I failed though in my defense I need to say I found my ten-year-old judge to be quite critical. I’m letting his guessing on the German articles – der, die , das – count for its effort alone, too, after all. Lesson learned: German might be hard to learn for some but Arabic is a really tough language, too. A pretty one, though.
  • Experimented with a new not-so-sinful truffle recipe that I’m hoping to share with you soon. Once it passes the taste control panel at the job, that is. Lots of store-bought chocolates and homemade baked goods around at all times – the traditional butter, sugar, white flour kind – make for some fierce competition. Keep your fingers crossed for me, will you?

BGB_chocolate

 

  • Prepped a little for another recipe [hopefully]  coming your way soon, too.Tha one upon special request from an as-of-yet still pregnant friend [not much longer, though!]. Don’t worry, though, I’ll do my best to make it a delcious one for myself everybody to enjoy. All I will say for now: balls. Bites.
  • Wrote and published three blog posts. One of them with hesitation about potentially stepping on somebody’s feet again which it turns out I luckily didn’t. Thanks for all of your feedback on the topic!
  • Managed to break both a small bowl and a spice jar [unfortunately containing one of my favourite spices]. I wouldn’t have brought this up if it wasn’t for that old saying of  “Break a thing, mend your luck.” [Geman: Scherben bringen Glück]. Somebody tell me it’s true, please? I need to justify my clumsiness in some way after all.

I may or may not be jealous of my mum’s collection of dishware - which I actually inspired ;).

  • Although recovery means a workout ban I did follow through with a little “exercising” most days. I miss running like crazy and doing some short Blogilates and another channel’s 20-minute routine for fun doesn’t feel like going overboard. It’s hardly intense but I can’t deny I didn’t enjoy to feel my butt burning a bit afterwards. TWSS.
  • Not listed but obviously still in the books was work at my new job and the usual household tasks not worthy mentioning.

Although not looking like much I think some times are more about mental adaption to new situations or the underlying lessons learned. At that, this week probably wasn’t as bad and keeping this in mind is what matters. I refuse to let any day or week pass by as a bad one. Mindset. It’s all about mindset.That being said: Don’t hate on Monday! It deserves a little lovin’, too.

Happiness-inducing today: Lots of time for reading the newspaper – that’s what weekends are for.

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me some achievements from your past week!
When was the last time you broke something? Did it work as a lucky charm [bonus points for saying yes even if it didn’ just to make me feel better😉 ]?

14 thoughts on “Week in review: Challenges, clumsiness and lessons

  1. Kate Bennett says:

    Your dish set is lovely! I am a fan of most things floral.
    I really enjoyed following your bgb challenge! I have to disagree, I think you do have a knack for photography. I’m excited for the truffle recipe!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you! The dishes by Green Gate and they have dozens of different ones – all amazing and on a never-ending wish list of mine.
      You’re so kind regarding my pictures for the BBG challenge. Looking at everybody else’s pictures I felt I really needed to work on composition. But then again: I can.

  2. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    I love that you came back for more WIR action, and I would say you accomplished far more than you realize or give yourself credit for. There are days simply putting one in foot in front of another, going to work and feeding myself are huge accomplishments and simple things such as this deserve recognition too.

    I’m sorry to hear about the dishes. I hate losing a good one, although I’m excited for the bites/ balls to come. Bring on the chocolate.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Not that I hadn’t told you already but: thank you, Meg! You’re doing a great job encouraging all of us to see that we did achieve something even in the seemingly most eventless weeks.
      Would you believe me if I told you I broke another plate in the making of the truffles today? Luckily, it wasn’t a special one but I still very much hope it is a lucky charm after all.

  3. Ellie says:

    I’m trying to teach myself photography too and it is rough. We’re in this together! The last thing I broke was my favorite sunflower bowl. I still use it because I just chipped it…but it still looks not as pretty as it was. Happy MLK day!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s a great skill to teach yourself, Ellie. We’re definitely in this together and will succeed :)!
      I’m sorry to hear you broke a favourite dish and a bowl at that – the best kind of dish. Like you, I’d still use the dish because chipped isn’t broken and I wouldn’t give up favourite bowls that quickly.

  4. Lyss says:

    I broke a glass just two days ago haha. This past week I babysat, wrote some blog posts, learned a new yoga pose, and moved back into school! Happy MLK day girl, hope you have a good Monday❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It seems to be the week of breaking glasses. The other kind of breaking bad😉.
      I’m curious about your yoga routine: are you entirely self-taught or going to classes, too?
      Confession: I didn’t know what you meant with MLK day the first moment as we don’t celebrate it over here.

  5. mylittletablespoon says:

    This is exactly what this link up is for – to fight back against those thoughts of having “not done anything” and actually be like, “Ya.. I kind of rock.” Which you do. Look at all you did this week. Having done the whole week with BGB (especially if it felt intimidating) and doing some kitchen experimenting are enough accomplishment for one week on their own – let alone having completed all your regular work and duties on top of that. How did we come to think we need to succeed with 10000000 things in order to feel validated? You and I both need to give ourselves more credit. Deal?

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      How could a comment like that not make me smile?! Thank you, Cora. It’s funny how we’d compliment others on taking time for a date night with their significant other but would only ever feel really achieved ourselves if we’d worked on a novel price-worthy project, no?
      By the way: I think you rock with all those achievements, too. And yes, I will add those blog duties to my next Week in Review. Promise.

Leave a Reply

