Are you sure you didn’t accomplish anything at all?

Wise words spoken [or rather: written] by two wonderful ladies inspired this post reminding me to acknowledge all the little things in life. After taking part in Meg’s Week in Review these past weeks I’ve developed a new sense of seeing personal success. Not [only] in the big things – receiving the Novel price and the likes, you know 😉 – but the small, seemingly mundane happings that escape our memory all too easily. Let’s think [and talk] about that today.

Let's talk

 

But I didn’t really achieve that much compared to [insert name].

But everybody else is working out much harder. My easy three miles are nothing compared to [insert another name again].

If only I was an early riser like everybody else – I could get so much more done!

If only I’d prepped my meals like every other good blogger I wouldn’t have eaten out that often/spent so much on groceries.

 

That’s a lot of if, a lot of but and mostly a lot of not helpful. Sure, getting down on and being unhappy with ourselves is always an option. Usually the go-to option, right? Also the worst option as it feeds a vicious cycle of being stuck in the mindset of ‘never good enough’ = just give up trying in the first place because what you can’t change anything after all, no?

The truth is: yes, you – and I – probably didn’t achieve as much as the next person who’s juggling family life, marathon running, meal prepping like a pro and blogs six times a week along with working a full-time gig. But you might very well have achieved a lot for your own measures. It’s about first listing up and looking at what you did during the past week/month. What made you feel good and happy. And then scaling this list of accomplishments up with what you know is [currently or in general] possible for you. This one being my main point here but if you’re confused let me elaborate:

Maybe you’re struggling with depression. An eating disorder. Or simply are an introvert working in an extroverted business that makes you feel drained by Friday night.Or none of these but you’re just feeling overwhelmed by expectations. These obstacles are your heavy luggage in this game called life. I’d venture to guess most of us carry one or more of these around with us. That one big underlying issue or thing we need to face day by day along with any daily chores or jobs. Or even if you don’t have one specific  heavy luggage you could feel overwhelmed more easily than somebody else. And that is okay. Some of us are extroverted social butterflies who thrive going out with friends after work while others are glad to put on their PJs and Netflix [much needed me time] after work. Some of us can knock out 50+ hours at their jobs [yes, I know those people] while others are exhausted just thinking about that.

PJ pants_striped_bed

It’s about knowing the limits of what you can handle. While it might not be able to say no to every additional task you’re assigned or skip every social event that makes you feel anxious you being aware of your limits helps you see your achievements. Because if you did Don’t let anybody tell you taking care of yourself wasn’t an achievement in itself. I’m trying to not center this post around EDs but if you’re in recovery from one you’ll know that something as seemingly simple as eating every meal is a win. If you suffer from depression getting up is one. A friend of mine is dealing with extreme social anxiety. For her, going to a crowded mall is an achievement while it would be fun for me. We all carry our own little “packages” around and what’s an easy breezy walk for some might mean conquering Mount Everest for you. Breathe. It’s okay. Go at your own speed and if you decide walking the whole way is too much today you can still give yourself a pat on the back for trying. Making steps and staying on the move at all is enough.

Don’t measure your own days up to somebody who has a completely different character, living a different life and having a different background. Celebrate your personal wins.

If you’re struggling – with whatever it might be – at the moment the simple act of taking care of yourself is worth being acknowledged. Many times others will – intentionally or not – make you feel bad for not doing this/only doing that. The [unfortunate] truth is that if you’re burdened by any special condition [especially mental illnesses] outsiders won’t be able to see that what you do is a lot indeed when it’s not up to par with what the average Joe does. But: you are the only one knowing your personal limits. Knowing the amount of work you’re able to fit into a week. Knowing when you need to slow down and take time to recharge. Don’t get me wrong: This isn’t an encouragement for laziness. If you’re [mentally and physically] healthy yet still only lying around doing nothing and eating fries then this isn’t your excuse to keep doing this. For 99.5 % of us this isn’t the reality, though. We all achieve different things every week. And whatever it is that you’re putting your creative and physical energy into day by day: it’s worth celebrating.

 

Happiness-inducing today: An day that was probably exhausting but felt good. I’d have to write a novel to explain this so will leave it at this condensed version.

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21
Pinterest: MissPolkadot21
Bloglovin’: Let’s get living

 

No specific questions but just tell me whichever thoughts you have on this topic. I’m sure many can relate.

25 thoughts on “Are you sure you didn’t accomplish anything at all?

  1. Lyss says:

    Really love this and can relate. Sometimes I get caught in the comparison trap of “she worked out today and I didn’t” or “she did more studying than I did” and feel like I didn’t accomplish as much as I should have. But we just need to recognize that each individual is different and we all need different things/do different things to make us happy!

