Week in review: The Self-Care Edition

Hi there, February! Don’t you like it when Monday doesn’t just start the week but month, too? No? Just me?

Either way, Monday once again marks the time to get listing and link up with Meg again. Admitting this afterThurday’s post is ironical but I didn’t feel iike I’d done a lot during the past week. Taking my own advice, though, I reevaluated my days and noticed that long work days were balanced by lots of self-care.

Week in review

Starting with one thing I didn’t do:  celebrate my birthday [yet*] – say what?? Instead, however, I had an amazing first: I finally met the latest addition to our family on my birthday. I happened to have the day off from work and my sister expected other visitor the next day so it worked a charm. I’m not resentful about forgoing a celebration or even just a dinner out as meeting my nephew was the best gift. If I was excited about becoming an aunt last week I’m completely obsessed now. Yes, this is what every aunt or mum will say but he’s so flipping cute. [Insert endless gushing about tiny baby hands and awwwr here.]

And here’s where I owe you a sorry: I won’t post any of them. Trust me, I would be happy to share but I also respect the privacy of my sister and especially her little one. I hope all of you will understand.

*I intend on celebrating later this year when more friends are around. January is never a good month to gather people from all over the country.

That aside I …

Published three blog posts again. One of them related to the very topic the Week in Review is centered around and I was happy to see so many of you shared their thoughts and/or could relate.

Set up a flower bouquet my mum gave me on my birthday. It’s probably no secret I like flowers even though I’m bad at keeping them. Honestl, they’re better off outside in the wild than sharing the same four walls with me …

Birthday flowers

Went on a walk with my dad. This deserves its spot in here for numerous reasons one of them being it only happens once in a blue moon. He actually asked me to join very randomly when he saw me heading out yesterday and we had a good conversation, too. All of this only makes sense when I let you in on the fact that we don’t have the best relationship.

Remembered to up my moisturizing game. No ewwws here. The story behind this is that I can get pretty bad about using lotion because I’m a bit iffy after a few of my clothes were ruined by not so nice greasy stains. My legs and feet don’t like this so I’m trying to get back into the habit. It helps when your lotion smells like candy.

Lotion_Sweet Apple Pie Hugs

Freed up space on my laptop by deleting old pictures. Fellow bloggers will probably know the pain of taking millions of pictures of one and the same thing and forgetting to delete them. It’s okay for a while but then your computer starts acting up …. Or is this just mine?

Baked? no-baked? Prepared lactation bites for my sister. Basically all kinds of nutritious ingredients (various grains, cooked brown rice, coconut, …) rolled into balls And yes, they’re called balls in the original recipe but since a) that’s not blog-appropriate😉 and b) I tinkered around with it to create my own recipe I changed it here. Confession: I was skeptical of how well these would turn out as they tasted very healthy at first. Low and behold, though, they got my sister’s sign of approval so if she asks for another batch I’ll share the recipe. Not just for any pregnant or breast-feeding women but anybody needing a healthy nutrient-dense snack. [No visual proof here as I prepared them at night and they looked like raw meat balls in the only picture I snapped.]

While I didn’t celebrate my birthday my mum treated myself to a little health food store haul as a small birthday gift. She knows me well. I went very basic but with some items I can’t find where I live: puffed buckwheat, oat bran, coconut flour and – ! – Chocolate Chili Yogi Tea. Seriously, if you can find this where you live: buy it! I used to be a huge fan of their Chocolate tea, switched to the Sweet Chili variety – you’re not surprised by this one, are you? – and then discovered this amazing blend. It’s so good. Sadly also so expensive but worth it as a treat.

Food haul_Schoko Chili-Tee_yogi tea

Took a rest day. I told you I’m only working out very lightly with workout videos but one day this past week my mind said yes, my legs no. So no it was. This is still hard when I feel like I’m not doing anything strenuous at all but it’s about healing my mind to develop a healthier attitude towards workouts in general.

Played a game of Yathzee with my parents yesterday and – won again. I have no explanation for this but I’m not complaining. It might have been due to the birthday bonus my dad granted me through throwing the dice an additional time when I’d had bad luck. Birthday week after all😉.

Happiness-inducing today: The current overall good atmosphere between me and my dad.

 

Stay in touch!

Twitter: @MissPolkadot21

Pinterest: MissPolkadot21

Bloglovin’: Let’s get living
Tell me three [or more] achievements from your past week!
 Random question: how do you feel about posting pictures of babies or children? It’s the first time I had to handle this situation and I’m curious about others’ approach.

