Date caramel truffles_3

Healthy 5-Ingredient Snickers Truffles [vegan, paleo, refined sugar-free]

Lusciously sweet and creamy caramel studded with salted peanuts and covered in chocolate: all the flavours of the traditional candy bar combined in one healthy truffle. Easy to prepare, vegan, gluten-free and with a paleo option these are a treat everybody can enjoy.

Raise your hands if you like caramel? Okay. Salted peanuts/ cashews[aka crack]? Okay. Chocolate? Great. Lots of refined sugar? No hands?? Okay, me, neither. But if you do like all the flavours in Snickers bars I do have a treat for you today.

Date caramel truffles_3

See, I’m not necessarily opposed to refined sugar and it’s part of my diet every day. However, I don’t fancy eating too much of it and the additional ingredients in store-bought candy bars are far from tasty-sounding, too. Into the kitchen we go then. These truffles are

Sweet.

Salty.

Creamy.

Crunchy.

Refined sugar-free. Vegan. Paleo.

Covered in chocolate. We can never forget about the chocolate.

 

Date caramel_spoon

If you’ve been around the blog world for any amount of time you will be familiar with the many different kinds of balls bites made from nuts and dates with various add-ins. Confession: I’m not a fan of those. Granted, I obviously haven’t tried every kind out there and some sound pretty good. It must be mix of childhood “trauma”/lasting rebellion [growing up eating bars made from dried fruit and nut while others had chocolate bars isn’t fun] and the fact they don’t saturate but only make me hungrier. Not a good choice for a snack. However, I recently started playing around with dates caramel and that is something I could get used to. After using it in this recipe that – while delicious – was rather time-intensive I wanted to see if I could come up with a quicker way to bring together all of the amazing flavours used here. Much to my pleasure: yes, I can. As can you so next time you’re craving salty-sweet crunchy and creamy Snickers just make these and feel good eating as many as you want.

Date caramel truffles_1

I’m also very happy to announce these are mum- and coworker-approved which is a rarity around here. For one as I don’t usually venture into sweet territory with my recipes and I’m not exactly going to bring Cauliflower Curry to share at the office. And then as I trust my own tastebuds enough when it comes to savoury fare not inviting any other judges. These healthy Snickers truffles, however, got a major sign of approval and I already have a request for another batch. Nothing to complain about here. Make these for your family or coworkers and not have them guess the treats they’re eating actually aren’t all that sinful.

Date caramel truffles_2

 

Healthy 5-Ingredient Snickers Truffles

  • 250 g [a scant 9 oz]* soft dates* [don’t need to be Medjool]
  • 2-4 tbsps coconut butter [the more the creamier the taste ]
  • Optional: warm water*
  • Pinch of sea salt
  • 1 oz roasted salted peanuts/cashews for paleo version, chopped
  • 1.5 oz dark chocolate [use unsweetened if you want to keep these refined sugar-free; I used an 80 % bar]

 

  1. In a high-speed blender or food processor, combine dates, salt and coconut butter. Blend until relatively smooth. A few smaller pieces of dates are no big issue. If your caramel doesn’t become as smooth as you like add in warm water 1 tsp at a time.*
  2. Put the date caramel into a bowl and mix in salted peanuts.
  3. Using 1 tsp [more for bigger truffles] at a time roll caramel into balls.
  4. Melt chocolate either in the microwave or using a double boiler.
  5. Dip the caramel balls into the melted chocolate and set onto a parchment-lined baking sheet or plate. Using a fork works best for this
  6. Transfer truffles to the fridge for the chocolate to set.

** this was one bag of dates for me. I only used half the caramel for a small batch of truffles as my blender (Vitamix) doesn’t work for blending smaller amounts at a time. The remaining ingredients listed are for using half the caramel so either double them or  keep the same if your blender allows for making smaller batches of caramel.

***add water 1 tsp at a time if the blending process takes too long or doesn’t yield the desired smooth consistency. However, adding too much water will make the caramel hard to handle later on so use sparingly.

I’m linking up with Allergy Free Wednesdays#RecipeOfTheWeek,#StrangeButGoodGluten-Free Fridays,Tasty Tuesdays,Healthy Vegan Fridays, Meatless Mondays.

Happiness-inducing today: Seeing the first pictures of my newborn nephew. I’m officially an aunt now!

 

Stay in touch!
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
How do you feel about refined sugar? As mentioned I follow the balanced approach. If I can avoid it – looking at you, storebought sauces or bread! – I do but nobody will ever separate me from my chocolate.

Date caramel: what are your favourite uses for it?

 

 

41 thoughts on “Healthy 5-Ingredient Snickers Truffles [vegan, paleo, refined sugar-free]

  1. caileejoy says:

    Wow! These look amazing! …I love them! Also, I love how they’re paleo, free of refined sugar and vegan! You my friend are a genius!!
    Xoxo- Cailee

  2. katalysthealth says:

    Ummmm YES these need to be in my mouth right NOWWWW! Love how simple the ingredients list is and how just gosh darn delicious these suckers sound! I’m all about raw treats like these. I stock pile them in my fridge🙂

  3. tessadomesticdiva says:

    I have used dates as caramel in other healthy treats…and it is uncanny how well it passes…these look amazing!! Featuring your recipe this week on Allergy Free Wednesday, thanks for sharing it.

  4. Ellie says:

    Yum these looks so good! I love using dates in sweet treats and peanuts will always be my favorite nut (or legume?). Thanks for linking them to Sweet and Savory. I’m glad I found them🙂

Leave a Reply