  2. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    “If you’re struggling – with whatever it might be – at the moment the simple act of taking care of yourself is worth being acknowledged.” <– that's actually something that I need to remind myself constantly, whether I'm really going through a hard time or just juggling a bunch of things that threaten to overwhelm me. Different people handle things differently, and what's no big deal for one person might be a huge deal for another. Great post and lovely reminder, lady🙂

  3. Morgan @ Managing Mommyhood says:

    Oh man this is great! More often than not, I put Ryan to bed and I’m just like… what on earth did I accomplish today? Because I felt like I was go-go-going all day! But then i remember that you know, I kept another human alive and the house is still standing and not a TOTAL disaster, so I must’ve done okay ahaha

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      From reading day-in-the-life posts of many blogger mums I think you have a seriously busy life and achieve a lot every day. “I kept another human alive” <- this alone is a huge feat you can give yourself a pat on the back for.

  4. Ellie says:

    I seriously get FOMO sometimes because my roommate goes out all the time and I would rather just veg out. However I try to keep in mind that I work with people all day and that is my alone time. She also works alone and on the computer all day so she needs to get out.
    In the end, I’m happy with who I am, so the comparison trap isn’t so bad anymore. Great post!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Oh, I hear you on the FOMO. It’s great you can remind yourself that your job “saturates” you in the socializing part hence making you opt for cozy nights in while your roommate craves social time after a lonesome work day.

  5. katalysthealth says:

    The comparison game is a nasty trap in more ways than one, isn’t it? Instead of it just be pertaining to physical appearance, now we compare our own accomplishments, goals, dreams, desires, efforts, and whatever else we can think of. HOW SAD! I fall into this trap as well – instead of just seeing what I’ve done and comparing it to what I know that I can do or achieve I look to the outside for comparrison and acknowledgement. Great, thought-provokin post!!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Comparison never seems to end these days. If only it was “just” – and that’s too much already – limited to appearance but trying to keep up with others in every area of life is beyond stressful. I think all of us fall into the trap on occasion.

  6. Kate Bennett says:

    Oh man, I’ve learned comparing myself to others is just a recipe for feelings of failure. When I thought I had to be the best in academia, I wasn’t very warm to others.
    Letting go and accepting the opportunities I come across in my life and realizing that my life is MINE and I can’t have another has made the biggest difference. The accomplishes may look small to others, but they are what make my life awesome.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      The progress you’re looking back on and coming to terms with your life being yours to shape and make your personal best is great, Kate. This realization and the changes you made in consequence are acccomplishments you can be proud of.

  7. mylittletablespoon says:

    Your writing and words are so eloquent. Really touched home on this one. I am having to constantly remind myself that right now, doing less is actually “my work.” To others – this may not make sense and actually be opposite to what they think would equate to accomplishments – but for me, it is huge. Being an introvert, I know that being out around people all day/week is overwhelming and that I need extra time to recharge from this, and that therefore I may not be able to stay out and up getting as much “done.” But this is part of what makes me, me.
    Sigh – this was wonderful. Thank you lady.❤

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Cora. It’s so important to remember – in a society that glamorizes a go-go-go attitude – that slowing down can be the true accomplishment for some of us.
      As a fellow introvert I can sign what you said there, too. I’m not fun to be around when pushing myself out into the crowds for longer than I know is comfortable for me.

  8. GiGi Eats Celebrities says:

    NEVER EVER do I ever compare myself to anyone else. EVER. Ever I tell you. We are each our own person and you need to be happy with you and you alone! You cannot change yourself to be like anyone else. We are all unique in our own ways and you need to remind yourself of all the awesome things you embody! Sure I may not be the tallest person in the world, but I really love me regardless – hey, I wouldn’t be able to crawl into small spaces😉

  9. Lisa @ Lisa the Vegetarian says:

    This is such a great topic to discuss. So many weeks I feel like I didn’t measure up to the goals I had, or how good someone else did in a certain area compared to me. It’s so important to take a step back and actually see the real things that were accomplished, no matter how big or small.

  10. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Comparison is a rough, rough game which is why I stay away from it. Nothing good ever seems to come from it and you’re usually only getting a window and perhaps not an accurate one into the life of the person you’re comparing yourself to.

    It’s also why I love the WIR link up. It’s a chance to see your own worth and really recognize the value of the things you accomplish day in and day out, even if it’s no more than going to work and feeding yourself daily. There are days those things alone are huge for me, so I’ll happily give myself a pat on the back when they happen.

Leave a Reply