 

15 thoughts on “Week in review: The Self-Care Edition

  1. Juli says:

    Aaaah a nephew! Congrats Aunty😀 I love being an aunt. It’s awesome because you get to spoil them a little without having to feel guilty about it😉

    Hope you get to celebrate your birthday a little more. Some are worth celebrating😉

  2. mylittletablespoon says:

    I say becoming an aunt is one of the best birthday gifts a girl could ask for – and more than enough reason to forgo other celebrations (though I hope you still treat yourself to whatever you may have missed on the actual day. Never too late).
    I’m also so warmed to hear about the walk with your Dad. This is really special, and I’m sure meant a lot to both parties.
    I’m giving you a huge high five AND hug for taking that rest day. This is nothing small and it deserves to be recognized. Superhero move girl.

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s true that the rest day was indeed a big-ish accomplishment for. It’s these mental challenges that seem harder to feel pride for because they’re not a palpable like a badge on a jacket. Which might mean I should work on visualizing a mental jacket …
      Missing out on a celebration for now was fine but I will definitely find a way to make up for it later on. We only get to celebrate so many birthday, right?

  3. Meghan@CleanEatsFastFeets says:

    Congrats on becoming an Aunt, that is so exciting. I still remember the first time I became one and the sheer joy I get from my nieces (two of them) and nephew (one). You’re going to love it; all the fun with none of the responsibility. It’s the best.

    I’m so glad you hear about you and your dad. Moments like those are special and I know you’ll treasure it. You should maybe invite him to join you some other time; maybe keep the momentum going.

    Good work on the rest day. I think you should keep challenging yourself and take one each week. Happy Monday and thanks for linking up. I love having you for the WIR.🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      “all the fun with none of the responsibility.” – my thoughts exactly🙂. It’s why I enjoyed babysitting a lot back in the day and I imagine it will be even more special with a niece or nephew.
      Maybe it were your words in my head or slowly getting better at it but I did indeed take another rest day. Which is hard when I don’t engage in any strenuous activity to begin with but here we go.

  4. Stephanie Leduc says:

    That is such a nice bouquet, it reminds me so much of summer. I have to agree with the need to wear more lotion, I seriously always forget until I look at my legs and panic at the scary amount of dry skin. Congrats on being a new aunt, must be an awesome feeling and I totally get your sister for not wanting to be too sharing about her newborn!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s so easy to forget about applying lotion, isn’t it? I’m better about moisturizing my hands but feet and legs – they get forgotten.
      Thanks for the congratulations and understanding the lack of pictures. My sister isn’t even using Facebook anymore herself so the pictures she takes are mostly for family only.

  5. Ellie says:

    I’ve only recently thought about posting pictures of other people on my blog and I always ask to make sure if it’s ok. I would ask the parents of the kid honestly, the child itself will probably love the attention and then not care when they’re old enough to know what it was.
    I love taking walks with my dad when I can. Sometimes the silence isn’t awkward when you’ve got nature to concentrate on.
    Have a great week!

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      That’s great, Ellie. I feel some – especially younger – bloggers/people in general post pictures of others without much thought. And maybe it’s okay for the others but asking for their approval is a sign of respect I think we should show each other.

  6. Amanda @ .running with spoons. says:

    Congratulations on reaching Auntie status! That’s something I’ll never be as an only child, and while my cousins’ kids call me aunt, I think we’re something like second cousins? I’m not exactly sure how all that extended family stuff works. Either way, they all live in Poland so it’s not like I get to see them regularly. And happy [belated] birthday, lady. Hope this year is an awesome one for you🙂

    • Miss Polkadot says:

      It’s a pity you won’t reach aunt status ever. If you had any nieces or nephews they’d love you for being that cool aunt who knows her way around cars but also make-up and bakes the most delicious treats.
      By the way: I still think you should take a trip to Europe to visit your relatives – with a little detour to Germany😉 .

  7. Lyss says:

    Congrats on becoming an Aunt!! So exciting. Three achievements from the past week were babysitting, finally doing all my laundry, and finishing up homework/studying for the week!

  8. The Mindful Maritimer says:

    OMG becoming an aunt must be one of the best feelings ever! Achievements from this week.. oh lord.. well, I went out spontaneously which is rare for me! I had Japanese for the first time and have an interview this week!
    Posting pictures of babies is a bit iffy for me.. I think it comes down to where you’re posting them and if you have the permission of the parents. Unless of course they are yours, then fill your boots😛

Leave a Reply

